Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday June 27, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-24-2006, 11:37 PM   #1
dpbgst13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106582
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: ATLANTA, GA
Vehicle:
2002 Suspension mod
Siegel Tuned FP GREEN

Default Cobb ap stage 2 w/o uppipe

Ok ive been looking for a while. nothing.

everyone talks about a tbe with the stage 2 cobb AP. I had a Mistu gst and tbe was all we had. I have an uppipe but its not installed yet. Am i ok to run stage 2 with out the uppipe installed or should i wait till that gets put in?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dpbgst13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 06-25-2006, 12:29 AM   #2
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

An up pipe is not needed for Cobb stage 2. You are O K to run stage 2 with or without doing the up pipe.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 03:22 AM   #3
subywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81858
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, Calif
Default

big different with catless up pipe. I just installed mine today and I could tell the pick up is faster.
subywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 08:32 AM   #4
Spenk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7164
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Arizona Bay
Vehicle:
2000 Miata LS
Evo Orange Mica (1/644)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr
An up pipe is not needed for Cobb stage 2. You are O K to run stage 2 with or without doing the up pipe.
Technically correct. But that won't save your turbo.

The UP cat is a ticking time bomb when you start feeding it EGTs that are significantly higher than stock. IMO, it's not worth the risk of destroying your turbo to leave it be when it really isn't that hard to remove.

If you haven't put your TBE on yet, wait until you have a gutted UP to throw on at the same time. Otherwise, you'll have to screw around pulling the DP a second time just to get to the UP. Do it all at once and then you'll never have to worry.
Spenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 08:37 AM   #5
scrwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101523
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Default

I agree with ^^ I did all mine at once and it seems like a much better/stress free way. I dont have to worry about the uppipe burning up and ruining my turbo. I love my stage 2. I just know that once I get used to it I'll want more
scrwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 12:13 PM   #6
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr
An up pipe is not needed for Cobb stage 2. You are O K to run stage 2 with or without doing the up pipe.
Oh... I forgot to add that I did do both, up pipe & the down pipe at the same time, for the reasons that others have said.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 07:08 PM   #7
rroberts
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 103971
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Default

I thought the risk of the cat in the U/P coming apart was only with the use of a bigger turbo.I do agree however better safe than sorry. Definately not required for stg.2 though
rroberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2006, 07:25 PM   #8
-Kevlar-
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Default

i still have yet to do mine.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2006, 03:40 PM   #9
EBWRC#1
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86843
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: 500 Abarth !!!
Vehicle:
Io Sono
a 500 Driver !

Default

Humm...so I should buy one then!
EBWRC#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 12:48 PM   #10
zettowrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83611
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

I'm about to install both soon. I just ordered a perrin up and a bosal shorty dp. Does anyone have experience with or heard of people running stage 2 AP with a shorty dp and the stock cat in the midpipe. I talked to Cobb bout it and the guy I talked to didn't recommend it. It's not an ideal combo, I agree, but it's my family hauler and I don't want my wife and kids complaining about the exhaust funk of a catless car. Thanks all.
zettowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 01:49 PM   #11
SUPAREX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 28278
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: San Francisco
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Platinum

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by zettowrx
I'm about to install both soon. I just ordered a perrin up and a bosal shorty dp. Does anyone have experience with or heard of people running stage 2 AP with a shorty dp and the stock cat in the midpipe. I talked to Cobb bout it and the guy I talked to didn't recommend it. It's not an ideal combo, I agree, but it's my family hauler and I don't want my wife and kids complaining about the exhaust funk of a catless car. Thanks all.
I'm doing that and runs great!
SUPAREX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 01:53 PM   #12
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

A shorty down pipe still meets the minimum requirements to run stage 2, so it should be OK you just miss out on a few pony's the full TBE would give you.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2006, 06:39 PM   #13
Erexxx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 92054
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Aliso Viejo
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed 3
Cosmic Blue Mica

Default

Consensus is that you will be ok with stock UP, but get a catless one ASAP...


Check out this thread I created a while back...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/showthread.php?t=951353
Erexxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 02:09 AM   #14
johsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2014 FXT Premium
Silver

Default

Tough call. It could be fine, or it could be bad. Roll the dice. My CA stage 2 OTS map ran lean, and I ran it for about 10k miles with the stock catted UP, no problems.

I would recommend getting a catless UP, or at least get a tune to be safe. The catless UP won't provide much power, but your turbo will spool faster, and you won't have to worry about it breaking apart.
johsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2006, 10:14 AM   #15
dpbgst13
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106582
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: ATLANTA, GA
Vehicle:
2002 Suspension mod
Siegel Tuned FP GREEN

Default uppipe

i have one. i just havent put it in bc my o2 sensor got stripped(w/o2 sensor tool) and we couldnt get off the heat shield(didnt have the right tool to cut it). So the up pipe is in the trunk waiting to be put on.
dpbgst13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2006, 08:17 AM   #16
zettowrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 83611
Join Date: Mar 2005
Default

Almost the same problem here. I didn't have the O2 tool, so I took a hacksaw blade and made like a prisoner from Alcatraz: slow and determined to get that metal cut. It was a PITA, but it worked. Hope you get it on soon.
zettowrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 11:45 AM   #17
subywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81858
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, Calif
Default

I took the o2 sensor out like 4 times (friends/mine) never used a o2 tool, just a open wrench. Works fine for me.
subywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2006, 02:10 PM   #18
gh32
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 9594
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Miami
Vehicle:
2005 WRX

Default

I'm currently running Cobb's downpipe and Stage 2 with the stock uppipe until I can get it installed. I am actually seeing lower EGTs at WOT the way it is right now. With that said, I'm going to be installing the uppipe ASAP.

-George
gh32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Running Cobb AP Stage 2 Injen??? Red Rexx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 10-31-2004 12:09 AM
*** is Cobb AP Stage 2.5??? Red Rexx Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 10-20-2004 11:49 PM
Cobb AP stage 2 with just TXS Stealthback? criz Engine Management & Tuning 13 10-13-2004 12:32 PM
Cobb AP stage 2 with headers? MFactor Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 4 09-21-2004 11:11 AM
Cobb AP Stage 2.5 installed casualsurfer Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 22 09-14-2004 03:16 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.