Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday December 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-10-2013, 06:00 PM   #1
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default Omni 4 bar MAP throwing CEL

Hey everyone,

Does a base map need to accomodate for an omni 4 bar MAP sensor? I have a car that is running a little rough but the AFRs are fine, I have an omni 4 bar MAP sensor on it and I'm wondering if maybe my tuner forgot to accomodate for this. I'm getting a P0107 from it. Perhaps I should throw the OEM MAP sensor back on for break in.

Input?

Thanks

_Dave
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:11 PM   #2
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: GTX3076R-276/272, GTX3071R
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

Yes the only thing oem about those sensors is the fitment. It needs to be calibrated accordingly.

Id toss the stock MAP in, reset the ecu. let idle for fiveish minutes then drive around and see how things look.

I know they work well when calibrated properly with the 32bit ecu "DBW throttle cars" Ive heard they were having issues with them on the 16bit ecu "DBC 2.0ltr 02-05" cars.

Are you running SD or MAF based tuning?
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:16 PM   #3
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

This is the kind of stuff that is making me slightly questionable about my tuner. I explicitly asked him this and gave him a list of all my mods and he told me to throw the MAP sensor on right now and not to wait until dyno day. Meh.

I'll throw the OEM sensor back on and see how that works out.

Thanks

Edit: Just read your vehicles. This is for an 05 FXT
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:28 PM   #4
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: GTX3076R-276/272, GTX3071R
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

wootwoot yeah some fozzy love! ok for its a 32bit ecu. If calibrated correctly it shouldnt be a issue.

is this on opensource or a AP?

Why were you swapping it out? how much boost did you want to run?

Anything I can do to help!

Ian,
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:36 PM   #5
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

Thanks Ian,

It's an Accessport. I was advised by my tuner to swap it out as the OEM MAP sensor "Doesn't read past 22 psi and has no boost cut"
I don't intend to run over ~20 psi anyways.

lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 06:45 PM   #6
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: GTX3076R-276/272, GTX3071R
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

Pump gas or e85. From the sounds of it you might want to seek out another tuner... the MAP has nothing to do with fuelcut. no need to swap out imo if your not pushing it.

The pic looks nice!!!
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:12 PM   #7
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

I didn't want to throw a name around but I am using precision tuning motorsports. I heard great things about them.

I'm tuning for 93 octane.

I don't have it in email so I don't want to quote directly, I think it may have been through a phone conversation where they recommended the MAP sensor and gave reasoning, but here's a few emails about the base map.
Quote:
The 850cc and 4 bar setup will work just fine. Cleo Is making a make for
you as we speak. keep an eye out for it.

XXXX



-----Original Message-----
From:XXXX
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 12:29 PM
To: XXXX
Subject:XXX

Sure,

I have two questions though. I have OEM 550 side feed injectors on the car,
and set of 850ccs in my garage that you asked for. Which injectors should be
on the car for the base tune? I planned on putting the 850s on for the dyne
tune and leaving the 550s on for the base map as I was told. is this
correct? (because you have to change the injector duty cycle right?)

Also, I have an OMNI 4 bar MAP sensor. The OEM MAP sensor is on the car now.
Same question as the injectors, should I leave it off until the dyne sesh or
put it on now?
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 07:26 PM   #8
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: GTX3076R-276/272, GTX3071R
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

OK Cleo does know his stuff. I think hes still there...
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 09:45 PM   #9
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

Good to hear
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2013, 10:52 PM   #10
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2015 WRX LTD
WRB

Default

Just finished watching the vid from Shawn Church OS tuning an '05 STi. Car had a 4 bar MAP sensor and he did have to change the scaling (multiplier and offset). At first he disabled dtc for map sensor range/perf but car still threw a PO107 and had trouble with a low idle. After he disabled PO107 and PO108 everything was good.
nmlittlebigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 03:03 AM   #11
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

I swapped for the OEM MAP sensor tonight and went for a cruise running mildly to 4k and engine braking to seat those rings. Everything was going great then I did a 2nd gear to 4k and popped it into third. Right as I was tagging 4krpm the engine cut power and I got a check engine light for the boost solenoid "A"
IDK if this is related to the MAP sensor or not but I was watching the boost gauge pretty well keeping it around ~8psi. I opened the AP and it said that I was at 0psi at idle (No way) and I was at 22psi when my gauge read 7 psi. So something is off, car must have thought I was overboosting and now it won't let me go over 7psi.

IDK I guess it's kind of a good thing for now but I wonder why it is cutting this.

