Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-21-2013, 04:11 PM   #126
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post

Engine currently idles high (2k) but that should be because AVCS is missing and thus the ECU doesn't know cam positions. Once AVCS is wired it should quiet down. Also tuning the JDM ECU should help with any 91 vs 93 octane issues (potentially also causing the high idle).
congrats on getting the 207 running but sorry to break it to you ...
missing AVCS and octane levels have nothing to do with your high idle.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 11:10 AM   #127
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
congrats on getting the 207 running but sorry to break it to you ...
missing AVCS and octane levels have nothing to do with your high idle.
Shush! I know this, but let me live in my world of fantasy hoping it's going to be something easy like that and not a vacuum leak, or something more time consuming!

Still need to pull the code and figure out what the CEL is from. Didn't have time to even touch the car this weekend, so hopefully that helps the idle.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2013, 11:10 PM   #128
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
congrats on getting the 207 running but sorry to break it to you ...
missing AVCS and octane levels have nothing to do with your high idle.
Just got my AVCS all wired, and it killed the cam sensor CEL's but now I have a P1507 code. That would be IACV, which would explain the high idle. I swapped the IACV sensor to the JDM one when I did the swap (had to keep my USDM Throtal body since the JDM one was nicked). so I will see if swapping back helps that.

Other than that, no issues.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2013, 02:52 PM   #129
WRXNEPA
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 357608
Join Date: May 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Dickson City, Pa
Vehicle:
2002 wrx
black

Default

Subscribed!!! I have to rebuild my ej205 so I'm think of doing a whole swap
WRXNEPA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 06:41 AM   #130
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default Plug B84

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post
Just got my AVCS all wired,
Great thread guys, found some good info here.

I'm putting a V8 JDM EJ207 into my 01 WRX (Aus) using the JDM ECU.

A couple of issues I'd like to clarify.

I'm a bit confused about which plug is B84 at the ECU, All the wiring diagrams point to the bottom plug on the ECU, however all the images show a plug with 6 rows of pins, the middle plug. I presume the middle plug is the one I need to connect the AVCS wires to.

Also the 2 sensors in the down pipe are O2? There isn't a temp sensor in the exhaust of the EJ207?
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 12:05 PM   #131
rapa
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 230077
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default

Hi Hawken,

I've completed my swap last week, i think here in brazil we use the same ECU as you guys in australia..

if you're doing a AF730 to AF481 ecu swap just like me, this is the pins you have to change:
Fuel Pump -> C16 to C15 (I saw some people say that it's D16 to D15, but on my swap it wasn't)
Main Relay -> A2 to A6
A/C -> A6 to A2
Fuel pump relay -> A5 to A14
Check connector -> A14 to A5



the middle plug is the right one... the pic shows it in the bottom just because he is know as E plug to... the pic show it in the alphabetic order...

the list of connectors:
A = B134 (22pins)
B = B135 (28pins)
C = B136 (24pins)
D = B137 (31pins)
E = B84 (17pins)





and this is the pinout no one has ever posted in English.. lol... I've translated it using Google translator from Japanese to English(not perfect.. but will help anyone looking for this..), I have corrected the connectors and pins numbers too...



just to make sure no one be confused by my post

USDM CARS DON'T HAVE TO CHANGE THESE ADDITIONAL PINS MENTIONED IN THIS POST!!!

Last edited by rapa; 07-02-2013 at 12:22 PM.
rapa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:08 PM   #132
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default

Rapa your a champion.......

This info will help heaps

My JDM ECU is a 6A
model AH580

Last edited by Hawken; 07-02-2013 at 05:35 PM.
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 05:12 PM   #133
cmyles
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 275572
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, AB Canada
Vehicle:
2007 Built STi
WRB

Default

I have a Ver 8 S203 Spec C motor with the AIPerformance wiring , and a Ver 7 non immobilized Ecu up for sale. It's in the FS section. Pm for more info. Possibly might need a bottom end rebuild. I don't wanna split the block :/ has good compression across the board.
cmyles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:33 AM   #134
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post
Just got my AVCS all wired, and it killed the cam sensor CEL's but now I have a P1507 code. That would be IACV, which would explain the high idle. I swapped the IACV sensor to the JDM one when I did the swap (had to keep my USDM Throtal body since the JDM one was nicked). so I will see if swapping back helps that.

Other than that, no issues.
Figured out the high idle. Took me about 2 hours to figure it out, what a dummy I am. The throtle cables were too tight holding the throtle open, and throwing the IACV code. Losened them up, and it's all done!!!!!

