Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday August 21, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-14-2013, 03:19 PM   #1
ShawDizzle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 118902
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Vehicle:
08 WRX Premium Sdn
White

Default 2008 digital MPG gauge reading wrong

I'm assuming its due to my mods. TBE, CAI,BOV and a pro tune. My fuel gauge stays at 17 or 18 and I do both city and highway. I drove from near NYC to wildwood, NJ this weekend and it stayed at 17.4. Even after me and another WRX were side by side doing some pull always from each other...I dropped to 4th to get more torque...gauge never moved. ......I drove to Montreal and it never broke 18.8 and it read there for a while before that.
I'm assuming my gauge is off due to the mods and tune. Car has 299whp
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ShawDizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 03:29 PM   #2
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Has nothing to do with your mods besides getting better fuel mileage if protuned.

U know setting A gives your current mileage and setting B gives your average mileage so see if u might have accidentally had it set on B instead of A.
If its doing this on A setting then its a mechanical issue.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2013, 05:57 PM   #3
boynton4
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 245666
Join Date: May 2010
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Maine
Vehicle:
2009 Impreza WRX
Spark Silver

Default

He's right, it's based off your trip A or B odometer reading. If you have 5000 miles on your trip odometer, it'll be your mpg average over that entire mileage. It would take a lot of WOT pulls to see a difference in that situation. Just reset your trip meter to see the mpg over a shorter span
boynton4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:28 PM   #4
yertle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 71910
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Santa Barbara, CA
Vehicle:
2005 WRB WRX - Stg 2
2013 DGM WRX 5-dr

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Has nothing to do with your mods besides getting better fuel mileage if protuned.

U know setting A gives your current mileage and setting B gives your average mileage so see if u might have accidentally had it set on B instead of A.
If its doing this on A setting then its a mechanical issue.
Not really, I don't think. A and B are just 2 different trip settings. MPG will report MPG average for your trip, whether you have A or B selected. If you reset A every time you fill up, then you will see MPG for the miles driven on trip A. Likewise if you always reset B when you fill up then it will do the same.

They're not different, it just depends on when you reset.

Correct me if I'm wrong... I have been assuming that's how the indicator works.
yertle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 01:39 PM   #5
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yertle View Post
Not really, I don't think. A and B are just 2 different trip settings. MPG will report MPG average for your trip, whether you have A or B selected. If you reset A every time you fill up, then you will see MPG for the miles driven on trip A. Likewise if you always reset B when you fill up then it will do the same.

They're not different, it just depends on when you reset.

Correct me if I'm wrong... I have been assuming that's how the indicator works.

You're correct. The MPG meter is for miles driven on Trip A, or miles driven on Trip B. There is no live indicator, other than using an aftermarket device such as the Access Port.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 02:08 PM   #6
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post

You're correct. The MPG meter is for miles driven on Trip A, or miles driven on Trip B. There is no live indicator, other than using an aftermarket device such as the Access Port.
On my11 sti trip A is live MPG and trip B is average MPG.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 02:19 PM   #7
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Video? I'd love to see this.

Do the Canadians have different options than us?
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 03:01 PM   #8
car_freak85
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13530
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Cascadia
Vehicle:
EA63 , EA81T, EG33,
EJ205

Default

Read your owner's manual...
car_freak85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:24 PM   #9
424wrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 171948
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: new york
Vehicle:
08 wrx vf52,stg3
11 forester,14 legacy dd

Default

i get about 24 mpg average with my 08 wrx. thats with a vf52 swap and stage 3.
424wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 06:39 PM   #10
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
Video? I'd love to see this.

Do the Canadians have different options than us?
Haha!!
Its not an opinion its fact besides reading in KPL .

If I could figure out how to post a video from an android I would.

Wait a minute r u talking about the reading on the cluster gauge or on the top of the dash cuz we could be both right lol
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:38 PM   #11
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Haha!!
Its not an opinion its fact besides reading in KPL .

If I could figure out how to post a video from an android I would.

Wait a minute r u talking about the reading on the cluster gauge or on the top of the dash cuz we could be both right lol
Not sure where I said it was your opinion, I am just looking to see what you're talking about.

My 2012 STi has no feature, anywhere in the car, that will show me live MPG readings. Whether it be in the gauge cluster or by the clock up at the top. That's why I am asking for a video, because I am curious.

All Android phones and upload videos to YouTube. Upload a video there and post the link via the NASIOC app. That's the only way that I know to do it.

Seriously though, I'm very curious about this.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 07:57 PM   #12
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post

Not sure where I said it was your opinion, I am just looking to see what you're talking about.

My 2012 STi has no feature, anywhere in the car, that will show me live MPG readings. Whether it be in the gauge cluster or by the clock up at the top. That's why I am asking for a video, because I am curious.

All Android phones and upload videos to YouTube. Upload a video there and post the link via the NASIOC app. That's the only way that I know to do it.

Seriously though, I'm very curious about this.
Oops!! My bad was doing to many things all at once lol

In my11 sti at the top where the clock is in trip A it shows in real-time KPL and in trip B it shows the average KPL.

Ill try and get a YouTube video tomorrow and post the link
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:00 PM   #13
Cathexis
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 335445
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Ashland, VA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX - BLK STIG
Stg. 2 - 287whp/317wtq.

