Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Miscellaneous > Off-Topic

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-31-2006, 11:51 AM   #26
beethoven
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 6654
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Wis-Con-sin
Vehicle:
2006 Odyssey
2006 Prius

Default

You wouldn't even need a ply wood top. Just 3 or 4 ties roped/chained together will work well.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
beethoven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:52 AM   #27
Humpty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105194
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Sharkbait says
Vehicle:
wow you must be
swingin some serious pipe

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
Yea, I dunno about the chain part, but Sourcing some plywood other than the outdoor variety should be easy and those ties are very cheap anyways. No need for stakes since the ground on either side is mud. Basically its a creek running through the middle of a swamp I can just sink the ties in the mud with a 10# sledge. The chain isn't an option as the nearest vegetation for a few hundred yards is wild reeds.

90-100#'s isn't too bad, I can haul those in by myself. Won't exactly be too fun, but I can do it.

Just that way it does not float away and block creek down river, lots of damage that way. If you can even find a good stake to drive in you will be better off. When I lived in Mobile we had to build one for the drainage ditch.

Of course when it rained we would "Surf" 3 ft wide pices of plywood down the drainage ditch...it sucked being poor.
Humpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:53 AM   #28
Humpty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105194
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Sharkbait says
Vehicle:
wow you must be
swingin some serious pipe

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beethoven
You wouldn't even need a ply wood top. Just 3 or 4 ties roped/chained together will work well.

Rather hard to get a wheel barrel across then though. This way it is flat and easy to cross.
Humpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:53 AM   #29
Blknblu
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 29188
Join Date: Nov 2002
Chapter/Region: PRSIC
Location: 2 star hotel
Vehicle:
2000 Ducati M900

Default

Blknblu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:55 AM   #30
SkirtBoy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11056
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Vehicle:
2009 MB CLK 350 CPO
Black on Tan

Default

mind if I ask you kwai?
SkirtBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:00 PM   #31
aod
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7121
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Officer Go F*** Yourself just
Vehicle:
thre atened to kill
me!

Default

Make it out of carbon fiber. Because, well, you know.
aod is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:04 PM   #32
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SkirtBoy
mind if I ask you kwai?
Because there's no other way to my favorite fishing hole.


Hey HG21, don't dis on surfing plywood down the drainage canals. There wasn't alot more to do in the ghetto-ass west bank of New orleans growing up either

I'll see how big the spikes are. I might actually have to use poles and somehow tie them to the bridge... Brackets and 16 penny nails maybe?
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:10 PM   #33
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

FYI...you can make any length spike out of a sharpened piece of rebar.

My dad used sharpened 2 foot lengths as spikes for some of his "natural" construction projects (read:stuff built with tree trunks).
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:13 PM   #34
Humpty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105194
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Sharkbait says
Vehicle:
wow you must be
swingin some serious pipe

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
Because there's no other way to my favorite fishing hole.


Hey HG21, don't dis on surfing plywood down the drainage canals. There wasn't alot more to do in the ghetto-ass west bank of New orleans growing up either

I'll see how big the spikes are. I might actually have to use poles and somehow tie them to the bridge... Brackets and 16 penny nails maybe?

16 penny will not hold much against water, go with the above posters Rebar idea, will work easy and is cheap.


Ghetto surfing was fun, though miss time a cross bridge and you end up eating all kinds of foul water on the other side. Made hurricanes fun though. LOL
Humpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:13 PM   #35
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Ummm sharpened with what? I don't have a grinding wheel available for use.
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:20 PM   #36
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
Ummm sharpened with what? I don't have a grinding wheel available for use.
Then go to a machine shop.

Actually, if you have a drill bit, you don't even need to sharpen.

Just pound it in with a 6 lb mallet.
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:21 PM   #37
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fliz
Then go to a machine shop.

Actually, if you have a drill bit, you don't even need to sharpen.

Just pound it in with a 6 lb mallet.
I do have that. Drill all the way through or no?
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:23 PM   #38
Humpty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105194
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Sharkbait says
Vehicle:
wow you must be
swingin some serious pipe

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
I do have that. Drill all the way through or no?

If you have a lot of shale maybe, most likely just mud and small rocks. Use that big burly body of your and give the stake of love to Mother Earth.
Humpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:25 PM   #39
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Lots of Clay actually. Once you get past about 2 feet of mud, it's all clay.
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:29 PM   #40
fliz
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 30342
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: #blp
Default

I'm confused.

I'm talking about using a piece of rebar to hold the 4 or 5 railroad ties together.

Just drill a hole slightly smaller than the rebar and pound it in. You'd want to drill all the way through.

If you're talking about staking it into the ground to keep it in place in a flood...you'll probably need something bigger and stronger than rebar.
fliz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:29 PM   #41
SkirtBoy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 11056
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Vehicle:
2009 MB CLK 350 CPO
Black on Tan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
Because there's no other way to my favorite fishing hole.
It was a joke.... 'bridge over the river Kwai'.

