Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 02:00 PM   #376
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

I've just been informed by my mapper that ECUTek cannot return my ECU(Flash 2002) JDM STI SPec C to a pre-ecutek state, this has locked me out of my ECU. Rediculous!!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 02:23 PM   #377
Daluv
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 159325
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

ghey

but you can try the easyEcu trick:

All you need a someone with a easyECU and a stock rom file. Flash it over and your done.

Use Cobb or open soruce.

Last edited by Daluv; 12-03-2008 at 02:29 PM.
Daluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 03:35 PM   #378
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

What's easyECU? I'm in the UK btw. I'm fuming, just contacted ECUTek directly.
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 03:42 PM   #379
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

EasyECU allows you to switch maps. I have it myself.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2008, 05:39 PM   #380
Manutd06
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 193616
Join Date: Nov 2008
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: queens, NY
Vehicle:
06 WRB
WRX

Default

woww guys, im like freakin worried as hell now.......my tuner at the dealership just did stage II on my car and guess what, he used ecutek for the tuning (both my stage I & II). so should I be having heart attacks just about now. one thing i know for sure, if anything happens and i need to go bak to stock, he'll do watever that needs to be done. thats the reason im going thru a dealership to begin with instead of a private shop.
Manutd06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 07:16 PM   #381
Vicious LSD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103539
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2005 WRX FP 18G!
MSPT Tuned!

Default

I was also told from my tuner that it is not 100% that you can flash your car to stock and be unlocked. There has to be some legal way to deal with this! No notice to the customer or tuners.
Vicious LSD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2008, 10:49 PM   #382
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

I read somewhere that Cobb AP can now clear ECUTEK licence (lock) codes from the ecu. All you need is the latest AP software, marry the AP to your ECUTEK'd car, flash a stock rom with the AP, then unmarry the AP.

Once the AP is unmarried, you can then proceed to flash your own tunes using ECUFlash.

This is what I read on the openecu forums.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 01:40 PM   #383
Vicious LSD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103539
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2005 WRX FP 18G!
MSPT Tuned!

Default

How would that work if ECUTek alters the handshake protocol? I hooked my car up the ecuflash and it isnt even able to connect to the ecu.
Vicious LSD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:39 PM   #384
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

FYI Cobb does the same thing though. However you can revert it.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:43 PM   #385
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

I'm getting no where with ECUTek, looks like I'm having to shell out for a new ECU. You think I'd get anywhere if I sent them an invoice for the new ECU??
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:45 PM   #386
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

Not at all.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 02:59 PM   #387
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

Yip.

On a side issue, I didn't realise that ECUFlash/Romraider were hacked versions of the ECUTek software.
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 04:17 PM   #388
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by paul_p1 View Post
On a side issue, I didn't realise that ECUFlash/Romraider were hacked versions of the ECUTek software.
They are not.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 04:27 PM   #389
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by LastResort View Post
They are not.
Originally they were. Now they aren't.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2008, 05:22 PM   #390
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolRex View Post
Originally they were. Now they aren't.
The XMLWrite application was based off(contained) of hacked EcuTek information, but EcuFlash only used those files.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2009, 07:25 PM   #391
Vicious LSD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103539
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2005 WRX FP 18G!
MSPT Tuned!

Default

Has anyone gotten a solution to get the ecutek ecu opened or flashed back to stock and it worked?
Vicious LSD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 03:01 AM   #392
06STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 97561
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GT30R Cosie-Hybrid
Vehicle:
2006 Widebody
WRB/Carbon/Primer

Default

Find someone local with ecutek deltadash. Get your old tuner to gve you your stock rom file back. Then take the Delta Dash and flash your ecu back to stock. Done Deal.....

Hell. I have unflashed ecutek, tuned my car with rom raider, Then just flashed ecutek back for another shop to retune my car on the dyno.

You can flash ecutek off. My car didnt have any problems once I flashed it off with the stock rom file.
06STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 10:44 AM   #393
Vicious LSD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103539
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2005 WRX FP 18G!
MSPT Tuned!

Default

what if it gets flashed to stock via ecutek tuner? I was told it may be a 50/50 chance
Vicious LSD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 11:17 AM   #394
Zumble
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34860
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2005 Forester CGM

Default

Which dealership? North Coast? Metric?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Manutd06 View Post
woww guys, im like freakin worried as hell now.......my tuner at the dealership just did stage II on my car and guess what, he used ecutek for the tuning (both my stage I & II). so should I be having heart attacks just about now. one thing i know for sure, if anything happens and i need to go bak to stock, he'll do watever that needs to be done. thats the reason im going thru a dealership to begin with instead of a private shop.
Zumble is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2009, 02:29 PM   #395
06STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 97561
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GT30R Cosie-Hybrid
Vehicle:
2006 Widebody
WRB/Carbon/Primer

Default

Its simple. Go to the Ecutek dealer demand its removed. They can remove it. They drag it out and play games with you just to keep you as a customer.

It can be removed.. I have removed and reinstalled mine a few times. Using differant tuning software between. If they "cant" removed it. And you signed nothing before installing or tuning stating that ecutek has ownership over your ecu. Take them to court. They will lose. Everytime.
06STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2009, 05:58 PM   #396
Vicious LSD
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103539
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Brooklyn
Vehicle:
2005 WRX FP 18G!
MSPT Tuned!

Default

any updates on a ecutek crack?
Vicious LSD is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2009, 08:06 AM   #397
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

Just buy another ECU. Used they are cheap.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 12:25 PM   #398
Benchmark Tuning
Former Vendor
 
Member#: 154444
Join Date: Jul 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: 9120 Medill Ave
Vehicle:
2008 08 STi, Typhoon
06 STi, 847-960-8676

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vicious LSD View Post
any updates on a ecutek crack?
any EcuTek dealers should unlock it for you no problem. I know al (DynoFlash) does it if you send him the ECU, there are other places as well that tune them that shouldn't have any problem unlocking the ECU for you
Benchmark Tuning is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-07-2009, 02:02 PM   #399
CoolRex
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 85813
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Vehicle:
2002 E46 M3
2006 RC51

Default

Contact siegelracing@gmail.com and state your year and make and let him know exactly what you are wanting. If he can do it he will let you know.
CoolRex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 08:49 AM   #400
RR-racing
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 41632
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Israel
Vehicle:
2004 Spec C
WRC blue

Default

I realize that people are upset about not being able to reflash their ECU's with another source after its been Ecutek flashed... but you must understand Ecutek is protecting their intelectual property in a sense (although I feel there should be a work around for a dealer to take an ECU back to stock).

I've spoken to Ecutek several times about Open Source tuning. I am personally torn both ways. Their arguement are as follows:

(1) Ecutek spends significant time development the maps and software.

(2) Open Source is flat out ripping and stealing their maps and software. They are not doing the work themselves.

I also see comments on this and other forums blatantly discussing ripping of Ecutek software, which quite frankly are quite troubling that people quite openly, see absolutely nothing wrong with doing that.

On the other hand, I must say that I do not have a whole lot of experience with these ROM editors to say if they are simply editors that allow you to do what you want, or they really are blatant rips of Ecutek software/maps.

Rafi
RR-racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Do not tailgate an RV towing an SUV. cwareing Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 07-09-2007 06:43 PM
Reminder: Do not purchase Maxtor drives. aod Off-Topic 81 03-01-2007 07:25 PM
60mphn4 - If this is your liscense plate, read this linux>windows Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 19 10-10-2005 05:20 PM
Thinking about an APS catback for your STI? Read this first. WRXIN Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 11 02-24-2004 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.