Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2006, 11:44 AM   #1
scooterforever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55011
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Vehicle:
2002

Default Bye, bye EcuTek... Hello Cobb!!!!!

I have been a loyal EcuTek customer for the last two+ years. I have had reflashes from Vishnu, KingPin, and multiple custom tunes from KTR with great results and service from these shops. But alas, after waiting and waiting, I have learned that the $590 new user tuning EcuTek product in fact will only let me switch maps that others have created.

So I am gone. I am placing $800 worth of orders for Street Tuner and an Accessport today. I am not criticizing the technical merits of the EcuTek product. I emphasize that I have been an extremely satisfied customer from a technical standpoint.

But if EcuTek as an organization does not feel that I am capable, as a mere mortal, to tune the car myself or accept the consequences of a bad tune (consequences I am prepared to accept), then it is time for me to find a new tuning solution. Goodbye, EcuTek. Please reduce your market forecasts for 2006 sales by 1 unit.

Street Tuner... here I come!!!!!

Again: I emphasize that I am not bashing anyone's product on technical merits. And any error in my technical understanding of the new EcuTek product, I welcome the correction. And yes, I have spoken with EcuTek directly, I am not relying on hearsay, etc.

Edit: in all fairness, there is one really good reason, from a business plan perspective, for EcuTek to avoid getting into the user tuning business. Support costs are probably not trivial. A customer support infrastructure is not trivial, and requires expense. EcuTek may easily have come to the decision that for their target profitability -- profitability is after all, why we all do what we do for a living -- means they want to stay out of the customer support business. That's fine, I just need a tuning solution that gives me more flexibility. Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.

Last edited by scooterforever; 06-30-2006 at 10:24 AM.
scooterforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 12:39 PM   #2
canosardines
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 102773
Join Date: Dec 2005
Vehicle:
2004 Subaru STi
40 of 42 sardines left

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scooterforever
I have been a loyal EcuTek customer for the last two+ years. I have had reflashes from Vishnu, KingPin, and multiple custom tunes from KTR with great results and service from these shops. But alas, after waiting and waiting, I have learned that the $590 new user tuning EcuTek product in fact will only let me switch maps that others have created.

So I am gone. I am placing $800 worth of orders for Street Tuner and an Accessport today. I am not criticizing the technical merits of the EcuTek product. I emphasize that I have been an extremely satisfied customer from a technical standpoint.

But if EcuTek as an organization does not feel that I am capable, as a mere mortal, to tune the car myself or accept the consequences of a bad tune (consequences I am prepared to accept), then it is time for me to find a new tuning solution. Goodbye, EcuTek. Please reduce your market forecasts for 2006 sales by 1 unit.

Street Tuner... here I come!!!!!

Again: I emphasize that I am not bashing anyone's product on technical merits. And any error in my technical understanding of the new EcuTek product, I welcome the correction. And yes, I have spoken with EcuTek directly, I am not relying on hearsay, etc.
You are extremely happy with your tunes from all these ecutek shops but want to tune yourself, so you are buying an ap? Why not save the coin and get the openecu software if you want to tune. It's free...

I personally don't want to waste my time trying to reinvent the wheel. With ecutek I can gather a library of professional maps tuned to whatever specifications I want. Plus if anything happens I can just blame the tuner.
canosardines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 12:52 PM   #3
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canosardines
Why not save the coin and get the openecu software if you want to tune. It's free...
I guess you haven't read this then yet, huh? It's understandable cuz you're new...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1027462
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 02:35 PM   #4
scooterforever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55011
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Vehicle:
2002

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canosardines
I personally don't want to waste my time trying to reinvent the wheel. With ecutek I can gather a library of professional maps tuned to whatever specifications I want. Plus if anything happens I can just blame the tuner.

So... show me where the EcuTek map for a 4EAT running Fujitsubo headers and a slip joint ScoobySport up-pipe running a VF-34 at 24 psi of boost with methanol injection is.

Show me that map. Because there is much less tubing involved in my setup than most, I want to push the turbo as hard as a can. If I can get 26 psi out of it... I'll try it. I have all the instrumentation to attempt to tune it -- not saying I wont blow the motor, I very well might, but it's my creator-given right to try.

And as for Openecu... show me the road tuning software with integrated LM-1 support and injector control. Show me the 1-800 customer support number.
scooterforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2006, 08:47 PM   #5
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

good choice on StreetTuner. It grows more powerful every update. They just added Throttle Duty Cycle mapping for the DBW cars and Boost Low-Speed-Multiplier adjustments for everybody else
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 01:07 AM   #6
BoberT-
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 74168
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Southern NJ, Atlantic County.
Vehicle:
2005 Legacy GT
Blue

Default

To me you can get more out of ecuteK , i dont think cobb will be happy with certain mods and parts.
BoberT- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 01:53 AM   #7
fastwrx05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94131
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, Va
Vehicle:
08' SRT Caliber
Hard to keep clean black!