Funn4y not found
SkirtBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 12:42 PM   #42
Vacca Rabite
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55491
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Dallastown, Pa
Vehicle:
WRX, 1968 Jeep m715,
1976 VW Porsche 914

Default

real rail ties weight between 150 - 250 pounds, depending on how old they are and how much cosmoline they are still soaked with.

The fake "rail road ties" the people use for gardens and such weigh far less.

Erin and I bought 16 8 foot ties to put around our garden. They were used ties, retired for rail service. Some of them were closer to the 250# mark, some were not.

Retired ties will cost about $10 - $20 a tie + shipping. Or feww if you drive around the tracks with a truck.

Zach
Vacca Rabite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:01 PM   #43
sarahslover
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 115008
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Not close enough to FL!!!!!!!
Vehicle:
I'm just Sarah's
punk bitch!!!!

Default

Actual railroad ties are ~150 pounds or better due to the creosote. When I was in the Marines, myself and a squad of 10 Marines moved over 1500 from a rail line. Stout, weather resistant and a bear to move alone, but sling it up on your shoulder for a nice painful work out. 4 will work just fine, just be careful you don't hurt yourself.

FYI, cosmoline is what is used to pack weapons to prevent rust/corrossion
sarahslover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 01:12 PM   #44
Grap
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6590
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Trying to relax like he said
Default

I downloaded this one program a while back that allowed you to engineer bridges and then you could test them under stress to see how they worked.

There was a thread about it a while back.
Grap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:23 PM   #45
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sarahslover
Actual railroad ties are ~150 pounds or better due to the creosote. When I was in the Marines, myself and a squad of 10 Marines moved over 1500 from a rail line. Stout, weather resistant and a bear to move alone, but sling it up on your shoulder for a nice painful work out. 4 will work just fine, just be careful you don't hurt yourself.

FYI, cosmoline is what is used to pack weapons to prevent rust/corrossion
150... Well it's been a while since my time in service, that might be a bit closer to a bear of a workout.

Sorry I'm back from lunch now.
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:25 PM   #46
Humpty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 105194
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Sharkbait says
Vehicle:
wow you must be
swingin some serious pipe

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BhamRoadrunner
150... Well it's been a while since my time in service, that might be a bit closer to a bear of a workout.

Sorry I'm back from lunch now.

I mentioned earlier that with out creosote they are 90 or so. It seems like ashort term thing for you so not sure you need the treated ones. Borro wan ATV and a chain and make the job of getting them there fun
Humpty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 02:27 PM   #47
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hockeyguy21
I mentioned earlier that with out creosote they are 90 or so. It seems like ashort term thing for you so not sure you need the treated ones. Borro wan ATV and a chain and make the job of getting them there fun
Eh, I'm fat, I could use the work out.

Maybe carry them across my shoulders and do my Jesus impersonation
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:51 PM   #48
ak ryda
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 35920
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Kodiak / Wasilla, AK
Vehicle:
2013 Durango RT BT
13 LE Pro RMK, 06 YZ250f

Default

Like others have said, real rail ties weigh 200-250 for 8' creosote treated ties. I just loaded, unloaded, drug, and stacked about 30 this weekend by myself and I gurantee you they are over 200 pounds. Behind my office the railroad took out a couple thousand and replaced them with concrete ties so needless to say a few have migrated elsewhere. It is just about the max that a single person would want to work with and no way in hell would I transport them by throwing them on my shoulders and walking, they are not like throwing the squat bar on your back. They are big and aukward and I would not want to get caught between the ground and the tie if I tripped.

Look for four 10' railroad ties, use whatever decking you want, span the creek and leave it. If they fall in just get pull them back out since they wont float away.
ak ryda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 05:53 PM   #49
BhamRoadrunner
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87294
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Wanna fight ab'at it?
Vehicle:
98 Silver
POS

Default

Hmm.... 250... Sheesh I might have to go try and pick one of these buggers up tonight after work.

Sounds like I might need to work on my squats.
BhamRoadrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 06:13 PM   #50
Fuzz541
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 4739
Join Date: Mar 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Jianxi, China
Default

Jeez. Rail ties are total overkill.

Why bust your ass so much when you can easily get the job done for a few more bucks using 6x6's and some plywood? The wood will last a couple of years if you soak it with poly or Thompson's. Use pilot holes and galvanized spikes for assembly. If you want to make the bridge wide, use 4 12' 6x6's and separate them with block cutoffs from the extra long 12's.

Fuzz541 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OT ti89 users, a little help.. 97whitesi Off-Topic 20 02-15-2006 11:30 PM
EJ22T motor has no bottom bolt for the starter?? A little help please... Fitz Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain 6 10-18-2001 12:27 AM
Pleiades? little help please? :) Motohead1 South East Region Forum 1 09-11-2001 08:53 AM
Emblems, little help please zkb General Forum Archive 5 10-19-2000 09:39 PM
I need a little help, please read! Boom New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 3 05-30-2000 01:26 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:51 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.