Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-23-2009, 09:46 AM   #401
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RR-racing View Post
(2) Open Source is flat out ripping and stealing their maps and software. They are not doing the work themselves.
Pure BS. No one in the open source community gives two craps about Ecutek maps or software. Nor is there any discussion about ripping off Ecutek. On the RomRaider site, we don't allow any commercial maps to be posted - Cobb, Ecutek, nor any discussion about hacking commercial software and the like - nothing even remotely close to it is tolerated. There have been many developments (such as new ECU tables and logger parameter support added) that don't even exist in the Cobb and Ecutek software and some of these that were later added to the commercial software at the request of pro-tuners who tune with OS and commercial. There are detailed discussions on the RomRaider site about ECU logic for which I've never seen anything remotely close presented by any commercial company. I have spent hundreds and hundreds of hours reverse engineering the factory ECU for RomRaider, so for someone who doesn't have the first clue what they are talking about to say we are not doing the work ourselves, pisses me off.

Back in 2006 or so, some dude not associated with the ROM editor development did hack Ecutek's table definitions and created a utility called xmlwrite which generated definitions based on Ecutek's table defs for each of the major ROM editors. These definitions were never included in any RomRaider or Ecuflash release, but the utility was used early on by users when there was little support. It was not known at the time how the definitions were created (or from where). However, it quickly became irrelevant as people began to work on the disassembly of the factory ROMs and the RomRaider/Ecuflash defs improved. And after it became apparent where the table definitions had come from and that it wasn't "ethical" to have this discussed or files of this nature posted at the RomRaider forums, we removed all traces of xmlwrite generated defs posted by users and anything remotely related to xmlwrite. That was back in 2006 or so. That is what Ecutek is clinging to when they make these claims about OS which are false. What they are correct about is that a program called Ecuedit, which is not open source and not associated with any of the open source editors or developers, is using xmlwrite definitions in their product to this day. The dude that creates Ecuedit lives in Russia and has a habit of lifting stuff from other software including logger descriptions lifted verbatim from Cobb's manual and even logger addresses straight from RomRaider. Ecutek tries to lump in Ecuedit with the OS editors (RomRaider/Ecuflash), for, I can only imagine, the purpose of trying to give OS a bad name since they lost a lot of market share in the U.S.

I have no problem with Ecutek "locking" their tunes. Cobb recently did the same thing. I think that is a good thing. By all means, protect it. But, even if they were unlocked, no one in the OS community is going to bother, nor care, about Cobb/Ecutek software/maps/whatever.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2009, 02:20 PM   #402
06STi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 97561
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: GT30R Cosie-Hybrid
Vehicle:
2006 Widebody
WRB/Carbon/Primer

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RR-racing View Post
I realize that people are upset about not being able to reflash their ECU's with another source after its been Ecutek flashed... but you must understand Ecutek is protecting their intelectual property in a sense (although I feel there should be a work around for a dealer to take an ECU back to stock).

I've spoken to Ecutek several times about Open Source tuning. I am personally torn both ways. Their arguement are as follows:

(1) Ecutek spends significant time development the maps and software.

(2) Open Source is flat out ripping and stealing their maps and software. They are not doing the work themselves.

I also see comments on this and other forums blatantly discussing ripping of Ecutek software, which quite frankly are quite troubling that people quite openly, see absolutely nothing wrong with doing that.

On the other hand, I must say that I do not have a whole lot of experience with these ROM editors to say if they are simply editors that allow you to do what you want, or they really are blatant rips of Ecutek software/maps.

Rafi
Wow.. what a bunch of crap..

The only thing people talk about or even brag about on any forums is when they have **** canned Cobb or Ecutek off their own ecu. Other then that. Get real man. I have now seen Cobb, Ecutek, Romraider, Ecuedit,

1# Romraider would be number one if it had real time adjustment. Great surport. Great function, You can never be locked out.

2# Cobb would be second if Romraider had real time stuff. Locks you out but has race tuner software. Good surport. Tuners can have ego's

3# Ecuedit next as its close to romraider but little harder to install configure and get up to speed. ok surport, Not for simple people.

