Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 30, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Newbies & FAQs

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-10-2014, 05:00 PM   #1
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default I am a noob. Need tuning advice. WRX protune?

Okay so I have tried researching this quite a bit. I came to the conclusion that a protune is the way to go. I am going to buy an accessport and get it protuned. Now heres my question. After I get the car protuned- Do I need to get it dynotuned after??

Accessport + Protune + Dyno time = Very expensive.

Would it be fine to just get a protune and go have some fun? or must it be dyno'd also?

Thank you
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:02 PM   #2
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Just incase this will help. I have a 2004 wrx, installing an uppipe, Down pipe, Short ram intake, and still debating on the 50/50 bpv.
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:04 PM   #3
Loyale93
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 91347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Vehicle:
'13 XV Crosstrek,
1050 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

You need to understand what you're asking. A "Protune" is a tune that is custom to your car. This can be done via a roadtune, a dynotune, or an e-tune.

An e-tune will typically be the cheapest because it requires more work on your end. You are sent a basic map for your parts. you run it and then do some datalogs. Send these back to your tuner who tweaks them, wash, rinse, repeat until everything is lovey dovey.

A road/dyno tune requires the tuner to be with you in your car. They run the car up and down viewing live data and taking logs, make adjustments, wash, rinse, repeat until everything is lovey dovey.

So no, you don't need a protune AND dynotune. Have you decided a tuner yet? That may be a good place to start and then ask them what they think would be the best. They may not even require you to get an accessport. Save you even more money.

You need to do more research. And fill in your profile. I can presume you're in Arizona, but possibly not. Fill that in and we could recommend a local tuner for you. Also, what year WRX? That matters too. This may shock you, but if your profile was filled in, we wouldn't have to ask that either.

Ninja Edit: beat me to telling us what year WRX.
Loyale93 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:16 PM   #4
HinshawWRX
Medium Frank
Moderator
 
Member#: 140114
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Common Sense, VA
Vehicle:
2014 Porsche
GT3 (Currently on Fire)

Default

You don't need an accessport to have a protune.

You also don't need a 50/50 bov.

If you can't afford to mod it right, don't mod at all.
HinshawWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:23 PM   #5
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loyale93 View Post
You need to understand what you're asking. A "Protune" is a tune that is custom to your car. This can be done via a roadtune, a dynotune, or an e-tune.

An e-tune will typically be the cheapest because it requires more work on your end. You are sent a basic map for your parts. you run it and then do some datalogs. Send these back to your tuner who tweaks them, wash, rinse, repeat until everything is lovey dovey.

A road/dyno tune requires the tuner to be with you in your car. They run the car up and down viewing live data and taking logs, make adjustments, wash, rinse, repeat until everything is lovey dovey.

So no, you don't need a protune AND dynotune. Have you decided a tuner yet? That may be a good place to start and then ask them what they think would be the best. They may not even require you to get an accessport. Save you even more money.

You need to do more research. And fill in your profile. I can presume you're in Arizona, but possibly not. Fill that in and we could recommend a local tuner for you. Also, what year WRX? That matters too. This may shock you, but if your profile was filled in, we wouldn't have to ask that either.

Ninja Edit: beat me to telling us what year WRX.
I knew that the protune is a custom tune to my car. What I did not know was how they did it. So now that I know they just use the logs and tweak them. I have contacted Clark Turner because ive heard great things about his tuning. He recommended getting an accessport and his protune. I was just not aware that I had to get my own logs and send them to him. So the only thing different about a dyno tune is that the logs are taken live and tweaked and than can see actual horse power to the wheel. So I can get it protuned and whenever I want to find my actual whp just go to a dyno ( probably goodspeed) and just run It and see what it is VS them having to sit there for hours and tweak it in person- basically just dyno'd not dyno "tuned" after the protune?
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:31 PM   #6
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HinshawWRX View Post
You don't need an accessport to have a protune.

You also don't need a 50/50 bov.

If you can't afford to mod it right, don't mod at all.
It is not that I can not afford it, just do not want to spend more money than is necessary.

Overall I could just get a tactrix cable and run my own logs and send them to him and then upload to the ecu myself via opensource and just not have all the fancy features of an accessport?

And I bought the bpv but I think im going to just sell it because ive heard nothing but bad things with them
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:33 PM   #7
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Am I starting to get on the right path here?

