Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday July 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-01-2013, 08:07 PM   #176
psychotichobbies
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 358163
Join Date: Jun 2013
Default pinout

hello sorry if in wrong place i have a gc8 sti 3 plug 94-97 turbo ecm and need pinout please ,,numbers on it is 22611 ad170,,a18-00 d35,, 6x07,,thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
psychotichobbies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2013, 08:52 PM   #177
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by psychotichobbies View Post
hello sorry if in wrong place i have a gc8 sti 3 plug 94-97 turbo ecm and need pinout please ,,numbers on it is 22611 ad170,,a18-00 d35,, 6x07,,thanks
Hi, no it is not but if you send me an email, I think I can help you.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 01:06 PM   #178
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Miles,

I was wondering if IAT WGDC trims are realy needed if you're running closed loop boost control and have you IAT boost target tables filled out.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2013, 05:09 PM   #179
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellygnsd View Post
Miles,

I was wondering if IAT WGDC trims are realy needed if you're running closed loop boost control and have you IAT boost target tables filled out.
Hi Kelly,

Good question. If you are running closed loop boost control, then no. The IAT WGDC trim table is mainly for open loop boost control.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2013, 08:26 PM   #180
WelDun1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 249130
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: North East Portland
Vehicle:
0095 Ver5 STi Type R
Black

Default Link G4 Extreme

Hi,
I'm looking to buy a Link Extreme for my 99 STi Type-R. What can you.do for me and what's the cost?

Thanx,
Weldon
WelDun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2013, 01:00 PM   #181
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WelDun1 View Post
Hi,
I'm looking to buy a Link Extreme for my 99 STi Type-R. What can you.do for me and what's the cost?

Thanx,
Weldon

Hi Weldon,

Can you email me for pricing and availability?


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 07:32 AM   #182
Seraphinwolf
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 150922
Join Date: Jun 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Fremont, NH
Vehicle:
97 OBS EZ30R
94SVX LSi Bourduex Pearl

Default

For the Link offer an adapter to tie in a switch to act like the Si-Drive on the 08'+STi?
Seraphinwolf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 01:58 PM   #183
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Seraphinwolf View Post
For the Link offer an adapter to tie in a switch to act like the Si-Drive on the 08'+STi?
Hi,

There is no adapter, but you can wire the 2nd Fuel, Timing and Boost Maps to a Digital Input which would then change the maps like the SI Drive system.

Send me an email if you want instructions.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:02 PM   #184
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

Is there a link box out that supports the 08+ Now? or do you just have to hardwire in a generic Link computer and set it up from scratch?

Or were you just implying using something to switch maps like the 08+ STi switch. If it is the ladder most definitely.

Edit -- I see Miles beat me to the punch
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2013, 02:31 PM   #185
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Layvon View Post
Is there a link box out that supports the 08+ Now? or do you just have to hardwire in a generic Link computer and set it up from scratch?

Or were you just implying using something to switch maps like the 08+ STi switch. If it is the ladder most definitely.

Edit -- I see Miles beat me to the punch
Hi Layvon,

No, there is not a Link ECU for the 08+ STI right now. However, Cosworth's ECPro is available and the SI Drive knob works with changing Fuel, Timing and Boost Maps as well.

Yes, I was saying you could wire up a DI input to a mechanical switch which would work like the SI Drive knob but for only 2 map sets.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2013, 08:00 PM   #186
vicious_fishes
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 158864
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Aussieland
Vehicle:
2003 GD w/EZ30D swap

Default

hey guys,

i'm looking at purchasing the G4 xtreme for my ez30d swap. the engine is going in a 2003 impreza RS. as far as i can tell, i need to merge the link ecu onto the engine harness from the ez30d and into the RS bulkhead harness. however, i'm totally new to all of this and don't know if the stock ecu handles/has wires run through it for anything else like fuel pump/priming, my central locking, cruise control, heater, instrument panel etc.

when guys splice/plug these into stock wrx's or whatever, are they in effect just a straight swap and you'd never know they were there (aside from the tuning obviously) or is there more to it?
vicious_fishes is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:31 AM   #187
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

Hi Miles, i purchased a vipec v88 off of you a while back and i am just getting into putting it it in. I have an 08 sti engine and harness, my plan is to merge it with a mil spec plug for the two looms on the vipec. Do you have a recommended input/output diagram for matching the factory sensors with inputs/outputs on the loom?

I am running a cable throttle body so im not using drive by wire control.

