Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Other Engine Management

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-05-2005, 10:46 PM   #51
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
673 WHP Element
Tuning Pro Comp Engine

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine
It was bouncing here and there (twitchy) from 0 to 150RPM.
LOL! I know you read Element Tuning Guide 3:

"Crank Triggers Incorrect:

This is rare but if the crank triggers are wrong the Hydra will not see 2 syncs of the crank and therefore will not attempt to start. A tell tale sign of wrong triggers is no RPM reading (monitor with Hydra software) while cranking the car or the tachometer needle bounces."
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 11:10 PM   #52
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

The Hydra read 0-150RPM during cranking.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2005, 11:11 PM   #53
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

I should have been more clear in the 1st post. They both displayed movement/reading. It went up to 150 or so (yes, on the Hydra too), 123ish, 0, and would jump back up to 100-150 here and there.

"The RPMs on dash and in the software blip up around 120RPM or so now and then during cranking." Page 1 of this thread, Saturday 4/2/2005.

This was one of the first things Hydra EMS had me try on the phone.

You'll have to excuse me, too, if I'm not finding your humor in it.

Last edited by jblaine; 04-06-2005 at 12:20 PM.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 02:33 AM   #54
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
673 WHP Element
Tuning Pro Comp Engine

Default

I apologize for your misfortune but I have to find the humor in this as I now know on top of having to write tuning guides, I now have to reprogram even the triggers that are already supposed to be configured to a specific application, and on top all that I'll probably even have to write a basic owners/operations manual which should be provided by the manufacturer.

Just so you understand, I personally program every single ecu and after the program is complete, I reboot the system, upload the map, and save it to a hard drive. This way I know what data is contained and have a record of every single unit that is programmed when it leaves Element Tuning. The outputs were correct when the unit left Element Tuning but I cannot verify the triggers for you as it is something again that I do not have access to overwrite and they appear with "locked" values.

All I can say is, I apologize for the inconvenience but somewhere along the line the base file was corrupted and I wish I could have figured it out sooner for you. Hopefully I can be of more assistance when itís time for you to tune.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 08:53 AM   #55
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

I almost wish I could blame someone, because the battery has just about been destroyed charge-wise at this point and my 800-mile-old oil needs changing... but it does no good in the end.

It was a disappointing experience. I feel a unsettled as a customer because of how this has gone over the last 4 days... But it's over, and armed with the autopsy, nobody else should have to go through this.

Moving forward.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 10:07 AM   #56
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

congrats jeff. i hope your sailing is smoother from this point on!
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:24 AM   #57
offset
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32636
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Dayton, OH
Vehicle:
2004 Impreza STi
Silver/Silver

Default

I got an email from Phil (who has been very helpful keeping up correspondance on my issue) that Hydra would like to take a look at my ECU to try and figure out why the TPS shows zero all the time now.

Well in an interesting turn of events I heard from Aaron (aka Antimullet) who said he started having some minor TPS flutter issues. So he was talking to Andrew at Hydra about it and here is the response he got...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Antimullet
Here's what ANdrew at Hydra said:
It seems that the 04 and 05 Stis have a weak Ign switch output which feeds power to the Hydra ECU. Most cars when running will show anywhere from 12.8-13.8 on the real time battery volts window. However the 04-05 Stis seem to be showing anywhere from 10.2-11.5v. This voltage is way too low for the hydra to run properly and that is why the DBW safety circuit is cutting in. At this time we will like to have all 04-05 Stis units sent back to us for additional hardware and software to fix this problem. We will take care of shipping both ways. Sorry for the inconvenience.
I really hope I am not out of line for posting this as it could start a big ruckus, but it might really be beneficial knowledge (especially for this thread). It seems most of us knew there were a lot of power concerns, but this sounds like it may verify that it isn't just a one or two person problem. Of course I look at this in a positive way since it appears Hydra is going to take charge of the problem and see about getting it corrected.

offset
offset is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:25 AM   #58
n2xlr8n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18960
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bama
Vehicle:
02 WRX MBP
It lives! ; )

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine
I almost wish I could blame someone, because the battery has just about been destroyed charge-wise at this point and my 800-mile-old oil needs changing... but it does no good in the end.

It was a disappointing experience. I feel a unsettled as a customer because of how this has gone over the last 4 days... But it's over, and armed with the autopsy, nobody else should have to go through this.

Moving forward.

....and from one man's point of view, you have handled this episode admirably.

Glad to see you got it running. Now on to the fun part.

S.
n2xlr8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 11:58 AM   #59
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
673 WHP Element
Tuning Pro Comp Engine

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by offset
I got an email from Phil (who has been very helpful keeping up correspondance on my issue) that Hydra would like to take a look at my ECU to try and figure out why the TPS shows zero all the time now.

