Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday February 9, 2010
Home Forums *** WikiNASIOC *** Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search
Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout

Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-29-2004, 10:39 AM   #1
taino211
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 39347
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Orlando, FL
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
WRB

Default Does this sound like a scam?

I am currently selling my 2001 Toyota Corolla LE on Autotrader (link) and I received an e-mail from a "sales agent" that says he has a client that is interested in purchasing my car and to please notify him if the car is still for sale. I let him know that the car is still for sale and he sent me this response:

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
From: "Nicholas Davis" <nedavisconsult@yahoo.com> Add to Address Book
Subject: Payment,inspection,and shipping details.
To: "Ryan" <xxxxx@yahoo.com>

Ryan,
Thanks for your prompt reply.I am happy that you accepted my client's offer.I received your mail of 27 April 04.I have just consulted my client,and he instructed me to carry on with the transaction.He asked me to relay this payment,and shippment arrangement to you.He said that a cashier cheque of $17,000 will be made out to you.This cheque has been made earlier because of the policy of the company my client had a deal with.This cheque has to be made out in this amount to you,because company policy only allows a refund payment on one cashier cheque,and it was a payment made to my client,and he is not in America now to cash the cheque.So you are required to deduct the cost of your vehicle $10,400 when payment gets to you and refund the balance of $6,600 to my customer through western union money transfer for him to be able to offset shipping cost,and other expenses.
You are to confirm this,and provide your NAME,ADDRESS,and PHONE number for payment to reach you through fedex courier,if you agree in the arrangement.
The agent will come for the inspection,and transportion of the vehicle to a pre arranged place for shipping.This will take place after you have received the payment,and you have send the balance to my client's shipping agent.After the inspection,if the agent is satisfied with the car, you will then sign the papers,and documents,and hand them over to the agent which wil be the end of the transaction.I will be waiting for your reply.
Thanks.
Nicholas.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Has anyone received anything like this before?? Is this a scam?? Seems kind of weird to me and I don't know whether to go through with it or not. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

-Ryan
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
taino211 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:40 AM   #2
F22-Raptor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18311
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnasty
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT LTD
Garnet Red

Default

UUmmmm yes it is a scam.
F22-Raptor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:41 AM   #3
SubEd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 717
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

No, I sold an Integra to this guy. He's above board.
SubEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:43 AM   #4
live311
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 10801
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: I'd kill myself for you. I'd
Vehicle:
kill you for myself.

View Member's FaceBook Profile
Default

Have you been living under a rock?
live311 is offline   Reply With Quote
More Hot Topics on NASIOC...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 04-29-2004, 10:44 AM   #5
pleasenoSTIckershock
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 34997
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Broomall, PA
Vehicle:
99 Miata
10AE

Default

Scam. Any of those pre-approved checks can be written for an amount less than they were approved, just not more.

Run away!
pleasenoSTIckershock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:44 AM   #6
StuBeck
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19546
Join Date: Jun 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Rochester, NY
Vehicle:
2009 VW Rabbit

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by F22-Raptor
UUmmmm yes it is a scam.
StuBeck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:48 AM   #7
docwhorocks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13772
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: -=OT SQUIRREL HERDER=-
Vehicle:
93 legacy wagon

Default

Nope not a scam. I talked to a guy from Nigeria that was putting these flyers on the back of people's cars on my way to collect my lottery winnings I got in an e-mail.
docwhorocks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:50 AM   #8
ZMANNH25rs
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9401
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Be more conscious...
Vehicle:
. Truth is a
pathless land...

Default

Don't people relaize that when you have to ask " Is this a scam" that is probably ****ing is ?
ZMANNH25rs is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:53 AM   #9
chkltcow
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10814
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Stanley, NC
Vehicle:
'02 WRX
97 Miata M

View Member's Myspace Profile
Default

chkltcow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:54 AM   #10
SureGrap
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 6590
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: FBHIC - Mopsy
Vehicle:
Hi
I'm Darth Nihilus

Default

Isn't this the same guy that is giving out the checks from Microsoft. I finally got mine in the mail on Tuesday.
SureGrap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:55 AM   #11
docwhorocks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13772
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: -=OT SQUIRREL HERDER=-
Vehicle:
93 legacy wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SureGrip
Isn't this the same guy that is giving out the checks from Microsoft. I finally got mine in the mail on Tuesday.
You too! I'm using the money to buy some more male enhancement pills. I'm now satisfying my women with 3 more inches.
docwhorocks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 10:56 AM   #12
SubEd
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 717
Join Date: Jan 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

4 1/2 is nothing to brag aboot!
SubEd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 11:00 AM   #13
docwhorocks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13772
Join Date: Dec 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: -=OT SQUIRREL HERDER=-
Vehicle:
93 legacy wagon

Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SubEd
4 1/2 is nothing to brag aboot!
Well why do you think I'm buying more?
docwhorocks is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-29-2004, 02:37 PM   #14
Jessie James
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2072
Join Date: Aug 2000
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Sterling, VA
Default

Go through with it, but cash the check first. (Don't deposit it unless you want to pay a $5 - $20 bounce check processing fee, though.) Let him know you'll send the money once the check clears, but don't tell him up front.

When the check bounces, make him send another, another, etc.

Get pictures.

Isn't there a site for 409s like this like www.409scammer.com?

Total scam, BTW.
Jessie James is online now   Reply With Quote
More Hot Topics on NASIOC...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


Message Board Statistics All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2010, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©1999 - 2010, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.