Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2013, 12:17 AM   #801
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoobieDriver87 View Post
I have a 2013 impreza sport and was wondering if I would be able to simply run my rcas into the back of my head unit or will I need to do something else.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jmhm17 View Post
I have a 2012 base WRX ...
I am looking to amp [the stock speakers] with the stock head unit
...
Also how do you get the signal from the stock HU to the amp?
None of the Subaru OEM HUs (that I'm aware of) have RCA jacks on the back. Your only option to add an amp for the main speakers is to tap a pair of the HU's speaker outputs. If the amp can only accept line-level signals (low level, unamplified), you will also need to add a Line Output Converter (LOC). However, many amps these days can also accept high-level (amplified, speaker-level) signals -- they essentially have a built-in LOC.

For Subarus that use the 20-pin style of power/speaker harness, this harness makes that job much easier.

Some OEM models do have a line-level subwoofer output (but still without any RCA jacks). In many cases, I can provide a way to add an RCA jack.

Use e-mail for all inquiries to me, not PMs. See my homepage link.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2013, 07:51 PM   #802
XenonofArcticus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 370959
Join Date: Oct 2013
Default Is the stock cz624u1 unit able to pair with more than one bluetooth phone?

I have a 2013 USA WRX with non-nav head unit (cz624u1).

I have been able to pair it with my Motorola Droid Maxx, however, I can't pair it with my wife's Nexus 4 without deleting the pairing for my phone. When I go to pair her's, it just says "Memory Full". The "select" feature on the bluetooth menu seems to imply it is designed to support more than one paired phone at a time -- is it?

My head unit has firmware M272511V074 -- is there anything newer?

Even when it does pair with my Droid Maxx, I still have to go into the phone's Bluetooth settings and re-connect (not re-pair, just tap the entry for the car's bluetooth) each time I power off the car. This seems really cumbersome and like it's a flaw or bug.
XenonofArcticus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2013, 12:51 PM   #803
ejicon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2452
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank,California, USA
Vehicle:
08 2.5 WRX
WRB Mica

Default

I have a 2008 WRX with a Non-Navi Clarion HU. Is there a way to find out whether my HU uses the 14-pin connection or the 20-pin connection without taking the dash apart? Thanks.

Also, if I purchase a 14-pin oem subwoofer, and it turns out my radio is a 20-pin unit, do you sell a reverse harness to get the 14-pin Subwoofer to work with a 20-pin HU?

Last and least, Can I purchase an OEM underseat subwoofer from a previous year Subaru and use it in my car with the right harness?

Thanks

Last edited by ejicon; 10-16-2013 at 01:23 PM.
ejicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2013, 02:26 AM   #804
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejicon View Post
I have a 2008 WRX with a Non-Navi Clarion HU. Is there a way to find out whether my HU uses the 14-pin connection or the 20-pin connection without taking the dash apart? Thanks.

Also, if I purchase a 14-pin oem subwoofer, and it turns out my radio is a 20-pin unit, do you sell a reverse harness to get the 14-pin Subwoofer to work with a 20-pin HU?

Last and least, Can I purchase an OEM underseat subwoofer from a previous year Subaru and use it in my car with the right harness?
All non-nav 2008-2014 Impreza/WRX/STi (including your 2008 WRX) use the newer 20-pin power/speaker harness. Likewise for non-nav 2009-2014 Forester.

Most of the Impreza and Forester accessory under-seat subwoofers are the same (the sub unit itself). The main difference is the T-harness (having either 14-pin or 20-pin radio connectors), and the metal mounting brackets (to cope with different models' seat rails).

In early years, there were at least two sizes of subs -- "80 Watt" and "140 Watt" Subaru's numbers), but I think all recent ones are now the larger size.

I can supply harnesses you can use to adapt a T-harness with 14-pin connectors to work with a radio that uses the 20-pin connector.

You can also order a complete OEM T-harness from Subaru parts. Those run about $95 shipped from the discount online vendors. You'll be able to make back much of that by selling the 14-pin T-harness on any of the Subaru forums.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2013, 03:26 PM   #805
ejicon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2452
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank,California, USA
Vehicle:
08 2.5 WRX
WRB Mica

Default

Thanks a lot.
ejicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2013, 07:08 PM   #806
ktownshizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195456
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: mass
Vehicle:
11 sti
black

Default

Hello,

I'm trying to change the loading screen on the USDM 2011 sti OEM navigation. I simply can't stand the Subaru logo on the white background anymore. Can this be done? I have tried transferring jpegs through Bluetooth, but the system won't accept the file. I looked at the contents of the map disks to see if the loading image boots from there. No luck so far.

