Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday September 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2007, 04:52 PM   #326
medamullet
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99442
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Man of Mystery
Vehicle:
2006 SGM STI
I'm on CORN YO!

Default

Thanks fo rhte info I was debating on AP and ECUTEK not the choice is made....
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
medamullet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2007, 10:52 AM   #327
hwy61
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 87950
Join Date: May 2005
Location: B,ham AL
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Gone....Somewhere in MS

Default

I think this has been a very good thread and I think it not only clarified an issue but seems to have spurred a couple of manufacturers into addressing the problem. If EcuTek and Cobb don't address this I see a huge decline in owners purchasing their licenses. Huge to the point of "out of business".

I purchased an EcuTek license and tune for it seems $ 850. The tune was the best ever. Three months later my CEL was on and the engine appears to be running rich at idle. Smooth when first started and cold, 1 min later a little rough, black smoke sometime when revving while stopped. Power 850 injectors. Tried to access the computer for a code. Nothing will work including Subaru readers. The car is out of warranty so no problem there. Still I wanted to see if I could determine what the problem was as there is no tuner here. I will have to go back to Atlanta. My tune was 12 to 18 months ago.

I'm not really dissassapointed in the tune although the license is expensive. The dyno tunes are expensive but there is quite a bit of work done there. There is still plenty of power and the tune seems to be good except for idle.

I expect a retune will set things right and if I understand EcuTek's position and that of licensed tuners correctly, having read the entire thread, I can now have the car reset to stock for no charge but the license is still good as long as I don't write over it. I know nothing about electronic tuning and depend on the experts for advice. BTW, I was not informed that this was a one way deal at the time of the license purchase/tune either. I wonder did my tuners know it. Hwy61

Last edited by hwy61; 03-30-2007 at 10:58 AM.
hwy61 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2007, 05:44 PM   #328
kward03wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 140457
Join Date: Feb 2007
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Bristol, Va
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
1993 Miata Supercharged

Default

Dumb question... nvm

Last edited by kward03wrx; 04-02-2007 at 07:38 PM.
kward03wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 12:40 PM   #329
Remnex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83790
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

As a update for those that are wondering, ECUTek will not allow you to remove the encryption. They say that they have a software update but I have yet to see it actually work. Their support to their smallers dealers is just lackluster at best.
Remnex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2007, 04:19 PM   #330
silentbob343
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57307
Join Date: Mar 2004
Default

hmm first I have heard that it doesn't work.
silentbob343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2007, 10:51 PM   #331
Remnex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83790
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by silentbob343 View Post
hmm first I have heard that it doesn't work.
Well, I am usually the first in many ways. Heh.
Remnex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2007, 10:18 AM   #332
IcemanAus
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 155508
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Western Australia
Vehicle:
1998 VT Commodore
pearl white

Default

maybe EcuTEK is Microsoft in disguise...
IcemanAus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2007, 02:31 AM   #333
dust12
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 13417
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

All I can say is Wow. I wished I had seen this thread a year ago.
dust12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 11:25 AM   #334
bboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 56468
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
04 Improved STI
Dirty White

Default

I'm sick of running into this problem. EcuTek effectively owns all the ECUs that have been tuned with their software. You may own the box, but it's just a paperweight if you want to retune or live far away from a tuner or have disavowed the shop that did the initial tune or the shop has closed it's doors.
bboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-16-2007, 01:27 PM   #335
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

If you have a 32-bit ECU, then you can probably overwrite the ROM with a vanilla Subaru image by using the method described at:
http://www.openecu.org/index.php?title=SHBootMode
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2007, 02:54 AM   #336
Subjugator
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 154403
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Central Ohio
Vehicle:
05 WRX Wagon

Subaru Stars

looks like greed has claimed another victim.....
Opensource projects ftw!!