BTW I filled my info in
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:35 PM   #8
meat_WRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96919
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: chesapeake va
Vehicle:
2004 sti
black

Default

if it aint broke dont fix it, right?
meat_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 05:41 PM   #9
sc00ter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 117767
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
DGM

Default

Based on your initial post and your response to Loyale93 I suggest you schedule an appointment with a reputable tuner near you and just let them do it.

Don't take this the wrong way but you don't seem to understand how an e-tune/datalogging works so I would avoid that completely or until you've done more research. Plus, knowing how Clark is, after you send him your initial logs he will most likely tell you that you have an issue with a boost leak or something else that needs to be "fixed" before he continues to tune it. This will likely send you on a wild goose chase. Also, he doesn't take well to working with people who know very little and can come off as a pretty big ***hole. So that might frustrate you pretty quick.

In your case, if you are determined to install the mods you have listed, definitely pay the money to have a local tuner get the car dialed in properly for them. You'll thank yourself later.

Also, listen to HinshawWRX and forego the 50/50BOV. It's completely unnecessary.
sc00ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 06:17 PM   #10
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Save up and spend the extra money on getting it tuned by Clark in person at Goodspeed. Arrange for Joe to go over the car to certify it has a clean bill of health with no overlooked boost leaks, etc, etc..before the actual tune.
This will save you any headaches, and could probably save you another tune if something has been overlooked.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 08:24 PM   #11
Loyale93
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 91347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Vehicle:
'13 XV Crosstrek,
1050 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

A dyno is used for one thing and one thing only. Run a load on the vehicle to measure power output. There is very little difference between a dyno tune and a road tune, except that a dyno tune allows more control. For instance, if the tuner wants to keep the car at 3500rpm for some reason at full load, they can on a dyno. That's difficult on the road.

Yes, you can get it tuned or not, and then go to a dyno to get your whp/wtq.

But I have to agree with Scooter there, it sounds like you have a lot more reading to do and learning. Maybe try and find a local group that's doing a dyno tune and hang out there.
Loyale93 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2014, 09:28 PM   #12
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sc00ter View Post
Based on your initial post and your response to Loyale93 I suggest you schedule an appointment with a reputable tuner near you and just let them do it.

Don't take this the wrong way but you don't seem to understand how an e-tune/datalogging works so I would avoid that completely or until you've done more research. Plus, knowing how Clark is, after you send him your initial logs he will most likely tell you that you have an issue with a boost leak or something else that needs to be "fixed" before he continues to tune it. This will likely send you on a wild goose chase. Also, he doesn't take well to working with people who know very little and can come off as a pretty big ***hole. So that might frustrate you pretty quick.

In your case, if you are determined to install the mods you have listed, definitely pay the money to have a local tuner get the car dialed in properly for them. You'll thank yourself later.

Also, listen to HinshawWRX and forego the 50/50BOV. It's completely unnecessary.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
Save up and spend the extra money on getting it tuned by Clark in person at Goodspeed. Arrange for Joe to go over the car to certify it has a clean bill of health with no overlooked boost leaks, etc, etc..before the actual tune.
This will save you any headaches, and could probably save you another tune if something has been overlooked.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loyale93 View Post
A dyno is used for one thing and one thing only. Run a load on the vehicle to measure power output. There is very little difference between a dyno tune and a road tune, except that a dyno tune allows more control. For instance, if the tuner wants to keep the car at 3500rpm for some reason at full load, they can on a dyno. That's difficult on the road.

Yes, you can get it tuned or not, and then go to a dyno to get your whp/wtq.

But I have to agree with Scooter there, it sounds like you have a lot more reading to do and learning. Maybe try and find a local group that's doing a dyno tune and hang out there.
Yeah I really have no idea what I am talking about LOL. Just trying to get a basic knowledge so that I can even talk to someone about getting it tuned. I will take your advice and see if I can get Joe at goodspeed to look at my car and see if I can get clark to actually tune my car in person. I want it done right the first time, so ill leave it to the professionals

As for the BPV, I guess it is an inner ricer thing lol I know it doesn't do anything performance wise expect hurt my car. but I like the noise and figured if I can get it tuned correctly it wont hurt my car, especially since its a hybrid. I could use the extra cash to get it tuned by Clark though..

