Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday October 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Subaru Models > Impreza Forum

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-24-2013, 04:00 PM   #51
EM101
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 324428
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Sandy, Oregon
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza
Marine Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tsigeoff View Post
I just got new wheels from tirerack with new tpms installed for my 12 wrx. I just went to my local Monroe brakes and they did it for free. Took about 5 mins to get the codes into their handheld machine then programmed into the ecu. Easy as pie
It's not the '12 that has the issues, its the '13 model Impreza. Every tire place other than the dealer can read the sensors but can't write them to the car.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
EM101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2013, 04:31 PM   #52
tsigeoff
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 314721
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Limited
SWP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EM101 View Post
It's not the '12 that has the issues, its the '13 model Impreza. Every tire place other than the dealer can read the sensors but can't write them to the car.

whoops sorry!
tsigeoff is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-26-2013, 04:51 PM   #53
Mgeorge8
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 342878
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mgeorge8 View Post
I got winter tires put on with tpms and tirerack said they MUST be programmed by dealer. I learned this the hard way by spending a few hours at STS while they tried to figure it out. The Subaru dealer wants $50 to program all four tires.
Had this done today at the dealership. Cost:$47 Paid: $0 . Thanks to Subaru Dollars from Mastercard.
Mgeorge8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2013, 06:43 PM   #54
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

good deal tsigeof.

i just got the ATEQ-Quickset set up today with my snows / steelies (winter). i have two options at this point because I had the Subaru dealer program my snows.

1. check with the tire places to activate my OEM wheels / summer tires once the light comes on in the spring...
2. get them from Subaru. you would think they would include those codes with your Invoice or Manual, kinda like the roadside assistance cards with the VIN.

the set up was pretty easy on Windows 7, 64 bit - just make sure you download the drivers from the website.

i'm NOT sure if this step is actually needed, but if you have a Cobb AP or Tune, you may want to uninstall it before you try to pull your existing codes from the ECU. i asked cobb right here on NASIOC about it and they suggested to do it. so i did.

1. uninstall Cobb AP.
2. pull codes using ATEQ Quickset
3. reinstall Cobb AP
4. connect ATEQ Quickset to your computer and save the codes into the software. PRINT the sheet. *highly suggested just incase you loose the data or the software for whatever reason.

done. i'm very excited i won't have to go back to the dealer or anywhere else for TPMS for as long as I own this car.

Also, it works with other cars and you can have up to 4 vehicles sensor info with one device... (print all codes).

hope this helps. it's well worth the $150 to me. no more hassle and no more stupid light.

PS: i set up my 2012 WRX as a 2011 Impreza. there aren't any options passed 2011 IIRC.

Last edited by ChesterWRX; 02-13-2013 at 07:12 PM.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2013, 04:06 PM   #55
aeoporta
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 334126
Join Date: Oct 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New York
Vehicle:
2013 5mt Sp Premium
Venetian Red & Dark Gray

Default

Ateq tpm Quickset works with 2012 and 2013 subaru impreza 2.0i NA

I have aftermarket sensors in the wheels: TPMS: 315 MHz Tire Pressure Sensor

I was able to retrieve the sensor id for winter tires and then I entered in the summer wheel sensor ids and then updated the cars ecu.
I then retrieved from car's ecu to confirm that the new codes for the summer wheel were in the computer.
The total for the tpms sensors was 144, the tpm quickset was 150, Dealerships sometimes charge 100 or more to do the
switch over.



ATEQ QuickSet TPMS Reset Tool : Amazon.com : AutomotiveATEQ QuickSet TPMS Reset Tool : Amazon.com : Automotive



ateq quickeset version 3.02 Beta 8
Version 3.02 Beta8 - V
quickset firmware: QD1-45
Database version: 20130108
OS: windows 7 64bit

Installed the drivers first, then installed the ateq software.
After software install ran update with tpms device plugged in.
Updated database and device
Choose 2012 subaru impreza even if you have a 2013 as they are the same car
NOTE: WHEN ORDERING FROM TIRERACK HAVE THEM SEND YOU THE SENSOR IDS, YOU HAVE TO TELL THEM THIS WHEN YOU ORDER AND ALSO WHEN THEY CALL TO TELL YOU THAT YOU HAVE TO GO TO THE DEALERSHIP TO INITIALIZE THE NEW SENSORS.

