Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday April 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Open Source Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-12-2013, 04:51 PM   #1
mike_1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 226571
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default jdm sti v8 and tactrix cable question

hi was wondering what cable should i use want to start. tuning my car alone . any tactrix work or should i get 1.3 or 2.0


car is a wrx 2002 with sti v8 swap and All drivetrain is sti v 7

thx in advance for the help. im new to this
and sorry for the grammar im french. from quebec city canada
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
mike_1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 04:58 PM   #2
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

1.3 or 2.0 should work but if I had the choice I would get the 2.0.

Do you know how to tune? Also, there is a thread in the WRX 2.0 Forum for EJ207 owners.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:01 PM   #3
mike_1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 226571
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

well to be honnest no i dont but it must be something you start slowly and become better at it. i figured id buy a cable try conecting to it and see if it work think the jdm cpu is locked on ecutek ... if it is the. ill try to find some 1 to unlock or buy an unlocked 1 then read about my log and start adjusting thing . thx for your help again
mike_1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:50 PM   #4
mike_1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 226571
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

well anyone know if my jdm ecu will be bricked from ecutek i have read. only wrx 02-04. cant be unlocked from ecutek but i presume they talk usdm model jdm could be a whole new world there thanks in advance
mike_1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 05:58 PM   #5
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

You're right about them being bricked on the usdm ecus. I'm not sure about the jdm ones.

Why do you think your jdm ecu has ecutek on it?

Also, I would NOT start to tinker into tuning/adjusting if you don't know what you're doing. Nothing against you (heck, I have romraider, tactrix 2.0 and wouldn't make adjustments) but you don't want to blow up your motor and or car.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2013, 06:06 PM   #6
mike_1988
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 226571
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default

well i already tryed. using a tactrix cable that a friend add and failed and tried with hos v8 ecu and worked flawlessly and the swap i bought is from lachute performance here in quebec and that shop seem to alway use ecutek that why i think it is. but now ill buy my cable and try harder myself to see if the laptop or anything else was the trouble. and then i might just data log for couple of month and a lot of reading then ill. try. it myself no worry i wont risk my. good setup on a poor mistake so i wont. be doing thing i dont know im 110% sure and. will ask when the time cone to flash
mike_1988 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.