Has anyone done this in the past?
Any other ideas?

Your help and comments are greatly appreciated!
ktownshizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 02:46 AM   #807
ejicon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2452
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank,California, USA
Vehicle:
08 2.5 WRX
WRB Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ktownshizzle View Post
Hello,

I'm trying to change the loading screen on the USDM 2011 sti OEM navigation. I simply can't stand the Subaru logo on the white background anymore. Can this be done? I have tried transferring jpegs through Bluetooth, but the system won't accept the file. I looked at the contents of the map disks to see if the loading image boots from there. No luck so far.

Has anyone done this in the past?
Any other ideas?

Your help and comments are greatly appreciated!

I think I saw you asking this in a thread on another forum. I was just browsing around during my lunch break

Hope this helps:
ejicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 07:35 AM   #808
kenzo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6422
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: 02WRX, 04STi, 05LGT, 08Spec.B
Vehicle:
2014 WRX Hatch Ltd
Ice Ice, Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ejicon View Post
I think I saw you asking this in a thread on another forum. I was just browsing around during my lunch break

Hope this helps:
How to Change Startup Image - Subaru OEM Navigation - YouTube
I think this video only applies to the newer nav units with an SD slot.
kenzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 09:59 AM   #809
ktownshizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195456
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: mass
Vehicle:
11 sti
black

Default

Thanks for looking but kenzo is correct. The video if only applies to 2012 OEM Units with the flash drive.
ktownshizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 03:30 PM   #810
ejicon
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2452
Join Date: Sep 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Burbank,California, USA
Vehicle:
08 2.5 WRX
WRB Mica

Default

Oh ok. Sorry about that.
ejicon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2013, 11:21 PM   #811
ktownshizzle
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 195456
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: mass
Vehicle:
11 sti
black

Default

no worries I appreciate the effort! This is killing me there has to be a way!!!
ktownshizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2013, 10:35 AM   #812
Bacham
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 371021
Join Date: Oct 2013
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Greensburg, PA
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza wrx 2.0
PSM

Default

2005 subaru wrx, they told me at best buy that I can't get a dash mount kit and a touchscreen head unit for my car? My car has an aftermarket head unit in now, and the dash kit has a hole underneath the head unit for cd's, which is plenty of room for a touchscreen player. Anyone know where I can find one and a dash kit?
Bacham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2013, 10:39 PM   #813
Bram1976
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 372193
Join Date: Oct 2013
Smile awesome thread helped me

Thanks for all the info. This site rocks. I wouldnt have had a easy time figuring out the stock sub that was disconnected in my 00 legacy..my alldata didnt tell me a thing.you guys are awesome..now I gotta search up my 5 speed swap lol
Bram1976 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2013, 09:31 AM   #814
SVXdc
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25837
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Atlanta, GA
Vehicle:
1996 SVX L AWD
Laguna Blue Pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacham View Post
2005 subaru wrx, they told me at best buy that I can't get a dash mount kit and a touchscreen head unit for my car? My car has an aftermarket head unit in now, and the dash kit has a hole underneath the head unit for cd's, which is plenty of room for a touchscreen player. Anyone know where I can find one and a dash kit?
Impreza/WRX/STi up to MY (model year) 2007 don't need any dash kit. The OEM HU is standard single- or double DIN size. Cars with a single DIN HU also get a single DIN pocket (or in some cases, a blank panel).

Just about any aftermarket HU that is single- or double DIN will fit. To install one, you'll simply reuse your OEM metal brackets. If your new HU is single DIN, you can add either an OEM or aftermarket 1-DIN pocket.

Cars up to MY 2007 also use the older-style 14-pin power/speaker harness. Harnesses to fit that are fairly easy to find.
SVXdc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 02:26 PM   #815
grib
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 372572
Join Date: Nov 2013
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, CA
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza
Blue

Default

This info worked great for putting a Pioneer AVIC Navi unit into my 2013 Impreza. This site is fantastic, would not have been able to do the install without your help.
grib is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2013, 10:00 AM   #816
Trustkevin13
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 259184
Join Date: Sep 2010
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kansas
Vehicle:
2008 Subaru WRX
Silver

Default

Alrighty. So I just transplanted a the (2008 WRX, non-nav) OEM Kenwood Nav into my car (thank you so much!) and I just installed the factory underseat sub (plug and play, love it) but now I'm wondering if I could just buy a second underseat sub for the passenger side and just plug into the plug from the back of the unit, if that makes any sense, since it looks possible but would it work? thanks!

And yet again, I pass the subwoofer comments. Yes it would work. Silly of me. 18 credit hours and 40 hours of working is starting to get to me. My bad SVXdc. You already answered it in the thread. Thank you thank you again!

