Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday September 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-29-2006, 09:35 PM   #1
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default So why is it that my obdII scanner cannot connect to my ECU (ecutek reflashed)???

Ok, here is the story...

Just an hour ago, I went to fill the car up with the usual does of 94 octane sunoco juice. As soon as I was done, and went to start the car, the CEL came on. I had not even moved from the pumps and the CEL came on

I went straight to the local parts store and picked up an OBDII scanner, hoping that it will pull the code for me. I know that without a code, finding the problem is like pissing in the wind.

I bought the scanner and connected it only to find that it is unable to connect to the ecu. I have used this same brand scanner in the past, and it was successful, so I am confused.

I just got the ecu reflashed 3 months ago at a new ECUTEK tuner (before that I was running ecutek but from a diff tuner).

Here is the kicker...

Before I got my ecu reflashed at the new tuner, I was able to pull CEL codes from the ecu without issue. Last year I was able to pull codes without issue.

Fast forward to this year and a new reflash, and the scanner cannot connect...

Ideas?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 09:23 AM   #2
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

hmm no responses..

Anyway, I found from a few tuners that the reflash does not lock you out with regard to trying to pull CEL codes from the ecu. I suspected this since I was able to pull codes last year summer with the previous reflash, but not now with the new reflash on there..

I think i will be returning the OBD2 scanner to try out another one.

I guess the mods can close this thread now
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 02:03 PM   #3
Crawford/I-Speed
Vendor
 
Member#: 12347
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Oceanside, CA
Vehicle:
ECU ReProgramming
Dynapack AWD Dyno

Default

We have had no problems checking OBD2 codes with a various automotive scanners with the any EcuTeK tuned vehicles. If you seem to be having problems I would suggest trying another scan tool as that one may not be working.

Just to test to see if the reflash is really causing the problem, try using someone else's scan tool that works on their untouched ECU and please post your results.

Cheers,
Crawford Performance / I-Speed USA
Crawford/I-Speed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 04:15 PM   #4
k mier
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98000
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: MO
Vehicle:
05 sti e85@420hp

Default

Yes, please use the reader you have now on a friends car to see if it works. Let us know.
k mier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 10:27 PM   #5
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

okay... Here is what happened... With the first scanner that used to be able to connect to my ecu on the old ecutek flash, there was no connection. That was on a 250 dollar scanner that had worked on the ecu with my previous ecutek flash from a different tuner.

I had to go purchase a 350 dollar scanner for CANOBD2, which was able to connect with the ecu which had been reflashed 3 months ago at a new tuner.

I found this confusing since the same manufacturer makes both scanners, and my car is on their list of compatible ecu's for the cheaper OBD2 scanner.

The other thing that i don't get is that since my car is an 02 car, it does not make use of the CAN system. I know it is obd2, but not canobd2. So seems that i needed a CanOBD2 scanner to be able to interface with my ecu.

Am I the only one that finds that odd?

I am a little hesitant as to whether i want to hold on to the scanner since know it can read the ecu, but forkingout almost 400 dollars for an obdII scanner seems a little steep no? I bought it in the first place just to see if it would be able to connect with the ecu, which it did. The price i paid though eats away at my conscience though...
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 10:39 PM   #6
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

You really need to try and use the other simple OBD2 scanner you had. If it doesn't work on yours, but it does work on a friend's WRX then you know where you are. Keep your variables to a minimum to be able to find the exact problem.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 10:56 PM   #7
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

i would try it on someone else's car, but there aren't too many wrx owners around my neck of the woods.

The same scanner worked fine on the car just over a year ago with a different ecutek flash from a different tuner from what i am using now.

And then fast forward to now, the same model scanner would not work anymore.

Initially, I thought that there had to be something wrong with my car, but when I exchanged the scanner for a second unit with same model number, I got the same "Error" code come up on screen. It wasn't until I went to the higher end unit that it could connect.

The autostore told me that since the units are constantly being changed by the manufacturer, one of the changes they made meant that my car would not be compatible with the system (even though previous versions were). This was kinda supported by the list of cars that the unit was supposed to be NOT compatible with. The 02 Impreza 2.0L turbo was not on the list. Guess they need to update it now...

Only thing that changed on the car was the mods and the reflash from a new ecutek tuner...

