Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Subaru Conversions

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-17-2003, 04:41 PM   #1
cindergarden
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21158
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hanging in NY
Vehicle:
94 FWD 2.5
Acardia Green

Default L--->RS cluster?

ok so i have the complete RS interior swap , im wondering if i can just use my own L cluster or if i need to use a RS cluster ? whats the wiring like if i decide to go to an RS clusteR?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
cindergarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 05:20 PM   #2
Scoobyslack1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2780
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: back in Chicago
Vehicle:
junk yards rule!
Project FrankenSTien

Default

I'm not sure, but I replace my gauge cluster w/one that had a tach, took 10 minutes.
does your cluster go to 140mph or 120mph like the RS?
I'd keep the 140mph cluster, if you have it, gives you hope that you get there
Scoobyslack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2003, 06:25 PM   #3
cindergarden
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21158
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hanging in NY
Vehicle:
94 FWD 2.5
Acardia Green

Default

was it just plug and play or do i need to rerun wiring
cindergarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 09:30 AM   #4
Scoobyslack1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2780
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: back in Chicago
Vehicle:
junk yards rule!
Project FrankenSTien

Lightbulb

mine was L to L model basically.....so just plug-n-play
I think the RS uses a electrical speedo, my car has a mechanical one as do most Ls
Scoobyslack1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 10:07 AM   #5
cindergarden
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21158
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hanging in NY
Vehicle:
94 FWD 2.5
Acardia Green

Default

anyone know how i would go about converting this ? i know i need both wiring diagrams but then what do i do with em
cindergarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2003, 06:09 PM   #6
stimpy
Homicidal Maniac
Moderator
 
Member#: 1612
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Austin, TX
Vehicle:
2008 STI

Default

Eby put a WRX cluster into his MY94 L. It is not a direct swap both physically and electronically. You would need to convert your tranny to use an electronic speed sensor and then wire it up to the car. Then you next problem is that the dash changed after 1996 and I _think_ they have different gauge cluster dimensions. Eby had to use bondo to get his WRX cluster to fit properly. I can't recall anybody putting an RS cluster in and reporting their experiences.

-Jon
stimpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2003, 01:37 PM   #7
avk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17252
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
'06 WX8
59E

Default

I believe the cable driven speedometer was replaced with electrical on 1997 models. Scoobyslack, can you tell what you did to disconnect the speedo? I had my cluster out to add an AT shift indicator from a '93. On the speedo cable before the end socket, there was a plastic cylinder with rubber boots at both ends. I thought maybe it was some kind of quick disconnect but couldn't make sense of it. So I had to pull on the socket. It was on tight and I had to be careful not to brake things, so it took a lot more than 10 minutes.

Last edited by avk; 06-22-2003 at 01:40 AM.
avk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 02:32 PM   #8
wac
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 689
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lebanon, NH, USA
Vehicle:
2005 Outback 2.5 XT
Champagne Gold Opal

Default

Quote:
I think the RS uses a electrical speedo, my car has a mechanical one as do most Ls
Electronic speedo first showed up in the 1998 models with the new interiors - the one with the extra storage compartment on the dash that you can mount a gauge pack.
wac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2003, 10:21 PM   #9
avk
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17252
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
'06 WX8
59E

Default

I test drove a '97 L wagon with an LCD odometer and assumed the speedo was electronic. If it was, maybe it depended on the transmission type. That one was automatic.
avk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 02:08 AM   #10
cindergarden
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21158
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Hanging in NY
Vehicle:
94 FWD 2.5
Acardia Green

Default

mine now is a 94 5spd L cluster hte new one would be a 2001 5spd RS cluster
cindergarden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 11:12 AM   #11
RSimport
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 24718
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Potomac MD
Vehicle:
05 impreza RS
white

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Scoobyslack1
I'm not sure, but I replace my gauge cluster w/one that had a tach, took 10 minutes.
does your cluster go to 140mph or 120mph like the RS?
I'd keep the 140mph cluster, if you have it, gives you hope that you get there
I have a 96 without a tach would this still have a plug for my tach or do I need to install a wire harness and everything to put one in?
RSimport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2003, 12:02 PM   #12
AKGC8
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1305
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: AKIC
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza

Default

Yea I did the WRX gauges into my L allong with my WRX drivetrain conversion. So I've got the WRX electronic speedo.

What I'm not sure about, but have a feeling may work is putting an RS electronic speed sensor in place of the mechanical transmitter used on the L's. Then just sending wires to both the new RS cluster and the L's ECU(the ECU gets a tach signal from the cluster in the L).

The wiring was a piece of cake on my WRX cluster, so the RS shouldn't be any worse. You do have to rewire everything, but basically all the wires are there that you need(besides that speed sensor) so it's just a matter of matching them up.
AKGC8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Update a 2002 WRX Gauge Cluster with 2004 Cluster DamonL Electrical & Lighting 8 03-26-2010 05:04 PM
EJ20G swap-->RS Sean2.5Black Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 08-01-2008 01:18 AM
JDM GC8 STi cluster -> USDM car, need a harness or pinouts on the cluster no-coast-punk Subaru Conversions 11 07-29-2004 02:34 PM
WRX cluster in RS cluster?? 03imprezaRS Subaru Conversions 1 05-05-2004 07:30 PM
L-->RS Front bumper question soccerguy888 Interior & Exterior Modification 2 09-29-2003 01:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.