Just dropped it off at the mechanics for a final run over, then off to the tuner this weekend (depending on work) to get her running!
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:36 AM   #135
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawken View Post
Rapa your a champion.......

This info will help heaps

My JDM ECU is a 6A
model AH580
Hawken, I also might suggest looking at getting the IAPerformance wiring kit. It was WELL worth the 200 bucks. Couldn't be happier. Took me about 10 min to do everything, and no issue.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:52 AM   #136
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post
Hawken, I also might suggest looking at getting the IAPerformance wiring kit. It was WELL worth the 200 bucks. Couldn't be happier. Took me about 10 min to do everything, and no issue.
Thanks for the suggestion but I scrounged the wires from another loom. I've run them in the factory wrap and recon it all looks standard (pats self on back). Was tricky to get them through the firewall grommet, but with a little lubrication, and a bit of swearing it's possible.

I have a mate coming around on Saturday to give me a hand with putting the motor in then I can start with the exhaust, I got the down pipe with the motor and was hoping to use it for now, not sure how it will go for clearance though, (the steering column is very close) and it's about 80mm shorter.

What did you do about the O2 sensors?
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 10:51 AM   #137
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawken View Post
Thanks for the suggestion but I scrounged the wires from another loom. I've run them in the factory wrap and recon it all looks standard (pats self on back). Was tricky to get them through the firewall grommet, but with a little lubrication, and a bit of swearing it's possible.

I have a mate coming around on Saturday to give me a hand with putting the motor in then I can start with the exhaust, I got the down pipe with the motor and was hoping to use it for now, not sure how it will go for clearance though, (the steering column is very close) and it's about 80mm shorter.

What did you do about the O2 sensors?
I ended up having to use the USDM O2 sensor since the JDM one in the downpipe's wiring was too short to reach. There was just the one up top, and the normal sensor down right before the cat (forgot what it was) which was just plugged into the harness down there.

Congratz on the harness! Quite a bit of work, but if you have the time, kudos!

When dropping the engine in, I had a bunch of trouble getting the turbo to fit past the trans housing. We ended up loosing the 6 bolts holding the turbo down so we could rotate it the 1/4" we needed to get it past the trans.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 05:07 PM   #138
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post

When dropping the engine in, I had a bunch of trouble getting the turbo to fit past the trans housing. We ended up loosing the 6 bolts holding the turbo down so we could rotate it the 1/4" we needed to get it past the trans.
That's a top tip.

I did wonder about this but thought it might just fit...
I'll definitely loosen off the turbo bolts while the motor is still on the stand, much easier than struggling for a while, pulling it out again and fiddling around with it hanging from the engine crane
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 06:03 PM   #139
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hawken View Post
That's a top tip.

I did wonder about this but thought it might just fit...
I'll definitely loosen off the turbo bolts while the motor is still on the stand, much easier than struggling for a while, pulling it out again and fiddling around with it hanging from the engine crane
Yeah, we didn't take it all of the way off, just loosen it up so you can twist the turbo on the up-pipe a little. I ended up having to do it while it was hanging on the hoist, half way connected to the trans (with the bottom two bolts slotted in).
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2013, 02:03 PM   #140
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sogah87 View Post
I'm curious if OP ever passed smog... I can't imagine what a nightmare this would be in California lol.
@Sogah87

Back from the smog shop no problems at all! Also just went to my local place, didn't even try and waste time doing "look the other way guy".

I was running the JDM stock downpipe, and had a USDM ECU with all the readiness codes forced (to avoid the 30 mile drive). ECU was out of an 02 for my 03, but turned out not to matter. Literally got everything connected, and passed in under 15 min. Nice in and out.

Off to the tuner this after noon!
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2013, 01:13 PM   #141
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Back from Church Tuning (AMAZING!).

272 to the wheels on a totally safe tune (it's my dd), 272 torque. Had it up to around 278 but was maxing out the injectors.


Last edited by APriestOfGix; 07-08-2013 at 01:58 AM.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2013, 10:01 PM   #142
cody8899
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 341270
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by APriestOfGix View Post
Back from Church Tuning (AMAZING!).

272 to the wheels on a totally safe tune (it's my dd), 272 torque. Had it up to around 278 but was maxing out the injectors.