AFRs look good. 11.1 at WOT still.
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 09:19 AM   #12
nmlittlebigman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 321409
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arrey, NM
Vehicle:
2015 WRX LTD
WRB

Default

Talk to your tuner.
nmlittlebigman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 12:21 PM   #13
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
EFR6758

Default

4-bar MAP sensor has different pressure vs voltage slope than the stock unit. You can't swap between them without reprogramming the ECU. There is a high/low voltage threshold table that need to be altered to prevent the CEL.

Last edited by Airboy; 10-11-2013 at 12:29 PM.
Airboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2013, 01:34 PM   #14
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: GTX3076R-276/272, GTX3071R
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

^^^ exactally^^^

Also the AFR sensor is crap once your on the gas. 11.12 is more of a default. Real afr could be 12.5-1 or 8-1. you need a widedand for the openloop part of tuning...
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 12:40 AM   #15
cosseywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276443
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Abilene, TX
Vehicle:
2005 2.1 stroker WRX
OBP

Default

Carberry roms have a patch built into them for these issues as well
cosseywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 11:25 AM   #16
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lavid2002 View Post
The 850cc and 4 bar setup will work just fine. Cleo Is making a make for
you as we speak. keep an eye out for it.
XXXX



-----Original Message-----
From:XXXX
Sent: Friday, September 27, 2013 12:29 PM
To: XXXX
Subject:XXX

Sure,

I have two questions though. I have OEM 550 side feed injectors on the car,
and set of 850ccs in my garage that you asked for. Which injectors should be
on the car for the base tune? I planned on putting the 850s on for the dyne
tune and leaving the 550s on for the base map as I was told. is this
correct? (because you have to change the injector duty cycle right?)

Also, I have an OMNI 4 bar MAP sensor. The OEM MAP sensor is on the car now.
Same question as the injectors, should I leave it off until the dyne sesh or
put it on now?
I quote you quoting them. They say your injectors and map sensor will be fine and they have a map in the works for you. Did you load they're map with the scaling for the new map sensor or have you not recieved it yet?

The scaling of the ONMI power sensor is different but the min and max fault voltages have to be changed to 0 and 5 V respectively also or you will have problems. If the ECU thinks its overboosting with the stock MAP sensor on it sounds like your map map be scaled for the new sensor but the fault voltages aren't set up correctly.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 07:02 PM   #17
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

I think that is what's happening. I received the base man and have flashed it to the ECU. I put the omni 4 bar MAP sensor back on and am running the car like that.
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 07:52 PM   #18
kellygnsd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32669
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho C
Vehicle:
2007 2.34LR, EFR7670
LINK G4 hybrid STi

Default

Why not just ask your tuner. From you first post you made it sound like you just installed the ONMI power without even a reflash and expected it to work.

That bit of info about the reflash is info we didn't have but your turner did. He should have been able to either tell you what he did to your map or tell you where to check to see what he did to your map.
kellygnsd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 07:46 PM   #19
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

Do yourself a favor and do not use the 4 bar. I have had at least a dozen fail. For 20 psi, the factory sensor is fine. If over 25 psi, you can use the AEM 3.5 bar brass for gasoline or Stainless for Gasoline and E85 use. Never had the AEM fail. What is scary is that if you are using SD with the 4 bar and it does fail, it tends to lock up in one spot. The car may run ok at idle and cruise but then never get fuel on boost.

On the 16 Bit ECU, They will cause an oscillation in idle. I was the one who found this and reported it. Don't use the 3 or 4 bar on that ecu. Stock or AEM is fine.

C
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2013, 08:23 PM   #20
cosseywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 276443
Join Date: Mar 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Abilene, TX
Vehicle:
2005 2.1 stroker WRX
OBP

Default

I run an omni 3 bar on a carberry tune with zero problems. On stock rom i would say go Aem.

02-03 wrx ecu on 05 wrx
cosseywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 01:55 AM   #21
lavid2002
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 226864
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern NJ
Vehicle:
2005 PSM WRX
18.5lb. 93 oct, DP, UP

Default

The car the engine is in is a 2005 Forester XT.
Quote:
y not just ask your tuner. From you first post you made it sound like you just installed the ONMI power without even a reflash and expected it to work.
I used a base map prepared for me by my tuner.
lavid2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2013, 12:56 PM   #22
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning ftw

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
it tends to lock up in one spot. The car may run ok at idle and cruise but then never get fuel on boost.


C
Does an ECU reset fix this? Should be noticeable if you are constantly watching afr in boost
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 05:05 AM   #23
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

No. Reset does not fix. Sensor fail.
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 02:42 PM   #24
wgr73
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 232458
Join Date: Dec 2009
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Las Cruces, El Paso
Vehicle:
2008 STi (OBP)
CAMTuning ftw

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
No. Reset does not fix. Sensor fail.
Cool. If this should ever happen then it would be easy to spot. Thanks
wgr73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.