Last edited by Subjugator; 10-31-2007 at 03:30 AM.
Subjugator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2007, 05:04 PM   #337
benw
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103320
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Oklahoma City
Vehicle:
2005 wingless
aspen white

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben-EcuTeK View Post
Why not get the EasyECU then?
This is what EcuTek does:

I purchase a EcuTek DVD player, but it doesn't come with any movies, and it won't play the movies I already own. So I go to a professional DVD tuner and he makes me a movie. It works great. OK, I want to watch something different, but I can only watch the one movie. Furthermore, my disc tray won't even open. I have to buy the EasyDVD addon from the manufacturer, so my disc tray will open. Now I can switch movies, but only the ones my professional DVD tuner makes. This costs $350 each time I want a movie, and involves driving time, scheduling appointments, etc, and I still only get ONE more movie. Now I can watch two movies, whereas before, I could only watch one! I can't watch anything else, and I can't burn my own DVDs and watch them in the player.

So, I decide to buy a new DVD player. Oh wait, I can't un-hook the EcuTek player! The plugs have transformed into a permanent connection. The only person who can unhook my DVD player is the same professional tuner I get my expensive movies from. And they charge me for it.





My friend down the street got a free DVD player that plays any movie out. He can burn his own movies, watch them, and he can un-hook his player from his TV set whenever he wants.






which one would you choose?
benw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-18-2007, 12:51 AM   #338
beaviscih
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 123362
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Dorothy's House
Vehicle:
'93 Crapcan, '98L
Sold, '04 STi - Sold

Default

Wow, very informative thread. I'm about to embark on a motor build and did not anticipate major changes to my EM (Ecutek / Utec) other than a ECU reflash and re-tuning. The car was originally tuned by Top Speed, but now that I'm in Texas, driving to Ga. for tuning doesn't make sense. My plans were to flash my ECU/PCM back to stock and re-tune using only the Utec. I thought I could simply have the local Subaru dealership reflash the ECU, but that does not look like an option. My next option is to ship the ECU to Top Speed for a re-flash, but I'm not sure that is going to work either. Running a Hydra does not appeal to me for many reasons.

If I cannot relash my ECU back to stock, I know who will not be getting my business in the future.
beaviscih is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:25 PM   #339
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Remnex View Post
As a update for those that are wondering, ECUTek will not allow you to remove the encryption. They say that they have a software update but I have yet to see it actually work. Their support to their smallers dealers is just lackluster at best.
I can only speak from experience that Ecutek support is VERY top notch

I have been a dealer for several years and have had amazing support from Ecutek

Al
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:27 PM   #340
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by beaviscih View Post
Wow, very informative thread. I'm about to embark on a motor build and did not anticipate major changes to my EM (Ecutek / Utec) other than a ECU reflash and re-tuning. The car was originally tuned by Top Speed, but now that I'm in Texas, driving to Ga. for tuning doesn't make sense. My plans were to flash my ECU/PCM back to stock and re-tune using only the Utec. I thought I could simply have the local Subaru dealership reflash the ECU, but that does not look like an option. My next option is to ship the ECU to Top Speed for a re-flash, but I'm not sure that is going to work either. Running a Hydra does not appeal to me for many reasons.

If I cannot relash my ECU back to stock, I know who will not be getting my business in the future.
I dont understand why you would need to change the settings in the ecu itself to tune with your utec ? Perhaps you can explain that to me. I would think you would be far better off with the ecutek tuned ecu under the utec as the avcs table, DBW throttle and other aspects the UTEC can not tune are addressed.

Al
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:36 PM   #341
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsachs View Post
Wow. So ecutek has not only locked cobb, open ecu, etc out, but they have also chosen to lock themselves out. So if I get my car ecutek'd, then move, and want a new tuner to make some minor changes to the previous tune, they will have to start from scratch on the tune, as they won't be able to see what was previously done. This is probably the single stupidest thing from the end-user's point of view.
Basically it means that _any_ retune (with new tuner) will be starting from
scratch. This is even true if it is the same tuner but they have had a computer issue and lost their saved file for you(and that _never_ happens, right?). This is rediculous. I can't see why _any_ tuner would be selling ecutek at this point. I (as an enduser) sure wouldn't touch this crap at any cost.