FYI:TPMS provisions were updated end of 2011
http://www.dunntireblog.com/consumer...ct-tpms-ruling

http://tires.about.com/od/Tire_Safet...ng-Sensors.htm

http://www.tirereview.com/Article/95...tpms_regs.aspx
aeoporta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2013, 04:16 AM   #56
hi5.0
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 340456
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Honolulu, Hawaii
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza

Default

good info! should save some coin when changing wheel/tire combo.
hi5.0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2013, 11:25 PM   #57
N.G.S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 334310
Join Date: Oct 2012
Vehicle:
2012 Mitsu Evo X

Default

I might have a solution for the tpms issue. I am looking for someone in the NYC/ NNJ area to be a guinea pig. Here is a link to an Evo forum thread that explains it.

http://forums.evolutionm.net/evo-x-t...oven-work.html
N.G.S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2013, 11:36 AM   #58
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

subscribing for future reference
flyboy1100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 08:35 PM   #59
dhlee528
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 337395
Join Date: Nov 2012
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza SP 5MT
ISM

Default

sorry to bump old thread

I want to do tire rotation, can I just take it to firestone or something and ask for it?

if tires get rotated, do TPMS needs to get reset?

can they reset TPMS or do I have to go to dealer for it? (earlier in the thread states that firestone can't do it, but since it's been a year or so, I'm guessing they might be able to do it now?)

also, if I got to dealer and ask for tire rotation only, what's the average price for just tire rotation? (possible plus tpms reset fee)


if I get that quickset tool, can it reset stock TPMS ?

I just need rotation because I do my own oil change, and still on stock tires

Last edited by dhlee528; 08-30-2013 at 08:52 PM.
dhlee528 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2013, 09:25 PM   #60
G-Omaha
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 209172
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza CLL
BL2

Default

TPMS should not need adjustments for tire rotations as long as you are using the same tires, etc...
G-Omaha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 12:19 PM   #61
VegasSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 365638
Join Date: Aug 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza 2.0i
1991 Galant VR4

Default

Didn't your car come with TMPS sensors? I bought new wheels and tires for my car and they just used the same sensors and re-built them. Cost like $7 for the re-build kits for each wheel I think. Never had an issue with it.
VegasSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 02:43 PM   #62
foghelmut
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328414
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza SP 5MT
obsidian pearl black

Default

Subaru's TPMS is dumb. It just lets you know if a tire is below 26 psi. It doesn't care about the tire location. It would be nice to be able to read TPMS data through OBDII, but as far as I know you cannot. It would also be nice if Subaru could be as advanced as someone like Chevrolet, who tell you the real time pressure of each tire in your dash. But Subaru is not a technology minded company. Chevrolet isn't either, but come on man.
foghelmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:15 PM   #63
sgoldste01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322264
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sp 5sp
Obs Blk Prl/Drk Gray Mtl

Default

The only Chevy I've read about that provides that kind of TPMS data on the dash is the new Corvette Stingray. Not quite in the same league as our Imprezas, right?
sgoldste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 03:36 PM   #64
VegasSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 365638
Join Date: Aug 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Vegas, NV
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza 2.0i
1991 Galant VR4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by foghelmut View Post
Subaru's TPMS is dumb. It just lets you know if a tire is below 26 psi. It doesn't care about the tire location. It would be nice to be able to read TPMS data through OBDII, but as far as I know you cannot. It would also be nice if Subaru could be as advanced as someone like Chevrolet, who tell you the real time pressure of each tire in your dash. But Subaru is not a technology minded company. Chevrolet isn't either, but come on man.
Would be a nice to know which tire it is. I would think it could cause some issues and make you have to take the car to the dealership to get your tires rotated. If you move a wheel around it would need to have the TPMS re-programmed to match which wheel is where.
VegasSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:15 PM   #65
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgoldste01 View Post
The only Chevy I've read about that provides that kind of TPMS data on the dash is the new Corvette Stingray. Not quite in the same league as our Imprezas, right?
i drove a Cruze rental for work and it could tell you
flyboy1100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:53 PM   #66
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

i really with Cobb or a 3rd party could find a way disable that stupid light. the money spent on my Quickset & the extra sensors for my winter wheel & tire package could have gone into better mods.

**yes, i know, i could have just ignored the light... but i'm OCD. not gonna drive around with that stupid light on for xxxx amount of months per year.
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:04 PM   #67
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

shute, i just remembered that when I rotated back to my OEM wheels / tires, I went to the my dealer to get the reprogramed as i didn't have the codes of them. *see post # 54 for my history.

guess what? they were ready to order a new door lock relay (transmitter maybe) because they could NOT get any of my OEM sensors to register.... ***i will try and dig up the paperwork, but i don't really save them because they update it on subaru.com/owners anyway.

I'd uninstalled my Cobb AP as well...

so i said cool, they said they'd call me when the part came in.

we'll... waddya know? no TPMS light after 2 days, where usually it comes on within 10-15 min or a few miles, right?

i got home, pulled the codes for my OEM Wheels / Tires w/o issues.


when my dealer called me i told them the TPMS was NOT on and that if they still wanted me to bring the car in? they said "nope, if it comes on, let us know"

-chet
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 07:04 PM   #68
ChesterWRX
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 328794
Join Date: Aug 2012
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: N. Shore, MA
Vehicle:
2012 WRX Premium
Ice Silver Metal

Default

shute, i just remembered that when I rotated back to my OEM wheels / tires, I went to the my dealer to get the reprogramed as i didn't have the codes of them. *see post # 54 for my history.

guess what? they were ready to order a new door lock relay (transmitter maybe) because they could NOT get any of my OEM sensors to register.... ***i will try and dig up the paperwork, but i don't really save them because they update it on subaru.com/owners anyway.