4# Ecutek Last... Old program, No real time anything, No real user adjustments for DBW cars. (oh...idle and add + 5* timing at idle) Ecutek surport sucks. Tuners have ego's


So why would anyone want to copy, hack, or do anything with a 4th place poorly surported program? Why would you..? I would not even bother knowing that Romraider is free......
06STi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2009, 09:47 AM   #403
jim1969
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34877
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT sedan

Default

EcuTek's support leaves much to be desired that is for sure.
jim1969 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2009, 04:48 PM   #404
mikeis300
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 149526
Join Date: May 2007
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: portland metro area
Vehicle:
2002 aps dr65 hybrid
9.1x1 built block/heads

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 06STi View Post
Wow.. what a bunch of crap..

The only thing people talk about or even brag about on any forums is when they have **** canned Cobb or Ecutek off their own ecu. Other then that. Get real man. I have now seen Cobb, Ecutek, Romraider, Ecuedit,

1# Romraider would be number one if it had real time adjustment. Great surport. Great function, You can never be locked out.

2# Cobb would be second if Romraider had real time stuff. Locks you out but has race tuner software. Good surport. Tuners can have ego's

3# Ecuedit next as its close to romraider but little harder to install configure and get up to speed. ok surport, Not for simple people.

4# Ecutek Last... Old program, No real time anything, No real user adjustments for DBW cars. (oh...idle and add + 5* timing at idle) Ecutek surport sucks. Tuners have ego's


So why would anyone want to copy, hack, or do anything with a 4th place poorly surported program? Why would you..? I would not even bother knowing that Romraider is free......
ecutek only believes that people are ripping their code because open source is always one step ahead of them, and if ecutek comes out with a option that isn't available via open source its not long before someone figures out how to replicate it.

here's a thought. how many programs does ecutek have developing software? how people have helped contribute to open source programs.
i don't have exact figures for either value, but i would guess that open source has had more programers contributing code than ecutek
mikeis300 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2009, 01:07 PM   #405
bluetaxi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 170504
Join Date: Jan 2008
Chapter/Region: International
Vehicle:
2003 STI ver 8 JDM

Default

from what I read now in the USA the easyecu can flash the ecu(USDM) back to the real stock rom, where as in the rest of the world seem not an easy way yet?????.... ie to the JDM's ECU. 'coz a friend 2003 JDM STI, he ask the dealer to reflash back to stock rom, but he still cannot get it read or reflash by other OS tuning, So & the end he get a used stock ECU....... damn!!

So up to date hv any 1 try to use the easyecu to reflash the ECUtek JDM/EDM ECU?


offtopic:
BTW, I also seem/read some JDM ECUs from Japan, the Japan tunners don't even care to lockout the ECUs. Read all u want.... hehe...
bluetaxi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2009, 02:25 PM   #406
subydude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80649
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Columbia, SC
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 Auto-X RSTi
What's A Head Gasket?

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bluetaxi View Post
from what I read now in the USA the easyecu can flash the ecu(USDM) back to the real stock rom, where as in the rest of the world seem not an easy way yet?????.... ie to the JDM's ECU. 'coz a friend 2003 JDM STI, he ask the dealer to reflash back to stock rom, but he still cannot get it read or reflash by other OS tuning, So & the end he get a used stock ECU....... damn!!

So up to date hv any 1 try to use the easyecu to reflash the ECUtek JDM/EDM ECU?


offtopic:
BTW, I also seem/read some JDM ECUs from Japan, the Japan tunners don't even care to lockout the ECUs. Read all u want.... hehe...

Bump for more info on this. I'm pretty much to the point of either installing a utec over top of my ecutek tuned ecu, or just finding another ecu to opensource tune. Anyone care to comment on other options?
subydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2009, 06:10 PM   #407
OHARA
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 71615
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subydude View Post
Bump for more info on this. I'm pretty much to the point of either installing a utec over top of my ecutek tuned ecu, or just finding another ecu to opensource tune. Anyone care to comment on other options?
I'm in the same boat. Seems Like once you've installed Ecutek your screwed...
OHARA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2009, 03:26 PM   #408
subydude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80649
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Columbia, SC
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 Auto-X RSTi
What's A Head Gasket?

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OHARA View Post
I'm in the same boat. Seems Like once you've installed Ecutek your screwed...
I'm hoping to find out sooner or later about the rumor that ecutek didn't lock the 16 bit ECU's. I don't have a tactrix cable, but as soon as I get a chance to borrow one I'll see if it's true or not.
subydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:51 AM   #409
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Here is the only way to get your ECU unlocked that works (AFAIK). If you live in the USA and your car is supported by Cobb's AP then all you need to do is marry up the AP to your ECU, then unmarry the AP again.

