Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2011, 11:32 AM   #426
Samurai Jack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 21145
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Not in my own time
Vehicle:
2002 Enemy of Aku

Default

Are you saying that '02 ECUs, once they have ECUTek installed are locked, or are you saying IF the '02 ECU was locked, THEN it can never be unlocked?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Samurai Jack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2011, 10:52 PM   #427
EvoScan
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 286622
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: www.evoscan.com
Default

What does locked mean anyway? an ecutek passcode in the flash sequence. can't you just bypass the passcode anyway by flashing original rom in the back doorto the microcontroller, or figure out the passcode like someone on openecu.org did for mitsubishi reflashes over the top of ecutek? in fact you can even read EcuTek flashes this way.. they are too conservative anyway, everyone throws them away as soon as they see it, and they only have a few hours to tune your car, they don't have as much time as you do.. you know your engine maintenance best. get more power self tune!

Last edited by EvoScan; 12-04-2011 at 12:44 AM.
EvoScan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:34 AM   #428
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

So in the flashing of an ecutek-ed ECU, as the lines of code proceed in the window from Ecuflash, it gets to a point, it stops and pops a window asking for the code?
Or there's a line asking for the passcode?
And then all reflashes would have the same code, or the procedure to find the code is always the same?

Now, what you describe is not similar with the procedure to un-brick an ECU, with soldering and what not, right?
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:12 AM   #429
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Samurai Jack
Are you saying that '02 ECUs, once they have ECUTek installed are locked, or are you saying IF the '02 ECU was locked, THEN it can never be unlocked?
Correct
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:14 AM   #430
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad
So in the flashing of an ecutek-ed ECU, as the lines of code proceed in the window from Ecuflash, it gets to a point, it stops and pops a window asking for the code?
Or there's a line asking for the passcode?
And then all reflashes would have the same code, or the procedure to find the code is always the same?

Now, what you describe is not similar with the procedure to un-brick an ECU, with soldering and what not, right?
Idk what your talking about... Lol
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:16 AM   #431
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

It's the procedure of Un-bricking a 16 Bit ECU, lol
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:20 AM   #432
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad
Have you read about the procedure of Un-bricking a 16 Bit ECU? lol
I've heard and read on how to brick a 32but ecu not a 16bit.

BUT the security for the 02 ecu is not in the rom / flash so I don't think that would work.

On all other ecus the security aka "lock" is in the rom file it self

If it was possible it would have been done years ago, it's not sry
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 09:55 AM   #433
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Ok, how does the ECU that has the security on the ROM (post '02) behave?

When you're reflashing it, does it give you a message, does it prompt you to enter a code? that was my question.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 10:20 AM   #434
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vlad
Ok, how does the ECU that has the security on the ROM (post '02) behave?

When you're reflashing it, does it give you a message, does it prompt you to enter a code? that was my question.
Lol no

No subie flashing software asks for a code.

Ecu flash is just like Ecutek . Woks exactly the same way.

Click flash, click read that's it
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:16 AM   #435
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

Ok, maybe I've not been clear:

-You have an Ecutek ECU, newer than '02
-You want to flash it with ECUFlash (It's just like Ecutek), using the Tactrix cable.

You said:
"On all other ECUs the security aka "lock" is in the rom file itself", so we know there's a lock there, in the rom of this ECU, from Ecutek.

-You click Write to the ECU, in Ecuflash, using the Tactrix cable.
You said:
"that's it", which means that the flashing process is completed undisturbed and at the end, your replacement ROM is in place.

Basically you reflash an 03+ Ecutek ECU, with Ecuflash and the security lock from Ecutek does not stop this.

Good to know, seems like others are not able to do this..
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2011, 11:41 AM   #436
Visconti
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 156247
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Norwalk, CT
Vehicle:
14' Flex Fuel FXT
15' Flex Fuel WRX

Default

All ecus are locked from the manufacture. Every car every ecu. It's been reverse engineered that's all.

Ecuflash, Cobb & EcuTek knows how to get in it etc.


When EcuTek programs the ecu security is changed so the tune and ecuteks custom ecu logic isn't taken out via Ecuflash.

Cobb does the same thing on 04+ cars, the big difference is the customer owns a hand held and can remove it anytime he wants. EcuTek doesn't have a handheld, just a flash cable that can be purchased by the customer...no one ever buys them. So when they want to switch or remove they need to find a Ecutek dealer.

02-03 ecus are the same, no one has ever been able to explain what's different about them.

But like I said before, if you have a car and need Ecutek taken off let me know and I'll help you out the best I can.

-John
Visconti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2012, 11:37 AM   #437
erikengland
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 318868
Join Date: May 2012
Default Obd-2

This may not be the appropriate forum for this question, but im going to ask away..
I am trying to purchase an OBD-2 sensor and cabes so I can self tune. Ive searched around for compatible sensors on the net.
Is there a product that anyone would recommend?
erikengland is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2012, 11:19 AM   #438
RallyImprezive
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 5476
Join Date: Apr 2001
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Castle Rock, Colorado
Vehicle:
2007 WRX UGM
2010 FXT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erikengland View Post
This may not be the appropriate forum for this question, but im going to ask away..
I am trying to purchase an OBD-2 sensor and cabes so I can self tune. Ive searched around for compatible sensors on the net.
Is there a product that anyone would recommend?
Wow bud, not only are you in a completely unrelated section, you did a really piss-poor job of looking around.

Where you want to be is here:
http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=177

and READ THIS STICKY: http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1410201
RallyImprezive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2012, 06:47 PM   #439
Dirtrace95
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 231315
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Southern Oregon
Vehicle:
06 WRX Wgn
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Visconti View Post
All ecus are locked from the manufacture. Every car every ecu. It's been reverse engineered that's all.

Ecuflash, Cobb & EcuTek knows how to get in it etc.


When EcuTek programs the ecu security is changed so the tune and ecuteks custom ecu logic isn't taken out via Ecuflash.

Cobb does the same thing on 04+ cars, the big difference is the customer owns a hand held and can remove it anytime he wants. EcuTek doesn't have a handheld, just a flash cable that can be purchased by the customer...no one ever buys them. So when they want to switch or remove they need to find a Ecutek dealer.

02-03 ecus are the same, no one has ever been able to explain what's different about them.

But like I said before, if you have a car and need Ecutek taken off let me know and I'll help you out the best I can.

-John
Have any help for a bricked ecu ??? The wrong map from a different model
was loaded now it wont start and It will not let me load the right map in.
All it says is error when I try to load new map in. Working on a 06 WRX
Dirtrace95 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Warning: Do not tailgate an RV towing an SUV. cwareing Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC 8 07-09-2007 06:43 PM
Reminder: Do not purchase Maxtor drives. aod Off-Topic 81 03-01-2007 07:25 PM
60mphn4 - If this is your liscense plate, read this linux>windows Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 19 10-10-2005 05:20 PM
Thinking about an APS catback for your STI? Read this first. WRXIN Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 11 02-24-2004 09:36 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:15 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.