Thanks for pointing me in the right direction.. Hopefully soon I can figure something out
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 05:42 AM   #13
Loyale93
n00b Moderator
Moderator
 
Member#: 91347
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Moscow, Russia
Vehicle:
'13 XV Crosstrek,
1050 Triumph Speed Triple

Default

Have you read Unabombers manifesto? It gives pretty clear descriptions about what tuning is. And how it works.
Loyale93 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 12:57 PM   #14
boost-o-matic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 248364
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2010 WRX 427hp/437tq
Dom 1.5XTR E85 silver

Default

If all you have is a Cobb AP and a crappy BPV...that isn't worth doing a protune on. Get at least a downpipe (catless preferably) and a cat-back exhaust before the protune. 50/50's or full "vent to atmosphere" BPV's sound cool, but the ECU thinks all that air is going back into the car. So, unless you want to lose power...keep your oem unit. If you end up getting a lot higher boost (like with a larger turbo, injectors, etc)...then you can swap out the BPV, but only for a full recirculating one. If you want to hear the BPV, get a cold air intake also. But even at that point, I would simply use the base maps supplied with the access port. But, check the basemaps first, and/or load some fresh ones onto your AP. If they don't make a basemap for catless DP's (which last time I checked they didn't), you'll either need to get it custom tuned, or go catted DP. At stg 2 levels, a catted DP isn't too big of a hinderance to power...you'll be making somewhere around 300/340 hp and tq to the wheels.


=) Good luck, and enjoy the car!

Last edited by boost-o-matic; 03-11-2014 at 01:02 PM.
boost-o-matic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 01:00 PM   #15
sc00ter
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 117767
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Denver, CO
Vehicle:
2011 STI Sedan
DGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Loyale93 View Post
A dyno is used for one thing and one thing only. Run a load on the vehicle to measure power output. There is very little difference between a dyno tune and a road tune, except that a dyno tune allows more control. For instance, if the tuner wants to keep the car at 3500rpm for some reason at full load, they can on a dyno. That's difficult on the road.
...
And a good tuner would/should do a little road tuning after the dyno tune to get everything fully dialed in anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZWagon View Post
Yeah I really have no idea what I am talking about LOL. Just trying to get a basic knowledge so that I can even talk to someone about getting it tuned. I will take your advice and see if I can get Joe at goodspeed to look at my car and see if I can get clark to actually tune my car in person. I want it done right the first time, so ill leave it to the professionals
... There you go!

Quote:
Originally Posted by boost-o-matic View Post
If all you have is a Cobb AP and a crappy BPV...that isn't worth doing a protune on. ...

=) Good luck, and enjoy the car!
His parts list is in the second post.

Last edited by sc00ter; 03-11-2014 at 01:05 PM.
sc00ter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 01:43 PM   #16
boost-o-matic
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 248364
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Vehicle:
2010 WRX 427hp/437tq
Dom 1.5XTR E85 silver

Default

Ok, do a CAI preferably if you are going to change the intake...stay away from short RAM's as they suck in hot air from the engine compartment. Also, a CBE will help...I know the DP is a much larger restriction, but doing a tune without a CBE seems a bit silly to me.
boost-o-matic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:57 PM   #17
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

oh crap I totally forgot to add that I have an Invidia N1 Street catback idk how I forgot that!

and I don't want to go CAI because of the risk of water/mud get sucked into the engine. But with the Cobb Short Ram, I got the box and left the air ram so it gets cold air. Works good for me!

[quote=boost-o-matic;41596564]If all you have is a Cobb AP and a crappy BPV...that isn't worth doing a protune on. Get at least a downpipe (catless preferably) and a cat-back exhaust before the protune. 50/50's or full "vent to atmosphere" BPV's sound cool, but the ECU thinks all that air is going back into the car. So, unless you want to lose power...keep your oem unit. If you end up getting a lot higher boost (like with a larger turbo, injectors, etc)...then you can swap out the BPV, but only for a full recirculating one. If you want to hear the BPV, get a cold air intake also. But even at that point, I would simply use the base maps supplied with the access port. But, check the basemaps first, and/or load some fresh ones onto your AP. If they don't make a basemap for catless DP's (which last time I checked they didn't), you'll either need to get it custom tuned, or go catted DP. At stg 2 levels, a catted DP isn't too big of a hinderance to power...you'll be making somewhere around 300/340 hp and tq to the wheels.


AND to what you said about the 300whp/340tq to the wheels with a "stage 2" 2.0 wrx with a stock turbo and injectors.. Is NOT true. Lol your a bigger noob than me
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2014, 08:58 PM   #18
AZWagon
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 377153
Join Date: Dec 2013
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Glendale, Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
WRB

Default

Thanks though everyone, I got enough information from this thread to arrange getting my car tuned
AZWagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.