It is that simple.

Once you unmarry it, the AP will load the stock, unmodded, ROM for your ECU and you will then be able to read/write with ECUFlash.

Leslie.


P.S. I was told that you can also send your ECU off to ECUTEK HQ and they can remove the licence from it and unlock it, but I have not read one post where a NASIOC member hyas done this or this has worked.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2009, 12:51 AM   #410
wrxsti.l
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 156973
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: International
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Vehicle:
2002 ADM WRX STi
STi Black/Blue

Default

Here is the only way to get your ECU unlocked that works (AFAIK).

Basically Cobb and ECUTEK have come to some type of agreement where either can unlock the ECU from the other company's licence/lockout system. So if you live in the USA and/or your car is supported by Cobb's AP then all you need to do is marry up the AP to your ECU, then unmarry the AP again. Once you unmarry it, the AP will load the stock, unmodded, ROM for your ECU and you will then be able to read/write with ECUFlash.

It is that simple.

For everyone else who has an ECU not suppoirted by the AP, you're screwed and will have to source an unlocked replacement ECU from your car. (Edit: I was told that you can also send your ECU off to ECUTEK HQ and they can remove the licence from it and unlock it, but I have not read one post where a NASIOC member hyas done this or this has worked).

Leslie.
wrxsti.l is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2009, 01:40 PM   #411
subydude
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80649
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Columbia, SC
Vehicle:
2000 2.5 Auto-X RSTi
What's A Head Gasket?

Default

There are also rumors of using easyecu to unlock the ecu by flashing the stock ROM onto it. I'm hoping to test my theory of them not locking the 16 bit ECU's tomorrow. If that doesn't work I might try asking them to unlock my ECU.
subydude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2009, 06:21 PM   #412
paul_p1
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77372
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Scotland
Vehicle:
2005 Spec C
WR Blue

Default

I know for a fact that a certain well known ECU flashing/editing software will read and write to ECUTek locked ECU's. PM me for details, this doesn't have to be an issue to ECUTek users anymore, 16-bit ones at least.

Last edited by paul_p1; 09-14-2009 at 12:50 PM.
paul_p1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:59 AM   #413
jmcsnw
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 198775
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

I have an 02 WRX with an ecutek tune. I'm having my engine rebuilt, so I need to get it retuned. The tuner I want to take it to doesn't support ecutek, and he said that he is locked out of my car. Is there a way for me to completely remove ecutek to allow him to tune my car? Do I have to buy a new/used, unmolested ECU and put that in?
jmcsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 10:36 AM   #414
Karl S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30871
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Well, you can, as you stated, buy another “unmolested” ecu, or take it to an ecutek tuner, and he can remove the “lock” from your ecu, but he will put on a “stock” map. So you will lose your tune, and he will probably charge you to do it. Or you can find someone who knows how to remove the lock.
But honestly, the easiest and cheapest way is to buy a used WRX ecu.
Karl S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 11:03 AM   #415
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

car-part.com is a good placed to find ECUs. i get most of mine there.
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 05:49 PM   #416
jmcsnw
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 198775
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

My understanding is that even the original tuner cannot completely remove the ecutek because the 02 WRX had a 16 bit ECU. An ecutek tuner can flash it back to stock, but the Ecutek will still remain, and I won't be able to switch to a different tuning program. Is this true?
jmcsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 06:48 PM   #417
Karl S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30871
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

No, it is not true**. Removing the "lock" applies to 16 or 32 bit ecu. Once it is flashed back to "stock" (unlocked) you can flash it with any other program (OS, COBB…etc.)
However the ecutek license** still remains on the ecu, and you can always go back to ecutek tuning without paying for the license** again. but going back will lock it again.

** this is based on my knowledge as of 1+ years ago. They might of changed things since then.

But these days, it makes much more sense to use OS, as it will do all of and then some more than ecutek does. Without paying $$$$$ for ecutek license. But remember, it is the tuner and his knowledge and experience with his choice of tuning software, and not the software alone that is the critical “factor” in tuning.
Karl S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 05:59 AM   #418
jmcsnw
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 198775
Join Date: Dec 2008
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

I emailed Ben Dagenais at Ecutek looking for solutions and he responded, "it is not possible to remove the license completely."