I mean, as long as I found a scanner that can connect, I am happy.... I guess my bank account isn't as happy about it since the $$ could have been spent on hookers and booze... I just don't understand why it should take such an expensive scan tool to be able to connect to the ecu. I am sure i would not end up using 1/5th of the extra features that the scanner has over the cheaper one..... except it's uncanny ability to talk to my ecu, which the cheaper one cannot do anymore...
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 11:15 PM   #8
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Go by Autozone and see if their cheap scanner will connect. If it doesn't, you know your answer and you know what you'll have to do. I would certainly try another "generic" OBD2 scanner first... just to be sure.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2006, 11:25 PM   #9
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

will do...

Thanks for the tip
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 05:42 PM   #10
Spiider
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 13680
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: DCCDPro.com
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

Just so if I understand what you are saying.....you used a CANBUS/OBD2 based scanner and were able to connect to the 2002 ecutek reflashed ecu?

That ecu should be using ISO not CANBUS for its OBD2. Maybe the change is related to what ecutek did to obfuscate?
Spiider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 06:08 PM   #11
Blackpantherwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 70855
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Whittier
Vehicle:
2004
Air Spencer... Squash.

Default

Just goto autozone and they wil llend you the tool.
Blackpantherwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 09:14 PM   #12
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiider
That ecu should be using ISO not CANBUS for its OBD2. Maybe the change is related to what ecutek did to obfuscate?
If that's the case it certainly nothing orginal in what EcuTek did to lock things down. I read somewhere that CAN was supposed to be used in the newest Subarus or something to that effect. If that's the case all they did is copied Subaru's OEM standards and pushed them to the earlier ECUs. This would certainly explain why they are so adamant about their lockout not interfearing with "SSM" Subaru handheld diag tools. All of those have been updated to use CAN for the newer vehicles so it would obviously support the old with the changes they made.

What was that about everyone saying that EcuTek and Cobb don't copy Subaru's standards to make things work? Who's calling the kettle black now huh?

Of course the CAN thing is really all educated speculation at the moment...
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 11:12 PM   #13
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spiider
Just so if I understand what you are saying.....you used a CANBUS/OBD2 based scanner and were able to connect to the 2002 ecutek reflashed ecu?

That ecu should be using ISO not CANBUS for its OBD2. Maybe the change is related to what ecutek did to obfuscate?

Correct.... I used a CANBUS/OBDII scanner to connect to my 02 ecutek reflashed ecu. The OBDII scanner from the same manufacturer would not connect....

only difference i could see between both scanners apart from price is that one was a canbus/obdII unit, and the other was just an obdII unit.

Last edited by jigga; 07-02-2006 at 11:22 PM.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 11:17 PM   #14
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRSCCivic98
I read somewhere that CAN was supposed to be used in the newest Subarus or something to that effect....

that was my understanding as well, which was why i was thrown aback when i found that i needed a canbus obdII scanner to connect to the ecu.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 11:32 PM   #15
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

subaru did not start using the CAN bus until the '05 model year----NOBODY used it until the '05 MY, AFAIK
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:51 AM   #16
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
subaru did not start using the CAN bus until the '05 model year----NOBODY used it until the '05 MY, AFAIK

my thought as well too! It was a very recent introduction.... A very confusing situation to say the least...Hopefully after the long weekend i can get my hands on another generic obdII scanner and try that out
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:23 AM   #17
Uncle Scotty
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 16200
Join Date: Mar 2002
Vehicle:
OK Houston
we have an Uncle

Default

My Actron 9135 has never failed to scan ANY car that I have plugged it into....and that includes LOTS of Subaru's and non-Subaru's---including my '02 WRX and my '06 WRX
Uncle Scotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 06:00 AM   #18
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Uncle Scotty
My Actron 9135 has never failed to scan ANY car that I have plugged it into....and that includes LOTS of Subaru's and non-Subaru's---including my '02 WRX and my '06 WRX
That is the make of scanner that i am looking to try next on the car. I am told that it would work perfectly with no issues at all.

I am trying to find where i can get one from. The thing about the current scanner that bugs me however is how much i had to fork out for it... If i were a professional shop that would charge others to pull their codes, I would not mind.. But since I will rarely use the thing, I would rather have paid less for something that works..