Default

I've been using the ecutek over a year now and I think i'm going to switch to the cobb
fastwrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 01:54 AM   #8
fastwrx05
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94131
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Roanoke, Va
Vehicle:
08' SRT Caliber
Hard to keep clean black!

Default

I like he fact that I can switch between different maps myself, like a race fuel map!!!!
fastwrx05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 12:46 PM   #9
scooterforever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55011
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Vehicle:
2002

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BoberT-
To me you can get more out of ecuteK , i dont think cobb will be happy with certain mods and parts.
Agree as far as accessport... but StreetTuner and the ability to get ProTunes changes things.
scooterforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:43 AM   #10
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

i dunno... i think it really again comes down to what you want out of the car. I will freely admit that my tuning experience goes as far as 2 stroke engines used in RC cars, and cannot tune on my own, so although i can still switch to cobb, there isn't much benefit in it for my situation.

Perhaps when i do my engine buildup i will have a need for a pump gas and a water injection map.... but i get the feeling that i will run just one map. I am a bit of a sickler for simplicity really...but that's just me.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 03:23 PM   #11
scooterforever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55011
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Vehicle:
2002

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jigga
I am a bit of a sickler for simplicity really...but that's just me.
Agree... and nothing is more simpler than being able to check and tweak my own tune without having to schedule an appointment and drive to my tuner.

But unfortunately all this is moot... pending additional information on whether or not I blew my motor last week. And I haven't even installed the AP or Street Tuner yet. (Read: if it blew, it blew on the EcuTek tune)
scooterforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 04:16 PM   #12
KAX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 63292
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Warner Robins, GA
Vehicle:
2000 Subaru 2.5RS
2002 WRX powered

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRSCCivic98
I guess you haven't read this then yet, huh? It's understandable cuz you're new...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1027462
i guess you didnt read he has an '02..

if you bought the delta dash software, you should be able to tune it yourself the same way your tuner can.

while the openecu software is great, it doesnt have the same capabilities yet, but the deltadash does.
KAX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 04:50 PM   #13
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAX
if you bought the delta dash software, you should be able to tune it yourself the same way your tuner can.

while the openecu software is great, it doesnt have the same capabilities yet, but the deltadash does.
No, DeltaDash has extremely limited capabilities - nowhere near what a real tuner can do with ECUTek's professional tuning software.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 05:11 PM   #14
scooterforever
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 55011
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: New England
Vehicle:
2002

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAX
if you bought the delta dash software, you should be able to tune it yourself the same way your tuner can.

while the openecu software is great, it doesnt have the same capabilities yet, but the deltadash does.
WRONG

Delta Dash is pretty close to useless for tuning. You can swap boost maps (not edit, but change between A and B) and you can change timing +/- 5 degrees across the entire map (not selectively) and that's (with a few exceptions) is about it.
scooterforever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2006, 06:40 PM   #15
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

I think you can also change the idle speed a few hundred rpm, add or pull fuel (across the entire map, not selectively), and add or pull WGDC (across the entire map).

And all the changes you make disappear when you reset the ECU or when you pull the battery.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 03:12 PM   #16
cucubee5
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119796
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle:
2006 B7 A4

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nhluhr
I think you can also change the idle speed a few hundred rpm, add or pull fuel (across the entire map, not selectively), and add or pull WGDC (across the entire map).

And all the changes you make disappear when you reset the ECU or when you pull the battery.

that's a really nice feature. would be nice on an audi as well
cucubee5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 07:30 PM   #17
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRSCCivic98
I guess you haven't read this then yet, huh? It's understandable cuz you're new...

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1027462
Err, what does that have to do with using the Openecu tools?

No matter which direction you pick, you can count on not being able to switch back and forth at will. If you choose Cobb, you have to stick with it. If you choose Openecu stuff, you have to stick with that.

How that thread should deter anyone from using Openecu stuff more than deter you from Cobb or Ecutek I can't imagine.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2006, 08:53 PM   #18
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freon
Err, what does that have to do with using the Openecu tools?
You misunderstood the quote and comment relation.

He said this...
Quote:
Originally Posted by canosardines
You are extremely happy with your tunes from all these ecutek shops but want to tune yourself, so you are buying an ap? Why not save the coin and get the openecu software if you want to tune. It's free...
So basically the link was posted by me because it made it sound like canosardines was suggesting to just use openecu tools to change the tune on an "already" EcuTek's ECU... which if it's of a current revision may be "locked".

How's that, is that clearer?
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bye bye Microdrive, hello 8GB Flash... Idjiit Off-Topic 3 02-13-2004 11:47 AM
bye bye Jaguar, hello...... munkis Tri-State Area Forum 20 08-16-2003 04:05 PM
Bye bye WRX, hello rx-7 SiLu Texas Impreza Club Forum -- TXIC 19 07-18-2003 03:53 AM
Bye bye VF22, hello 18G MAD REX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 15 07-16-2003 03:53 PM
Bye bye H4, hello V8 dada21 Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 9 03-14-2001 01:24 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.