Thanks,

James
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 10:37 AM   #188
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

That'll be nice.

Give me a buzz if you need some help with anything I might be able to help.
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:33 AM   #189
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Layvon View Post
That'll be nice.

Give me a buzz if you need some help with anything I might be able to help.
I certainly do have some questions if you meant me.

Im reading through my manual now and trying to write up my configuration.

One question is, i would like to use my current aftermarket gauges to display what the ecu is logging.

For example, i have an electronic fuel pressure gauge, oil temp and egt.

I want to piggyback those but dont want to interfere with each other, is this doable or do i have to have one sensor for the gauge and one for ecu?
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 11:43 AM   #190
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

It goes backwards of what you described.

I have AEM gauges. I ran the white wire on the gauge to a voltage input on the link box and then you set up the parameters in the map file.

Example:
Fuel pressure is 0-100psi and the AEM says .5-4.5volts. You input that into a cal table and the link logs the voltage to display the current pressure.

Now having said that... I've had to play with the voltage yo get it to match the gauge on my wideband. Like .53-4.47 or something like that. Lemme know via pm if you want more than willing to help as much as possible
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ForumRunner_20130823_114135.jpg (119.4 KB, 5 views)
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 01:12 PM   #191
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Layvon View Post
It goes backwards of what you described.

I have AEM gauges. I ran the white wire on the gauge to a voltage input on the link box and then you set up the parameters in the map file.

Example:
Fuel pressure is 0-100psi and the AEM says .5-4.5volts. You input that into a cal table and the link logs the voltage to display the current pressure.

Now having said that... I've had to play with the voltage yo get it to match the gauge on my wideband. Like .53-4.47 or something like that. Lemme know via pm if you want more than willing to help as much as possible
Ok cool thanks! Ill pm you. Im not that far along yet. I am still just planning out the wiring, its still in the box.
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 03:59 PM   #192
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowgenius View Post
I certainly do have some questions if you meant me.

Im reading through my manual now and trying to write up my configuration.

One question is, i would like to use my current aftermarket gauges to display what the ecu is logging.

For example, i have an electronic fuel pressure gauge, oil temp and egt.

I want to piggyback those but dont want to interfere with each other, is this doable or do i have to have one sensor for the gauge and one for ecu?
You'll need to find out what kind of signal is put out by the sending unit for each gauge and its scaling. If its 0-5 V you can piggy back them as long as you know the scaling.

I have the OEM ECU header I/O list if you want it. From that and the link header pinout you can make a full adapter harness
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2013, 04:28 PM   #193
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kellygnsd View Post

You'll need to find out what kind of signal is put out by the sending unit for each gauge and its scaling. If its 0-5 V you can piggy back them as long as you know the scaling.

I have the OEM ECU header I/O list if you want it. From that and the link header pinout you can make a full adapter harness
U da man! Thanks. Ill pm u my email. Its for an 08 sti motor.
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 01:07 PM   #194
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by slowgenius View Post
Hi Miles, i purchased a vipec v88 off of you a while back and i am just getting into putting it it in. I have an 08 sti engine and harness, my plan is to merge it with a mil spec plug for the two looms on the vipec. Do you have a recommended input/output diagram for matching the factory sensors with inputs/outputs on the loom?

I am running a cable throttle body so im not using drive by wire control.

Thanks,

James
Hi James,

Good to hear from you. You can email me directly with questions or call me at the shop to go over everything.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536, ext 2 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2013, 02:30 PM   #195
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

Thanks!
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:22 AM   #196
naviuk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287198
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Link G1 -> Serial link with Serial to USB

Hey

i got my hands on a Subaru GT with a G1 Link ECU in it. I connected the serial connect and then the serial cable to a USB to serial converter and then that connects to my laptop, i installed the G1 only software - PCLinkV2.5Setup,

in the software i set the com port to the potr that comes up for the Serial to USB converter. But not matter what i try i cannot get it to connect to the ECU. We tried with just the ignition on but this didnt seem to show any activity on the port, with the car running i get a activity light but not data pulsing, so i know there is something on the end of the cable, i'm just not able to speak to it... is there something i'm missing? Laptop is windows 7 i know the serial to USB works as i have used it with my innovate LC1 with no issue.

the ribbon from the LINK works as this one has the control unit which connects and you can set things on the ECU. I tried downloading the com port drivers but this didn't seem to make a difference, using old or new. Forgive me for the bad Photo, here is a picture of the chipset. WRX99R 773 etc any ideas? any info would be great Is there anything special i need to do in order to interrogate the ECU and pull the map.files from it to read later?

