Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday March 28, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-30-2006, 08:56 AM   #1
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default AP help, please

My first thread "Should I Flash?" was straying from the point, and losing replies due to that. Sooo:
Low Voltage Error; part2: I tried flashing, didn't work. I attached jumper cables from my friend's car to my car; didnt work. I tried NOT turning off and flashing, and that yielded another error and said to try again. So I've tried everything. Cobb said maybe a new battery, but if I had jumper cables, a battery shouldnt be the problem. I had everything else off on the car, even e-brake so that light wouldnt come on, and still nothing. I'm thinking it's a problem with the DiagPort cable, and will call Cobb soon.
Is it safe to flash with the AP plugged into the AC wall charger?

C/N: Low voltage error no matter what I do. Can I plug AP into the wall charger (ac adapter) and flash?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 09:15 AM   #2
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

I wouldn't risk using AC power when you flash unless it's on a UPS (if you can even do it that way) all it takes is a power outage or surge and possibly bye bye to your ECU. That happens around here in Central FL way too much for me to risk it. Don't know about where you live though. Just something to think about. I would call Cobb if you are having problems they really helped me out when the screen on my AP went bad. Very good people there. Good Luck.
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 09:24 AM   #3
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

I'm in a very rural area of No.Va, and I don't think there's too many power surges/outages, but one can never be too careful. I guess my only logical next step should be calling them.
thanks!
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 10:07 AM   #4
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

You can also use a Battery charger during programming. Some issue if power was lost but not as much I think since the battery would act as a buffer unless it's really low.
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 10:09 AM   #5
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

So I can use the wall charger for flashing?
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 10:29 AM   #6
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

No the AC adapter included w/ AP is not a battery charger. AP dosen't have a battery in it. I was referring to a Car battery charger hooked up to your WRX's battery while programming to supply the extra needed voltage if your batt is a little low. Also not a bad safety precaution if your battery isn't pretty new. You don't want it dying halfway through the programming. Good luck
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 10:45 AM   #7
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

I tried jumper cables, which should have the same effect, right?
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 11:29 AM   #8
Mr Nice Guy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107224
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Melbourne, FL
Vehicle:
2005 M3
Imola Red

Default

Jumper cables have high resistance since they are so long and use the alligator clips on both ends. You would at least have to have the other car running the whole time to even help at all. Even if you can get enough voltage through them you would have power that could fluctuate with engine RPM, accesories turning on etc. A battery charger would provide a much more stable supply of power. If you don't have one you could try going to a local auto parts store like AutoZone and have them test your battery. They'll even charge it for you for free. If it's on it's way out that may be your problem. Then just pick up a new one and you should be good to go. Hope this helps. Good Luck!
Mr Nice Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 01:31 PM   #9
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

It might be my battery. I don't know how long I've had it, could be the stock one , and it's a Duralast .
Thanks! Cobb didn't say why the jumper cables wouldn't work, so thanks for the explanation.
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 01:44 PM   #10
johsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2014 FXT Premium
Silver

Default

Is your car even going into "test mode"? You haven't clarified that in your posts yet, unless I missed it. It is obvious when it is in test mode, because you will hear the fans/pumps cycling intermittently.
johsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 01:46 PM   #11
johsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2014 FXT Premium
Silver

Default

Also, most people that receive the "low voltage error" has nothing to do with the battery.

edit - ok, for some people it has nothing to do with the battery.

Last edited by johsti; 06-30-2006 at 02:09 PM.
johsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 02:17 PM   #12
subywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81858
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, Calif
Default

johsti - i read the owners manual online but i don't see where it states you have to charge the ap with the power adaptor. When should you charge the ap or how do you know it need charging?
subywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 02:31 PM   #13
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

It goes into test mode, yes. Sorry for not making that clear
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 05:35 PM   #14
johsti
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36049
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: San Jose
Vehicle:
2014 FXT Premium
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by subywrx
johsti - i read the owners manual online but i don't see where it states you have to charge the ap with the power adaptor. When should you charge the ap or how do you know it need charging?
I don't recall ever saying anything about the power adaptor or charging the AP.

If you're asking me if you need to charge it, the answer is no. Like someone else mentioned, the AP has no battery. You only need the power adaptor for when you sync the AP with your computer.
johsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2006, 05:49 PM   #15
subywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81858
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Bay Area, Calif
Default

Thanks johsti
subywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2006, 10:54 AM   #16
ErasureWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106408
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Tysons
Vehicle:
'14 Mystery Machine
01 Kat600

Default

I attached a battery charger to my battery, charged it for about 3 hours, it said it was at full charge, then tried it, unsuccessful. I guess my car battery is on the way out?
ErasureWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 02:50 PM   #17
nomex ninja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108222
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Lakeport, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX stage-x
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

Im having this same problem. I have tried all of the steps previously mentioned in this thread with no sucess. My car is going into test mode.

Any more info on this problem would be cool. - Enrico
nomex ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 03:18 PM   #18
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Some people seem to be having problems with the under dash connectors/innit connectors... Make shure they snap in good... Also some OBD2 cabled seem to be faulty. See if you can borrow one...
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 03:35 PM   #19
nomex ninja
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 108222
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Lakeport, CA
Vehicle:
2002 WRX stage-x
Midnight Black Pearl

Default

^^^ thanks alot dude^^^

I was the connector

Last edited by nomex ninja; 01-14-2007 at 08:42 PM. Reason: I am a retard
nomex ninja is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AP help please! 801_STi Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC 4 03-09-2009 01:18 AM
ap help please snobord1986 AccessPort 3 09-13-2007 03:19 PM
ap help-please! 02ej20 Engine Management & Tuning 6 12-29-2005 04:30 PM
AP help please brex16 Engine Management & Tuning 3 07-28-2005 11:51 PM
IL: for the people with AP, HELP please ms3p Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 5 10-22-2004 12:19 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.