The reason why I use Ecutek is becuase it is a superior tuning tool and has better tuning features.

Most of my customers do not do self tuning and the ecu being locked is no issue for them. When and if they want to self tune we simply flash it back to stock for them.

Also - Ecutek invests in R & D and support for new ecus and applications such as the new Flash Cna shich supports '08 WRX and '07 LGT.

Al
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:41 PM   #342
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gregsachs View Post
so? if the time is $150/hour, and my tuner has to spend an extra 2-3 hours to get back to where I was, that is quickly nearly the cost of the license that I am spending due to this, or money that could be spent on (for example) an AP and a protuner. There are _so_ many instances where this will cost _us_, the end user money, _AND_ cost the professional tuner time, money, _AND_ goodwill that it is just insane to do this. Again, I can not understand why a tuner would want to be associated with this crap. If someone doesn't want to use the open stuff(understandable, from a pro point of view), that is fine. buy PT or use the ap+st solution. Both of those have undo options available _now_. Also, as an enduser, consider this: with open ecu and AP you can _easily, _now_, recover your investment or at least 90% of it. With ecutek and an immobilized car, you cannot do this, and are unlikely to be able do so. That license money is thrown away if you want to unmod your car. (yes, at some point there _may_ be a box to do this from ecutek. Will probably be released after utec sti firmware).
Simply put Ecutek costs less than AP

While AP does have additional features and benefits by the time you pay for the AP and the pro tune it is more costly than Ecutek

Many of my customers who just want to get the car tuned and dont need the features of AP (hand held box and ability to change maps) will choose ecutek to save money

When I do a tune I explain all the features / benefits / costs of each system to the customer and allow them to choose the application which they prefer

Al
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 06:59 PM   #343
DoctorNick
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 7022
Join Date: May 2001
Vehicle:
heh, Debbie Parker
is my ride

Default

Do you also explain to people that they will be locked out of the ecu and they will need to pay you to bring it back to stock also?
DoctorNick is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 07:04 PM   #344
Defiant Autospeed
Vendor
 
Member#: 155450
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Austin/Beverly 2 of us now!
Vehicle:
2007 FXT
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyno Flash View Post
I would think you would be far better off with the ecutek tuned ecu under the utec as the avcs table, DBW throttle and other aspects the UTEC can not tune are addressed.

Al

dead balls on accurate correct. reflash under a utec FTW. Awesome setup.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dyno Flash View Post
Simply put Ecutek costs less than AP
Al
Isnt Ecutek $700? Thats what an AP will(does) cost. (I honestly dont know. Last time I looked at Ecutek was like 4 years ago and it was 700 just for the liscense and basic OTS reflash)
Or are you saying that because you include the tune in what you charge its cheaper than an AP+ tune? (looks like that is what you are saying, if so, that makes sense)

I ask because I get people asking me about Ecutek once in a while, and I only really have info from back when Shiv was the only game in town (usa I mean)
Defiant Autospeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2007, 07:12 PM   #345
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DoctorNick View Post
Do you also explain to people that they will be locked out of the ecu and they will need to pay you to bring it back to stock also?
Yes I do

I also unlock all Ecutek ecus - (even ones flashed by another Ecutek dealer) FREE of charge

In three years and a LOT of ecus tuned with Ecutek I have had only 1 or 2 people asking to have Ecutek removed

on the other hand - I remove other tuning products (no names) almost every week and install Ecutek

The bottom line is that Ecutek is a great product and the best way to flash a Subaru ecu that is why I highly recomend it
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 07:06 AM   #346
voice from a hell
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165365
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