Well in an interesting turn of events I heard from Aaron (aka Antimullet) who said he started having some minor TPS flutter issues. So he was talking to Andrew at Hydra about it and here is the response he got...



I really hope I am not out of line for posting this as it could start a big ruckus, but it might really be beneficial knowledge (especially for this thread). It seems most of us knew there were a lot of power concerns, but this sounds like it may verify that it isn't just a one or two person problem. Of course I look at this in a positive way since it appears Hydra is going to take charge of the problem and see about getting it corrected.

offset
You're not out of line as this was posted on the Hydra forums already. While it's not a widespread problem as I can count the number of cars on one hand it's a problem that needs to be addressed. I started noticing this on a couple of cars where the voltage would drop below 12v while the car was running so I have been making a habit of asking customers to check their voltage. Hydra EMS flew in one of the engineers to investigate this, identified the problem, and planned a course of action to rectify this as quickly as possible. Even if your particular car does not have this issue it would be wise to have the unit upgraded since it will only cost you a couple of days of downtime.

Iíve already contacted some and will be emailing the rest so the units can be shipped in waves and not all at once to minimize downtime.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com

Last edited by Element Tuning; 04-06-2005 at 01:31 PM.
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2005, 08:39 PM   #60
antimullet
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44193
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Relocated to Raleigh, NC
Vehicle:
2008 WRX STi
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Element Tuning
You're not out of line as this was posted on the Hydra forums already. While it's not a widespread problem as I can count the number of cars on one hand it's a problem that needs to be addressed. I started noticing this on a couple of cars where the voltage would drop below 12v while the car was running so I have been making a habit of asking customers to check their voltage. Hydra EMS flew in one of the engineers to investigate this, identified the problem, and planned a course of action to rectify this as quickly as possible. Even if your particular car does not have this issue it would be wise to have the unit upgraded since it will only cost you a couple of days of downtime.

Iíve already contacted some and will be emailing the rest so the units can be shipped in waves and not all at once to minimize downtime.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com

Hey Guys, just want to give props to Phil at Element for his great customer service on this issue, and to Andrew at Hydra for being so helpful and explaining the exact issue. This is the kind of customer service that makes for a successful business. And no I'm not sponsored by either party and I'm not a buttshark, like I've stated before...
antimullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2005, 01:21 AM   #61
engineerx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42614
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Bullet-Dodging Fwy Los Angeles
Vehicle:
0405 WRX STi/S2000
AspenWhite/Silverstone

Default

yeah - true about Hydra flying one of the engineers all the way from Singapore! I loaned my car to Hydra to test and find what the problem is - as I had that problem. Andrew flew to Los Angeles - picked up my car and drove it back to the Bay Area and drove it back to L.A. a week ago.
So far, it seems a few cars suffer from the low voltage problem- mine is one of them. I wander if there's a way to "hardwire" the Hydra's power supply by means of a relay - circumventing the weak Subaru electrical system that supplies the juice. Hydra's response has been fast to fix this and I really hope the problem, is solved.

Antimullet: I agree, so far Hydra (Phil & Andrew) have been quick to tackle the problem and look for a solution. They mobilized promptly and are working on a fix - and according to Andrew - the problem was found and can be fixed! Their interest in fixing the problem , prompted me to loan my car to Hydra for a week. Well in the end it would benefit me, as well as the STi - Hydra community!

I recently ordered an Optima Yellow top and a H.O. Alternator - just to improve the electrical system and so I won't have to get rid of my radio, amps, alarm, gauges....

Last edited by engineerx; 04-07-2005 at 01:27 AM.
engineerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 10:06 AM   #62
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default Logging?

Does anyone else have trouble logging? I can't get it to work at all.

I go to Tools -> Log data. Window pops up. I click Start and I see values getting recorded. I drive (as little as 10-20 seconds). I pull over and click Stop. I try to save and am told that I need to export to Excel. I select Export to Excel and a progress box opens up, then within 1 second it bombs out with an error.

It has done this every time I have tried -- exact same behavior.

My disk is not full or anything I have posted over in the official Hydra EMS forums, but things are slow over there...
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 11:01 AM   #63
DarthChicken
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9073
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Hillsboro, OR.
Vehicle:
2006 ariel atom
wrb/bbs gold frame

Default

I never hit save, I just hit export to excel, and it just exports. I assume you have excel? It opens up excel for you, and drops it in.. no excel, no work.
DarthChicken is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 11:12 AM   #64
T3RMIN4L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 37434
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Jersey
Default

for those of you guys on a budget or broke from already paying for your hydras theres a free word suite which contains excel called openoffice and can be found at www.openoffice.org Its a great replacement and best of all its free. hth
T3RMIN4L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 11:22 AM   #65
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
673 WHP Element
Tuning Pro Comp Engine

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jblaine
Does anyone else have trouble logging? I can't get it to work at all.