Last edited by Trustkevin13; 11-06-2013 at 03:12 PM.
Trustkevin13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2013, 03:11 PM   #817
Ii24
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 374258
Join Date: Nov 2013
Default

I have a 2013 subaru forester with a cp635u1 part number 86201sc630 and I am trying to go to a fp606us or 86271sc600 witch came out of a 2012 subaru forester and I would like the back up camera harness need your help please thanks you can text me or call me 509 844 6175 can't get a hold of Dave thanks

Sent from my iPad
Ii24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:11 PM   #818
Trooper807
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 374870
Join Date: Nov 2013
Vehicle:
14 Wrx hatch
SWP

Default

Sent two emails since last Monday still waiting on reply SVXdc. I'm ready to pay you money!! Thanksgiving got in my way I think.

Thanks
Trooper807 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2013, 05:01 PM   #819
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trooper807 View Post
Sent two emails since last Monday still waiting on reply SVXdc. I'm ready to pay you money!! Thanksgiving got in my way I think.

Thanks
I'm also waiting, lol!
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 08:34 AM   #820
Hold_Fast
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175837
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Philly Burbs
Vehicle:
#61 ESP

Default

Me 3. Haven't heard anything since Monday either...
Hold_Fast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:08 AM   #821
Str8Boost
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 372741
Join Date: Nov 2013
Vehicle:
2013 Sti 4 - Door

Default

I have a 2013 STi Sedan Sport - tech ( limited ) and I was wondering if I can install aftermarket subs and amp to the factory Nav head unit.

I really just want a little bass because the factory system sucks in my opinion. Lol .... Trunk space isn't important as nothing is really allowed in the car . Lol

I'm seeing some used 12" subs ( infinity, kicker, jbl etc ) w/box and roughly an 800watt amp with capacitor, ranging from $200 - $500.

I think that's really affordable for a decent bump w/ amp and I just wanted to make sure I don't have to do the world of stuff for it to work nicely.

Any info or suggestions would be great. Also if 2 10's would be better I'm seeing that as well.

Thanks in advance guys. My first post
Str8Boost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 11:48 AM   #822
hybridp
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 375239
Join Date: Dec 2013
Vehicle:
2010 Impreza
Charcoal

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trooper807 View Post
Sent two emails since last Monday still waiting on reply SVXdc. I'm ready to pay you money!! Thanksgiving got in my way I think.

Thanks
He must've had one delicious turkey day. Food comas these days can be quite strong.

I await anxiously for a quote/answer on an AUX line/USB port harness for 08-10 non-nav unit
hybridp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 03:32 PM   #823
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8Boost View Post
I have a 2013 STi Sedan Sport - tech ( limited ) and I was wondering if I can install aftermarket subs and amp to the factory Nav head unit.

I really just want a little bass because the factory system sucks in my opinion. Lol .... Trunk space isn't important as nothing is really allowed in the car . Lol

I'm seeing some used 12" subs ( infinity, kicker, jbl etc ) w/box and roughly an 800watt amp with capacitor, ranging from $200 - $500.

I think that's really affordable for a decent bump w/ amp and I just wanted to make sure I don't have to do the world of stuff for it to work nicely.

Any info or suggestions would be great. Also if 2 10's would be better I'm seeing that as well.

Thanks in advance guys. My first post
1) forget the capacitor, it won't do anything good for you, upgrade the charging system/battery instead.
2) google "big 3" upgrade for alternator/battery/ground
3) yes you can install an aftermarket sub to the factory navi, you can get the proper harness adapter from http://ae64.com/Ordering.htm

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 04:54 PM   #824
Str8Boost
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 372741
Join Date: Nov 2013
Vehicle:
2013 Sti 4 - Door

Default

Thanks a lot dude.
Str8Boost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2013, 10:55 PM   #825
AcquaCow
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 36838
Join Date: May 2003
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Reston VA
Vehicle:
2000 RS, 2001 RSTi,
and a 2011 WRX hatch...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Str8Boost View Post
Thanks a lot dude.
Here's a link to get you started:

http://www.paranoidfabrications.com/...rounding-kits/

-- Dave
AcquaCow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stock head unit information -- pin-outs, aux inputs, and more SVXdc Car Audio, Video & Security 50 03-12-2014 11:27 AM
Question about factory head units nsnguyen Car Audio, Video & Security 7 04-30-2004 02:26 PM
Question about using head unit to power back speakers STI-o-MY Car Audio, Video & Security 0 12-01-2003 03:06 PM
question about my head unit creature546 Car Audio, Video & Security 1 10-03-2002 07:48 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.