Sorry picture didn't work, thew wording on the chip is Link WRX99R 775 170703

Thanks!!

Last edited by naviuk; 09-11-2013 at 08:04 AM. Reason: edit picture
naviuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:27 AM   #197
Layvon
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 195711
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cadillac MI
Vehicle:
STi 04/05/06/07
JBP / OBP for now

Default

I have a link G4. Once you get this figured out you have a nice little ecu in there.

Check out Linkecu.com and see if the forums are of any help.

PS the picture didn't work

Edit.... for some reason I thought you posted this in my local thread. My bad!!

Last edited by Layvon; 09-11-2013 at 01:15 PM.
Layvon is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 09:46 PM   #198
Tuning @ FLI
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 162699
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Santa Rosa
Vehicle:
02 GDB WRX STI
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by naviuk View Post
Hey

i got my hands on a Subaru GT with a G1 Link ECU in it. I connected the serial connect and then the serial cable to a USB to serial converter and then that connects to my laptop, i installed the G1 only software - PCLinkV2.5Setup,

in the software i set the com port to the potr that comes up for the Serial to USB converter. But not matter what i try i cannot get it to connect to the ECU. We tried with just the ignition on but this didnt seem to show any activity on the port, with the car running i get a activity light but not data pulsing, so i know there is something on the end of the cable, i'm just not able to speak to it... is there something i'm missing? Laptop is windows 7 i know the serial to USB works as i have used it with my innovate LC1 with no issue.

the ribbon from the LINK works as this one has the control unit which connects and you can set things on the ECU. I tried downloading the com port drivers but this didn't seem to make a difference, using old or new. Forgive me for the bad Photo, here is a picture of the chipset. WRX99R 773 etc any ideas? any info would be great Is there anything special i need to do in order to interrogate the ECU and pull the map.files from it to read later?

Sorry picture didn't work, thew wording on the chip is Link WRX99R 775 170703

Thanks!!
Hi,

Your G1 ECU might not be updated to use the 2.5 software. You might have to use a Link ECU Tuning Module:

http://www.linkecu.com/products/Tuni...s/tuningmodule

I can find out for you, if you want. If so, email me.


--

Have a great day,




--
Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX
Tuning @ FLI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 02:29 AM   #199
naviuk
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 287198
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Link G1 -> Serial link with Serial to USB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuning @ FLI View Post
Hi,

Your G1 ECU might not be updated to use the 2.5 software. You might have to use a Link ECU Tuning Module:

http://www.linkecu.com/products/Tuni...s/tuningmodule

I can find out for you, if you want. If so, email me.

Have a great day,


Miles Hechtman
Fine Line Imports Inc.
www.finelineimports.net
www.fliblog.wordpress.com
tuning@finelineimports.net
707.525.1536 PH
707.575.4134 FAX

Thanks Man!

The previous owner said he was able to tune it using the software, i think i found the issue, Link tech support mailed me and said i'm on the right track but important info to know.

1. If using a USB to serial converter, make sure the port the converters uses is 1 to 9, anything above 10 won;t work, which makes sense because mine has been 17 and 20 on the two ports.
2. Connect and power on everything, BEFORE connecting the adapter to your pc.

i'm going to try this tonight
naviuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2014, 01:42 PM   #200
slowgenius
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48350
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Pittsburgh
Vehicle:
04 WRX

Default

This is a question about a vipec, v88. They are simmilar so i know you guys can help.

Could a rotory Throttle position sensor be used as an input to control the drive by wire throttle body?

I have a drive by cable car, and i want to use the cable setup to turn a tps along with the cruise control like stock. I then want to run a drive by wire throttle body driven by the ecu on the actual intake.

I dont want to hack up my pedal to switch to dbw. I just neet to know if i can use the TPS sensor to control the ecu.
slowgenius is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : Link Ecu - G3 WRX & STI 2.0 ecu treboo Engine/Power/Exhaust 6 09-03-2011 07:28 PM
RomRaider Releases Updated Definitions/ECU Support williaty Normally Aspirated Powertrain 9 09-30-2008 10:47 PM
Link for supporting vendors uj2 Baja Forum 3 09-19-2008 09:17 AM
Link ECU, Unichip, stock ECU????? Yellow Rex Engine Management & Tuning 9 07-19-2002 02:47 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.