Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-22-2011, 11:30 PM   #1
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Ok. So I just finished the mechanical part of a 4eat to 05 STi 6 speed swap on my 05 WRX and im having a few issues.

First of all which is the pin I have to ground to tell the ECU its now a manual?

heres the ecu pinout for my car:
http://www.northursalia.com/modifica...mpDOHC_ECM.pdf

I mean theres only a few pins that could be it...but I have no idea which one to pick:
AT diagnosis input signal
AT load signal
or the Neutral position switch which is the only one that shows 2 different things for AT or MT. (pretty sure it snot this one)

Unfortunately I'm completely inept when it comes to understanding wiring/electrical systems


Second of all is the VSS. I have no idea where to start on this one. I know one is a power source, one is a ground, and one goes to the ecu and speedo...But I have no idea which ones are which....


Up next is the reverse switch. It doesn't work. I'm using these 2 pictures as my guide.



3,6 are the reverse sensor. 2,5 are the Neutral Position Switch. and 1,4 are for the DCCD. (I have a DCCDPro for here but Im not wiring that until I get ths stuff sorted out)



Using this as my guide I have the NSS and Ignition working perfectly. But the reverse isnt working. Is this because my car is still 'AT' as far as my ECU is concerned? And like I said the VSS is completely unwired as well.

I've seen a few other ideas thrown out as to how to wire this sucker up. Does anyone have first hand knowledge of what would work best? For example some people have wired the NSS straight to the clutch pedal instead of the wires i chose

Am I fine the way I'm choosing to go? Will this have some gremlins? Ive searched EXTENSIVELY on this one and am still having quite a few questions left unanswered.

Any help is appreciated

Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 08:23 AM   #2
Lamont
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125190
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Japan
Default

The reverse circuit is just a loop. You can test this by joining the two wires that make up the reverse circuit. If it works the lights will turn on (obviously), don't think you need the car all the way on to test, just ACC.

2005 WRX 4EAT? I'll take a look at the wiring as I am sure it's different just a little on the 2005 to 2006. Then I will send you the info.

As for mine, I did not ground any wires to tell the ECU it was MT, I just took it to HB Speed. And don't mess around in the car till it's flashed.
Lamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:44 AM   #3
Lamont
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125190
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Japan
Default

For the VSS, I ran a wire right from the STi VSS to the cluster and one to the ECU. Then I grounded the other and ran the last wire to power.

Speed sensor: Ok, from the STi tranny Speed sensor you have 3 wires (man I hope you still have wires. NOTE: I am taking the color info from the manual. The pins are 3-1-2. Colors may be different (hardware revisions). Mine were not the same color. (late 2005 STi). My pin one and two COLOR was swapped functions were the same.
Pin 3 - GB (Green Black)
Pin 1 - GY (Green Yellow) (My version Black Red)
Pin 2 - BR (Black Red) (My version Green Yellow)

Pin 2 is power, I have that going to a fused power source that's ACC (that comes on before the engine is cranked). Pin 3 is ground, that is going to the wishbone. Pin 1 is the signal. Here is where it goes:

Pin 2 on the back of the cluster. It's the only plug that looks like this (flat one row, remember the numbers are reversed since you're looking at the plug in your hand).


Then it goes to plug B134 on the ECU(ECM) and to pin 1. There is only one plug that looks like this. So follow it closely, you don't wanna screw up an ECU.


Note. if you are NOT using OEM harness to join things, either do clean SOLID soldering, or if you're using new terminals, pack it with dielectric grease.

So if the speed sensor does not work for some reason the first time, swap the wires on the end (not the mid) and change where they go, so if it's 3 is power and 2 is ground, make it 3 ground and 2 power. I don't think the hardware changed that much in a year.

When this is cleared, we can move on to the reverse light. But it should be simple enough. Just take a bit of wire and join the two terminals and it should light up. If so, just run them to the reverse switch on the tranny.
Lamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 09:59 AM   #4
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Unfortunately I do not have the connector going to the vss on the tranny. I'm going to scour some local junk yards to hack that bit off song unsuspecting MT when I get the chance. Sometime before then ill wire it up without the connector to figure out what's what. I just need it to stop raining every damn day. I already know the pin it goes to on the ecu, and planned on using a vampire clip to wire that in. Is that a wise choice? Or should I cut what's there and replace it with a wire straight from the mt vss itself?

As for the reverse ill try jumping that when I get home. If it doesn't work at that point then i don't know what it is, unless they changed the pins on the inhibitor switch ...I mean I really don't know how to use a multimeter correctly but testing voltage and amperage on the transmission reverse pins when in reverse or nuetral/in gear I was getting different readings so I don't think its that.

And yeah I was planning on running it for a little while with the at ecu (in open loop or not - it seems to run fine as of now - at least as far as safety is concerned) to break my clutch in, with 0 thought of beating on it.