I emailed him back asking for clarification, and he responded, "as I said in my previous e-mail, it is NOT possible to be removed."

I guess this could be a misunderstanding. In other words, maybe the license can't be removed, but I could switch to a different program. If so, he didn't make it clear and certainly didn't tell me how.
jmcsnw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2010, 09:18 PM   #419
Karl S.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 30871
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Toronto, Canada
Default

Of course that is what he will tell you.... after all he works for them. They are just trying to sway people to stay and use the stuff they sell.
If you have the “lock” removed, (like I said in my previous post) ecutek will put a “stock” rom on your ecu, (and removing your tune in the process) and it will “unlock it”, but it will retain the ecutek license.
But "not removing the license" and you being able to tune /flash the ecu with something else is a totally different thing. Its not the license that is preventing you from flashing the ecu.
Karl S. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2011, 11:04 AM   #420
Vlad
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Powered by Sti V9 Spec C

Default

I am resurecting this tread for the following reason:

Due to incomplete information couple years ago about Ecutek licenses, Ecutek flashed ECu's don't re-sell for the same value as those that don't have a license.
I will soon have a Used ECu that I want to sell.
I am looking for an update about the current status of Ecutek "unlocking".

If you don't really need to completely remove the license, just have an Ecutek dealer flash back to stock and the Open source works, then I can have that done.

Did the Open Source community progress in the time that has passed, to where at this point it really does not matter anymore that there is an Ecutek license on an Ecu and an Open Source user will have no problem flashing their map on it?
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2011, 04:55 PM   #421
kgb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1366
Join Date: Apr 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
2000 RS-T -> RSTi-8
Blue Ridge Pearl

Default

Figure I should post here and see if it leads anywhere:

JDM Ver8 swap, tried EcuFlash and gets a protocol error reading the ROM, and suspect it might have tuned with EcuTEK - do they do JDM Ver8 ECU (03 STi) ? I believe you don't need the jumper block to read the ROM off, and that the test mode connector doesn't switch on test mode. How can I tell? Nothing on my invoice for the swap says it was tuned with EcuTEK either and it was 3 yrs ago when it was done...
kgb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2011, 08:19 PM   #422
Daluv
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 159325
Join Date: Sep 2007
Default

I have heard the same thing regarding 16 bits ecu with ecutek.

Is there a way to totally remove ecutek from a 16 bits ecu? The ecu is a s202 so it is not THAT easy to source a virgin OEM ecu..

Mart

Quote:
Originally Posted by jmcsnw View Post
My understanding is that even the original tuner cannot completely remove the ecutek because the 02 WRX had a 16 bit ECU. An ecutek tuner can flash it back to stock, but the Ecutek will still remain, and I won't be able to switch to a different tuning program. Is this true?
Daluv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2011, 11:13 AM   #423
Samurai Jack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21145
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Not in my own time
Vehicle:
2002 Enemy of Aku

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad View Post
I am resurecting this tread for the following reason:

Did the Open Source community progress in the time that has passed, to where at this point it really does not matter anymore that there is an Ecutek license on an Ecu and an Open Source user will have no problem flashing their map on it?
I can tell you from experience that it all depends on when your '02 was tuned w/ECUTek.

My '02 was originally tuned in late '04/early '05 w/ECUTek.
It was not locked.

It has since been completely re-tuned w/Open Source and works flawlessly.

Hope that helps.
Samurai Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 12:04 PM   #424
Paidfor
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 267815
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Workn on my LSX swap
Vehicle:
Be in awe
dont hate .)

Default

Back from the dead just to clarify that we all conclude ECUTEK sucks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! !!!Yeah im THAT bored.....sorry
Paidfor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2011, 07:25 PM   #425
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

FYI-

02 ECUs can not be unlocked.. ever

Everything else can be unlocked, and is unlocked when flashed back to stock.

If anyone needs this done feel free to PM me.

-John
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Do not tailgate an RV towing an SUV. cwareing Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 07-09-2007 06:43 PM
Reminder: Do not purchase Maxtor drives. aod Off-Topic 81 03-01-2007 07:25 PM
60mphn4 - If this is your liscense plate, read this linux>windows Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 19 10-10-2005 05:20 PM
Thinking about an APS catback for your STI? Read this first. WRXIN Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 11 02-24-2004 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.