Hey what all mods do you have?
I have a v7 ej207 with out avcs wired cams were plugged / sealed
Mods are...
Catless downpipe with 3 full exhaust
Equal length headers which came on the motor when I ordered it
samco air intake which I was told the stock air box is better
stock up pipe
The car was dyno tuned and made 294 power and 274 torque
cody8899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2013, 12:39 AM   #143
APriestOfGix
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 280305
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: LCF
Vehicle:
2003 JDM v9 STi WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cody8899 View Post
Hey what all mods do you have?
I have a v7 ej207 with out avcs wired cams were plugged / sealed
Mods are...
Catless downpipe with 3 full exhaust
Equal length headers which came on the motor when I ordered it
samco air intake which I was told the stock air box is better
stock up pipe
The car was dyno tuned and made 294 power and 274 torque
Bone stock. Stock JDM downpipe. The injectors were maxing out around here, so i imagine with some upgraded injectors you could get more on stock. I so have AVCS wired.
APriestOfGix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 10:36 PM   #144
cody8899
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 341270
Join Date: Dec 2012
Default

Yea I was told that with bigger injectors, fuel pump, and upgraded clutch I could make a bit more power with the current bolt ons
cody8899 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 04:32 AM   #145
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rapa View Post
Hi Hawken,

I've completed my swap last week, i think here in brazil we use the same ECU as you guys in australia..

if you're doing a AF730 to AF481 ecu swap just like me, this is the pins you have to change:
Fuel Pump -> C16 to C15 (I saw some people say that it's D16 to D15, but on my swap it wasn't)
Main Relay -> A2 to A6
A/C -> A6 to A2
Fuel pump relay -> A5 to A14
Check connector -> A14 to A5

USDM CARS DON'T HAVE TO CHANGE THESE ADDITIONAL PINS MENTIONED IN THIS POST!!!
Rapa you're spot on.
Started first crank..
Swapping C16 to C15 is the way to go for an ADM to JDM swap. (I also found a few incorrect references to D16 to D15.)

Now to sort out the power steering and exhaust, then go for a drive...

FYI, Loosening the turbo bolts still didn't give enough clearance to get the motor in, I ended up removing the 2 bottom studs and replacing them with bolts.
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2013, 02:16 AM   #146
tersplat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 337888
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Groton, CT
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
World Rally Blue

Default

just did a compression test on my ej205 with 150k miles on it with stg 2 and a vf34 at 18psi for a while, and it finally broke. numbers were 162 160 155 95. so I am about to order an ej207, but I am just looking for the engine. no trans as I don't have the spare cash right now for a trans as well. anyone know of one for sale in great shape? This thread is super helpful. I made one like this for swapping a 4efte starlet engine into tercels, and now karma is back. Thank you for the awesome thread.
tersplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 01:16 AM   #147
tersplat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 337888
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Groton, CT
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
World Rally Blue

Default

Bought my ej207 this morning from Rob@JDM Racing Motors. It's a version 9, possible spec c based on the engine code, but it has AC, and I didn't get a pic of the filter housing, but it also has no pulley on the throttle body shaft for cruise control. I know on my usdm ej205, I have 2 pulleys there(1 for throttle, and 1 for cruise control) can I just put my pulleys from my 205 onto the V9? I'd like to keep cruise control, but it's not a biggie if I can't. Also, can someone verify which AIP harness I need to get for wiring the AVCS. fyi V9 came with harnesses, and it's going into an 03 wrx wagon.
tersplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 03:56 AM   #148
Hawken
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 316735
Join Date: Apr 2012
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Bacchus Marsh, Aus
Vehicle:
2000 WRX with EJ207
Dark blue

Default

If the shaft is long enough should be all good.
The throttle cable is closest to the throttle body, cruise to the outer.
Hawken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2013, 10:29 PM   #149
tersplat
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 337888
Join Date: Nov 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Groton, CT
Vehicle:
2003 WRX Wagon
World Rally Blue

Default

That's what I figured. worst case scenario is I have to live without it.
tersplat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2013, 09:28 AM   #150
mexicanzero
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 167820
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Vehicle:
2003 WRX wagon
ej207 + 6 speed

Default

you can swap the cruise cam over its easy just make sure you put things on in the right order, theres springs and washers and little plastic sleeves
mexicanzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2005 STI into 2002 Bugeye Swap psychorunner Subaru Conversions 20 03-08-2012 08:28 PM
My STI swap into 02 Bugeye Tweeder Member's Car Gallery 19 06-04-2011 03:13 AM
JDM V7 ej207 into my 05 WRX CamTunedSti Built Motor Discussion 6 11-10-2010 04:40 PM
I have some questions regarding - Version 7 v7 EJ207 into USDM 2004 STi STepeci Subaru Conversions 8 09-18-2009 07:26 PM
dash/interior swaps into 02 bugeye? ricky05 Interior & Exterior Modification 4 01-25-2007 04:03 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.