Thank you for all the input, ill get back with some more info later.

Last edited by todeswalzer; 05-24-2011 at 10:06 AM.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:09 AM   #5
Lamont
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 125190
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Japan
Default

5MT speed sensor will go right in IIRC. Does not have to be STi, and the pins are the same. If anyone who's done a 5MT to 6MT can confirm please.
Lamont is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 10:31 AM   #6
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Yeah I've read around that as long as its 3 pin its the same, the only variable being the color of the wires. I just didn't find the info as to what was what from the connector itself so thanks for that


Also I got 3x 2 pin connectors from radio shack to use for wiring instead of the oem 6 pin on the transmission. I wasn't sure to use silicone or grease to protect them. ill load them up with the dielectric grease.

Last edited by todeswalzer; 05-24-2011 at 10:37 AM.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 04:59 PM   #7
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

well the reverse lights dont come on when i connect pins 11 and 12 together.

i also noticed my headlights are on at all times.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 11:56 PM   #8
doggy237
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233143
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Midnight Blue

Default

Good luck buddy!! I just "finished" my 4eat to 6mt swap about a month ago in my 02. My speedo, abs, and cruise still dont work. Im also missing the pigtail that plugs into the vss and have not been able to track one down yet. The car runs just fine and ive put a couple thousand miles on it so far with no problems it just sucks not knowing your speed. I even bought a vsspro trying to fix my speedo but we cant quite get it wired in right. Did you have any problems with your abs or cruise??
doggy237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 09:27 AM   #9
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doggy237
Good luck buddy!! I just "finished" my 4eat to 6mt swap about a month ago in my 02. My speedo, abs, and cruise still dont work. Im also missing the pigtail that plugs into the vss and have not been able to track one down yet. The car runs just fine and ive put a couple thousand miles on it so far with no problems it just sucks not knowing your speed. I even bought a vsspro trying to fix my speedo but we cant quite get it wired in right. Did you have any problems with your abs or cruise??
I haven't tried cruise yet

No ABS light is on - haven't tried locking em up though

I'm really not driving it until I get some more things sorted. There's a grinding noise coming from the passenger rear hub somewhere, I gotta tear that down and see if its something I can play with or if its the bearing. That hub was locked up when I got it. I had to put a lot of effort to get it to spin even with a wheel on it. So I think the bearing needs to be replaced but like I said ill do a teardown first just in case.

Ive only spun around the block once to see how everything was working - individual gears and clutch engagement and such. Once I get that grind and the vss sorted ill start driving it more. It just stopped raining for the first time in 2 weeks so naturally i'm going away for the weekend so I wont be able to tinker.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2011, 04:52 PM   #10
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

changed the wheel bearings and the grind is gone.

been messing with the vss and it still doesnt work =\
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2011, 03:28 PM   #11
Team Scream
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 121532
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Vehicle:
2006 FXT/STi 6MT
01 Aerosim GC8 Coupe

Default

Different years have varying different problems with the VSS and how it is wired because it goes through the TCM.
My Forester has proven to be a nightmare because when I have the VSS signal wire attached at the ECU, I get a throttle hang between shifts, and also get a CEL (p0502) and it triggers limp mode. Speedo works fine.

When I disconnect the VSS lead from the ECU and disable P0502 in romraider, I get NO throttle hang and the speedo works fine.

The only issue this creates is it will throw off the per gear determination thresholds which are directly referenced from vehicle speed via the VSS input the the ECU.

SO far this has not created a problem in tuning or anything else for that matter that I have been able to detect or log.

I would suggest that you leave the ECU out of the equation until you get the speedo working, then try to make a connection at the ECU and see how that works out for you.

I have not given up on my quest to have the speedo and VSS / ECU circuit completed, but there was no way I was going to live with throttle hang between shifts.

The other thing that caused me nightmares was the NSS, and what I did there was wire a switch in line with that circuit to the ECU for starting the car only.

This served 2 purposes, (1) it gives me a concealed security switch for the car, and (2) keeps the ECU from thinking the tranny is in neutral every time the clutch is depressed, since those 2 circuits (clutch pedal and NSS) are tied together though the TCM.
Team Scream is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2011, 12:22 AM   #12
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

i got the vss to work....lets just say the middle wire wasnt the signal wire...

the neutral switch is connected so that whenever the clutch is depressed it thinks the car is in neutral. what kind of issues exactly did this create for you?

now all i have is to tackle the reverse lights....and figure out why my headlights always stay on....that one is confusing me a bit seeing as i did nothing to the headlight circuits
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2011, 07:31 AM   #13
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Alright so I bought a MT ecu and the car still believes its an AT. Its still throwing tcu codes and my dccd display in the cluster still acts like its in AT mode

Is that programmed into my AccessPort map or something?
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 04:43 PM   #14
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

allright heres how i got my VSS to work
this image is as if you are looking at the transmission. the little rectangle would be the clip you press to release the connector


1. Power
2. Ground
3. Signal

people kept telling me the middle wire was the signal wire

NOPE.