I go to Tools -> Log data. Window pops up. I click Start and I see values getting recorded. I drive (as little as 10-20 seconds). I pull over and click Stop. I try to save and am told that I need to export to Excel. I select Export to Excel and a progress box opens up, then within 1 second it bombs out with an error.

It has done this every time I have tried -- exact same behavior.

My disk is not full or anything I have posted over in the official Hydra EMS forums, but things are slow over there...
The new software 2.14v7 is very processor and RAM intensive to run. I had this problem with my old laptop and no kidding it took 5 minutes to export. I needed a new laptop anyway so I got an inexpesive Dell for about $650 and it exports instantly.

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 11:49 AM   #66
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Phil, it won't even export. It errors out almost instantaneously.

So, unless I am misunderstanding what has been said...

- since "Save" doesn't work, and it apparently "Exports" by loading Excel itself instead of exporting to a .CSV file or something...
- and I don't own Excel...
- and I don't see that there is any way to configure it to load OpenOffice's spreadsheet program...

I have to buy Excel now!?
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 12:09 PM   #67
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by T3RMIN4L
for those of you guys on a budget or broke from already paying for your hydras theres a free word suite which contains excel called openoffice and can be found at www.openoffice.org Its a great replacement and best of all its free. hth
You've used OpenOffice's spreadsheet app with the Hydra's data logging function?
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 12:21 PM   #68
Element Tuning
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 54918
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Gaithersburg, MD
Vehicle:
673 WHP Element
Tuning Pro Comp Engine

Default

I don't even know why there is a save feature as it has never been functional. To export the data log you must have Excel as it lauches the program and then you can see the data logs.

Personally I think it would be best for it to export a data file and I've put my request in

Thanks,
Phil
www.elementtuning.com
Element Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 12:51 PM   #69
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default


Lame.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 01:19 PM   #70
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

So, I was reading the AEM EMS WRX application notes ... ... and I noticed this which might be of use to someone with a Hydra looking for a simple solution to this (I know this has been discussed before):
Quote:
The MAF (mass air flow) sensor can be removed to help eradicate intake air restriction as the base map uses the factory MAP sensor for engine load detection. However, the WRX/92X uses a 5 Volt-Type MAF sensor that, by design, includes the IAT (intake air temperature) sensor as one-piece. If air temperature corrections are needed, AEM has an IAT Sensor Kit (P/N 30-2010), which comes complete with the sensor, wire connector, and an aluminum weld-in bung.
Yes, I know. Blasphemy.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 02:08 PM   #71
ride5000
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 32792
Join Date: Feb 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: lincoln, ri
Vehicle:
2003 GGA MBP
12.9 / 105+

Default

jeff, re: office, how fast is your i-net connection?

ken
ride5000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 02:10 PM   #72
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

768 DSL -- I downloaded OpenOffice to my tuning laptop and am gonna see if the Hydra software has any smarts at all to handle anything but Excel. In fact, I'll run down and try it real quick.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 02:24 PM   #73
engineerx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42614
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Bullet-Dodging Fwy Los Angeles
Vehicle:
0405 WRX STi/S2000
AspenWhite/Silverstone

Default

Yeah - let us know
otherwise - I got a "trial" version of Office XP you can download/burn and "test" then if you like it & it does what you want you can run to your nearest electronics/software store and purchase a license from Bill Gates
But you'll need a cd burner.... and I'll have to wait to get home @ 5pm to upload ....
PM me or post here if you still need it !
engineerx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 02:31 PM   #74
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

Negative
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2005, 02:35 PM   #75
jblaine
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8512
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: St. Pete, FL
Vehicle:
2002 WRX chassis...
stage-infinity.com

Default

I am pretty sure I can get it through work's unlimited license. I will PM one of you if that doesn't work. Thanks guys. This is stupid.

Open file, get filehandle, loop over log data, write it to the frickin file with commas between values, close the filehandle! Software engineering rocket science apparently.
jblaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using the Hydra with the GM AIT Sensor.. sponaugle Other Engine Management 1 11-14-2008 02:24 PM
How does the antilag work on the Hydra? Crazykev Other Engine Management 2 10-15-2005 08:11 PM
How many people are using the Hydra on the STi? Quick Other Engine Management 10 10-03-2005 02:20 AM
The Second Official Unofficial Hydra Thread bboy Other Engine Management 2 06-06-2005 12:39 PM
Hydra Users: Anyone know the Hydra injector mapping? wgknestrick Other Engine Management 12 03-07-2005 05:12 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.