This one i have has the ability to test for emmisions readiness as well as give a readout of the conditions under which the cel was triggered (ie closed/open loop operation, revs, a/f ratio, coolant temp and throttle position i believe... ) and a few other things. A very interesting device, but i fear i won't use 1/8th of its features which is why i wouldn't mind getting something simpler and cheaper. Until i find one though, i'll likely hold on to this one, but i am on the hunt for the actron unit.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 08:51 AM   #19
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

You definatly need to get to Autozone and see if a cheapy cheap scanner will work. Now I'm interested to know the truth as well.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 11:36 AM   #20
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Over the course of time, SOA has created 5 different ROM updates for the 2002 WRX. Also, Subaru began using the KWP2000 OBD-II protocol in 2003. It's possible that, when creating one of the later ROM updates for the 2002 WRX, Subaru incorporated the new KWP2000 OBD-II protocol into the fix. Your EcuTeK tuner may have based his tune on the most recently available Subaru ROM update.

Some scan tools which work fine with the older ISO 9141 protocol don't work at all with the KWP2000 protocol.

It might be useful if jigga would hook up his fancy new scan tool and tell us what it reports for Calibration ID, which is usually part of the Vehicle Information data.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 12:22 PM   #21
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT]
Over the course of time, SOA has created 5 different ROM updates for the 2002 WRX. Also, Subaru began using the KWP2000 OBD-II protocol in 2003. It's possible that, when creating one of the later ROM updates for the 2002 WRX, Subaru incorporated the new KWP2000 OBD-II protocol into the fix. Your EcuTeK tuner may have based his tune on the most recently available Subaru ROM update.

Some scan tools which work fine with the older ISO 9141 protocol don't work at all with the KWP2000 protocol.

It might be useful if jigga would hook up his fancy new scan tool and tell us what it reports for Calibration ID, which is usually part of the Vehicle Information data.
I've reflashed my 02 with A4SGE01C, the latest known revision for the 02s, and my 5+ year old Auterra PDA OBDII logger has no trouble connecting and reading codes.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:26 PM   #22
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups
I've reflashed my 02 with A4SGE01C, the latest known revision for the 02s, and my 5+ year old Auterra PDA OBDII logger has no trouble connecting and reading codes.
This tells us nothing about why jigga's scanner wouldn't work. I wonder why jigga doesn't want to tell us the make and model of the scanner that doesn't work.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 01:50 PM   #23
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT]
This tells us nothing about why jigga's scanner wouldn't work. I wonder why jigga doesn't want to tell us the make and model of the scanner that doesn't work.
Maybe not, but it goes against the idea that Subaru applied the newer OBDII protocol to later revisions. Besides, every 02 Ecutek'd ROM that I've seen uses A4SGC00C, even recent ones.

I was talking with another WRX owner on this board with a recent Ecutek custom tune, and he had taken his car to the dealer to check out a failed O2 sensor. The Subaru tech said he could not connect to his car at all. He has the Ecutek dash monitor which works fine, but the tech couldn't do any diagnostics.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 02:19 PM   #24
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon [in CT]
This tells us nothing about why jigga's scanner wouldn't work. I wonder why jigga doesn't want to tell us the make and model of the scanner that doesn't work.

No reason at all, I can give the model of the scanner... I just did not know it off the top of my head while posting...

The first one i got was the Inova 3100 which could not connect to the ecu at all..

The second scanner which was the Inova 3110F which is the obdII CAN reader which is able to connect to the ecu and read codes.

To my knowlege, the ecu has not been swapped out at all since i bought the car new. Just reflashed by 3 ecutek tuners.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2006, 02:24 PM   #25
jigga
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 9960
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: in bed...
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
WRBlue Perl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea cups

I was talking with another WRX owner on this board with a recent Ecutek custom tune, and he had taken his car to the dealer to check out a failed O2 sensor. The Subaru tech said he could not connect to his car at all. He has the Ecutek dash monitor which works fine, but the tech couldn't do any diagnostics.
and the plot thickens....

I have not taken my car in to get any diagnostics done or anything, so I cannot comment as to what happens when the dealer tries to connect to the ecu.
jigga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
So why is it that GooseMan... gongzero Off-Topic 20 02-10-2003 12:09 PM
why is it that i am the only one on i-club that DOESNT have a girl that wants to use dorifto88 Off-Topic 28 12-04-2002 03:35 AM
Why is it that every car im this close to buying....something happens???? SpamMansXe Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 8 11-29-2002 01:00 PM
Why is it that there is so little done on the interior ? 555wrx Interior & Exterior Modification 11 01-05-2001 07:00 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.