Also i got my reverse lights to work.....i was looking too far into the problem...the fuse was blown. I kept looking for a reverse fuse back when I was having issues and never thought BACK would mean reverse...so I felt like a retard for a good 5 minutes. oh well at least thats fine now.


also I got a (confirmed) 05 MT wrx ecu and the damn car still thinks its an auto. fml.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 07:50 AM   #15
xrturbo
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86298
Join Date: May 2005
Location: allentown, PA
Vehicle:
98 LGT Wagon
Full WRX driveline & dash

Default

Thanks for clearing up the VSS!!! I have been searching all morning for that!! That is the last thing I needed to clear up on my trans swap for going 2 wire to 3 wire speed sensor.

As for your ECU thinking it is still auto: I am not sure how things play into the 05 4EAT harness but did you disconnect your TCU? You have to for the older swaps. The only down side is the ABS doesn't work so you need to swap a M/T ABS module onto the pump. My AT to 5 speed swap was in a 99 Forester so I am not sure if it will be applicable to your setup. There is also talk of grounding the M/T ID "pin 81" on the older ECU's but everything I have read says it didn't seem to do anything. Again, I know this info worked for my older setup, but hope it helps with yours!
xrturbo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2011, 10:25 AM   #16
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

There is no ID pin on the newer models and the tcu is long removed

I almost don't care anymore lol
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2012, 10:11 AM   #17
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

So what I ended up doing is I called efi logics and had them remove the 2 tcu codes from my protune. They lock out protune maps so I couldn't do it myself. The clusters dccd lights stopped acting like an at with 1 2 D N R P when I cut the wires off and wired in the dccdpro.

Revs hang for about a half a second before falling when I press in the clutch not sure if that's normal or not.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:05 PM   #18
Tuned200
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127740
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Florence, KY
Vehicle:
2007 FSXT-Mine
2007 F-STI-Her's

Default

Sorry to bump an old thread but this is a great resource.

I'm in the same boat as you guys, swapping the wife's FXT auto to 6 speed. Mechanical it's done and a beast. Limp mode, no abs, no VDC, no cruise, flashing trans temp light etc.

Ecu codes are
P0502
P0700
P0801

Thanks.
Tuned200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2013, 10:25 PM   #19
doggy237
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 233143
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Charleston, SC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Midnight Blue

Default

I had a limp mode problem when I did my swap (into an 02 wrx) and I think I had a trans temp problem as well as the p0700 code but my speedometer was also not working. I ended up removing my trans computer, buying a manual ecu, and wiring in a vsspro and i ended up getting my speedometer going, was no longer in limp mode, and got rid of my trans temp problem but I still have the p0700 code, just been ignoring it. Sorry, it looks like your problems may be deeper than mine were. Your speedometer is working properly right?
doggy237 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-31-2013, 04:43 PM   #20
Tuned200
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 127740
Join Date: Oct 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Florence, KY
Vehicle:
2007 FSXT-Mine
2007 F-STI-Her's

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by doggy237 View Post
I had a limp mode problem when I did my swap (into an 02 wrx) and I think I had a trans temp problem as well as the p0700 code but my speedometer was also not working. I ended up removing my trans computer, buying a manual ecu, and wiring in a vsspro and i ended up getting my speedometer going, was no longer in limp mode, and got rid of my trans temp problem but I still have the p0700 code, just been ignoring it. Sorry, it looks like your problems may be deeper than mine were. Your speedometer is working properly right?
No speedo currently either. Her FXT is canbus based and has front and rear speed sensors.
Tuned200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2013, 01:30 PM   #21
jpegone
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 367897
Join Date: Sep 2013
Default

I'm looking at doing a 5 speed swap from a 99 forester into my 03 forester with a 4eat. Right now the guy is offering me the (blown rod bearing) motor with 5 speed manual that has been rebuilt for 200 bucks. Will I be able to get my speedo working/what will I need. I may be able to get the TCM and VSS from it too, though I doubt the wiring will be the same. Also I would kind of like to keep my ABS..
jpegone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS : 4eat --> 6 speed swap leftovers todeswalzer NESIC Private Classifieds 6 07-05-2011 01:47 PM
need some more advice =] 6 speed!! mr.books Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 04-01-2011 04:22 AM
01 RS to STi 6 speed conversion question/info needed Texas25RS Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 2 05-17-2005 01:43 PM
STi 6 speed swap question perkowskiforpope New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 9 05-06-2005 09:43 PM
STi 6 speed tranny question A-REX Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 5 02-06-2003 12:52 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.