I'd uninstalled my Cobb AP as well...

so i said cool, they said they'd call me when the part came in.

we'll... waddya know? no TPMS light after 2 days, where usually it comes on within 10-15 min or a few miles, right?

i got home, pulled the codes for my OEM Wheels / Tires w/o issues.


when my dealer called me i told them the TPMS was NOT on and that if they still wanted me to bring the car in? they said "nope, if it comes on, let us know"

-chet
ChesterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2013, 03:36 PM   #69
foghelmut
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 328414
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Jersey
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza SP 5MT
obsidian pearl black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgoldste01 View Post
The only Chevy I've read about that provides that kind of TPMS data on the dash is the new Corvette Stingray. Not quite in the same league as our Imprezas, right?
My fiance has a 2008 Cobalt which does this. I'd say that's not quite in the same league as our Imprezas.


Quote:
Originally Posted by VegasSubie View Post
Would be a nice to know which tire it is. I would think it could cause some issues and make you have to take the car to the dealership to get your tires rotated. If you move a wheel around it would need to have the TPMS re-programmed to match which wheel is where.
It's done with a TPMS tool, or can be done manually by putting the car into a learning mode. It's not a big process.
foghelmut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 04:56 PM   #70
wuzin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 368795
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza Premium
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Did anyone try to disconnect the TPMS module?

I have 2013 Impreza, and going to put new wheels without TPMS.

From the dealer service manual, it states that module controls both TPMS and Keyless entry system.

Since I don't have Keyless entry, I should try disconnect the module and see whether it still lights up the TPMS light on the cluster or not.
wuzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 05:14 PM   #71
flyboy1100
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 314216
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: ND
Vehicle:
2012 2.0i Sport 5MT
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wuzin View Post
Did anyone try to disconnect the TPMS module?

I have 2013 Impreza, and going to put new wheels without TPMS.

From the dealer service manual, it states that module controls both TPMS and Keyless entry system.

Since I don't have Keyless entry, I should try disconnect the module and see whether it still lights up the TPMS light on the cluster or not.
You don't have keyless entry?
flyboy1100 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-24-2013, 05:18 PM   #72
wuzin
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 368795
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Chicago
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza Premium
Dark Gray Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy1100 View Post
You don't have keyless entry?
Ouch, my bad!!

I was confused with keyless start
wuzin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 12:52 AM   #73
Xafen
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 306398
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Premium
Camellia Red

Default

Small update: I don't remember seeing a pictures of someone etaping the TPMS light but...

I got a smoking deal on a full set of Subaru alloys with General Altimax Artic tires on them, 90% tread left. I was originally planning to eventually get a set from Tirerack, but then these came up.

Bottom line is, they don't have TPMS, and I didn't want to look at the light all winter. I thought of just putting the e-tape on the glass, but then I'd see reflection, and probably light at night.

6 screws, and 15 minutes later, voila! The TPMS light is on there, but now you can't see it, and unless you shine a flashlight right at the e-tape, you can't even tell it's there.



1. Disconnect the battery (because really, what procedure in the manual doesn't call for this).
2. Remove the 2 screws holding the face plate on. The bottom of the face plate is held in with tabs. They don't require releasing, just gently wiggle them out.
3. Remove the 4 screws.
4. Disconnect the instrument cluster wire bundle in the back (for ease of the next step)
5. Gently remove the cluster glass (plastic). I found it easiest to release one tab, and gently wedge it apart, going all along the outside.
6. Cut about a 0.5 cm sq piece of etape, and put it in place.
7. Reassemble everything.
Xafen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 05:54 AM   #74
sgoldste01
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 322264
Join Date: Jun 2012
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Webster, NY
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Sp 5sp
Obs Blk Prl/Drk Gray Mtl

Default

^^Are you planning to leave the tape on there all the time, or will you be removing the tape in the spring?
sgoldste01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 11:11 AM   #75
Xafen
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 306398
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Omaha, NE
Vehicle:
2012 Impreza Premium
Camellia Red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sgoldste01 View Post
^^Are you planning to leave the tape on there all the time, or will you be removing the tape in the spring?
I plan to remove it. It was very easy to do. It was only 6 screws and some tabs to spread apart, even being my first time doing it, having no idea what I was doing, I had it done in ~15 minutes.

TPMS is nice to have, even for someone who checks the air pressure all the time like me, because who knows when a nail might hit you in the middle of a long drive.

Until I sell this set of winter tires, which will be several years, I'll just make this a part of my tire swap routine when i change to summer/winter tires.
Xafen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.