Ecutek very greedy company
Guys from Ecutek are struggling only for the market
They improve the protection to earn a lot of money
Any technical novelties for tuning has not been made lately
Besides they have included special secret function in their soft and it regularly loses their USB interface
When you address to them and ask "what is it?" - they answer "it is a bug, don't worry, you should write down the new version and all will be ок"
Every new version of their soft will be to change memory in their interface and it includes more protection
Thus they constantly hold their dealers on a short cord
It works only for a lot of money

It isn't tuning! It's a big deceit for very big money
voice from a hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:51 PM   #347
kaos200
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 2692
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SoCal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voice from a hell View Post
Ecutek very greedy company
Guys from Ecutek are struggling only for the market
They improve the protection to earn a lot of money
Any technical novelties for tuning has not been made lately
Besides they have included special secret function in their soft and it regularly loses their USB interface
When you address to them and ask "what is it?" - they answer "it is a bug, don't worry, you should write down the new version and all will be ок"
Every new version of their soft will be to change memory in their interface and it includes more protection
Thus they constantly hold their dealers on a short cord
It works only for a lot of money

It isn't tuning! It's a big deceit for very big money
Engrish? Although I kind of get what your saying, the fact that this is your ONE post on this club makes it somewhat... strange, no?

And what do you mean by "it isn't tuning"?
What else is it then? They provide some of the best software to modify our ecu's. They have a business to do it, and are protecting that business and its investments. Some understand this, others do not. Consumers can chose whatever they want, it's called free will. If you don't like it.... oh well.
kaos200 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2007, 02:27 PM   #348
voice from a hell
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 165365
Join Date: Nov 2007
Default

You have bought their soft - it is your property after you have paid money
Ecutek don't speak nothing about limited period of validity

The product feigns a technical error and forces you to receive updating
when you receive a new product, you see nothing except new protection

They force you to change their soft and they want to check up every step of your work

It is a deceit

if you want i may put details of rom in their interfaces
voice from a hell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:56 PM   #349
irascible
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 159454
Join Date: Sep 2007
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa
Vehicle:
2006 WRX CGM
6SPD Cornfed GT30R

Default

My philosophy on business decisions such as the one EcuTek made, which started this thread.

Facts:

1. Software, no matter it's purpose or design is is the #1 thing pirated and/or hacked for trade, re-sale or both.
2. All software companies implement security measures trying to circumvent this widely known problem.
3. NO software for any platform implements code into a system that renders it's competitors from being used. Doing so is unlawful.

Despite the facts, the major flaw with this decision is they obviously overlooked the impact it would have on there customers and company as a whole. I don't think it would be fair to say they just didn't care, as they do seem to have a good reputation for customer service. However, they should have found an alternative measure(s)... even if no other options were available to them, this should have NEVER been used.

As an '06 owner, this thread helped me decide against EcuTek from other options available without any doubt. I'm sure i'm not the first...

As a business owner, you have to ask youself before making such bold decisions.... Is it worth it? I'm sure by now, you know the answer to that.

Good luck
irascible is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:59 PM   #350
Dyno Flash
Vendor
 
Member#: 73568
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Stamford, CT
Vehicle:
'05 STI 11.1 @ 127
03 Evo 8 9.5 @ 149

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by voice from a hell View Post
You have bought their soft - it is your property after you have paid money
Ecutek don't speak nothing about limited period of validity

The product feigns a technical error and forces you to receive updating
when you receive a new product, you see nothing except new protection

They force you to change their soft and they want to check up every step of your work

It is a deceit

if you want i may put details of rom in their interfaces

I have been using Ecutek for many years with no such problems
Dyno Flash is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Do not tailgate an RV towing an SUV. cwareing Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 07-09-2007 06:43 PM
Reminder: Do not purchase Maxtor drives. aod Off-Topic 81 03-01-2007 07:25 PM
60mphn4 - If this is your liscense plate, read this linux>windows Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 19 10-10-2005 05:20 PM
Thinking about an APS catback for your STI? Read this first. WRXIN Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 11 02-24-2004 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.