Default

Im gonna be pissed if canadians get this feature because all we get here is average. Please show us the vid!
Cathexis is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2013, 08:10 PM   #14
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathexis View Post
Im gonna be pissed if canadians get this feature because all we get here is average. Please show us the vid!
Sure as soon as I can and it actually measures in L used per 100km (1/100).

Edit: when u guys r in trip A or B nothing changes at all for the gauge beside the clock???
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 02:39 PM   #15
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Sure as soon as I can and it actually measures in L used per 100km (1/100).

Edit: when u guys r in trip A or B nothing changes at all for the gauge beside the clock???
Trip A Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip A
Trip B Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip B
Odometer Shows nothing at all.
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2013, 02:49 PM   #16
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post

Trip A Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip A
Trip B Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip B
Odometer Shows nothing at all.
Isn't that something???

Very strange considering both CAN and US get the usdm sti.

The only difference should be imperial vs metric and don't understand why Subaru would do that.

I'm going to take a video later today and post it up to show ya.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 11:18 AM   #17
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Isn't that something???

Very strange considering both CAN and US get the usdm sti.

The only difference should be imperial vs metric and don't understand why Subaru would do that.

I'm going to take a video later today and post it up to show ya.
Anything on this?
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 12:32 PM   #18
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post

Anything on this?
Havnt bin near my car all week and should be able to get a video tonight
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:52 PM   #19
Blackfin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 361325
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario
Vehicle:
2010 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post
Trip A Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip A
Trip B Shows the Average MPG for the miles listed under Trip B
Odometer Shows nothing at all.
Interesting. Pretty sure my '10 STi shows:

Trip A shows the average MPG for the miles listed under Trip A
Trip B shows the average MPG for the miles listed under Trip B
Odometer shows live MPG.

(or, in my case as a Canadian, L/100km)
Blackfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:56 PM   #20
kabz
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 351744
Join Date: Mar 2013
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Northwest Houston
Vehicle:
2013 WRX
WRB

Default

The nearest you can get to a live readout, is select trip B and hold down to reset it. Then after driving one mile, you get the MPG for trip B. I use this to get tank avg for TRIP A (reset when filled with gas) and Trip B for mileage since start of trip (reset once warmed up).

My other car, a '13 Outback has two trips, but an additional button to select Off, trip MPG and instantaneous MPG.
kabz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 02:50 PM   #21
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfin View Post

Interesting. Pretty sure my '10 STi shows:

Trip A shows the average MPG for the miles listed under Trip A
Trip B shows the average MPG for the miles listed under Trip B
Odometer shows live MPG.

(or, in my case as a Canadian, L/100km)
Odometer is trip A as u can reset trip A but once rest goes back to odometer. Then in trip B will stay showing where the odometer is.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:32 PM   #22
Jaredwhamilton
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195550
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pennsylvania, United States
Vehicle:
2013 Fowkus Ess Tee
Orange

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Odometer is trip A as u can reset trip A but once rest goes back to odometer. Then in trip B will stay showing where the odometer is.
Sounds like the Canadian version might be different. Lucky bastards!

Not that I really care about live MPG anyways, it would probably just make me upset.

Still, whenever you get that video, I'd be interested in checking it out. Why would they do that in Canada, but not in the States?
Jaredwhamilton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:38 PM   #23
Blackfin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 361325
Join Date: Jul 2013
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ontario
Vehicle:
2010 STi
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trev762 View Post
Odometer is trip A as u can reset trip A but once rest goes back to odometer. Then in trip B will stay showing where the odometer is.
Maybe I'm misunderstanding or have done too much skimming in this thread but this isn't clear to me.

If I push the button on the cluster to switch between odometer, trip A and trip B, the display at the top of the dash changes as I described. If I'm showing the odometer in the cluster (e.g. 75643 kms), the top of the dash shows instantaneous L/100km. If either trip odometer is shown (e.g. 351.4 km) the top of the dash shows the average L/100kms for that trip distance.
Blackfin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:50 PM   #24
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaredwhamilton View Post

Sounds like the Canadian version might be different. Lucky bastards!

Not that I really care about live MPG anyways, it would probably just make me upset.

Still, whenever you get that video, I'd be interested in checking it out. Why would they do that in Canada, but not in the States?
Do a search I believe there is a thread about this a while ago which explains why. Later on I'm going get a video.

These gauges rnt even accurate anywase and the live MPG(KPL) just gives ya something to look at lol.

Edit: I believe if I can remember it had something to do with cost of programming for only one country still on imperial system.

Last edited by trev762; 07-18-2013 at 04:00 PM.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 03:55 PM   #25
trev762
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 280572
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: southern ontario canada
Vehicle:
2011 sti sedan
plasma blue pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blackfin View Post

Maybe I'm misunderstanding or have done too much skimming in this thread but this isn't clear to me.

If I push the button on the cluster to switch between odometer, trip A and trip B, the display at the top of the dash changes as I described. If I'm showing the odometer in the cluster (e.g. 75643 kms), the top of the dash shows instantaneous L/100km. If either trip odometer is shown (e.g. 351.4 km) the top of the dash shows the average L/100kms for that trip distance.
Hmmm!! Subaru must of changed it for the 2011 model year.
I'm going to make a video tonight and will show step by step for trip A and B.
trev762 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.