Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 1, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-15-2006, 10:37 AM   #1
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default Cobb AP issues....

ok just installed my AP on the car and put the base map as "stock mode". then i flashed a real time "stage 2 93" map to the car. i literally feel NO performance increase whatsoever. boost guage is reading between .1 and .11 . i know thats about 15 psi. did everything the instructions said. what could i have done wrong? all i ever heard was it was supposed to be this HUGE increase in power, and i got nothing (butt dyno).....
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:40 AM   #2
dmah
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 77590
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Ottawa
Vehicle:
2004 wrx sedan
silver

Default

Cobb recommends putting the stage 2 93 base map as well as the realtime map. Some people say it takes a bit of time for the car to learn.... but I felt a difference right away going from stage 1 to stage 2.

Don
dmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:42 AM   #3
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmah
Cobb recommends putting the stage 2 93 base map as well as the realtime map. Some people say it takes a bit of time for the car to learn.... but I felt a difference right away going from stage 1 to stage 2.

Don

so just change the base map to stage 2 93 and switch real time again or leave it?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:43 AM   #4
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

what boost is everyone else seeing? i think its supposed to be 16.5 give or take .5 right?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:47 AM   #5
PJC1909
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50274
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Center City Philadelphia
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
invisible

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dmah
Cobb recommends putting the stage 2 93 base map as well as the realtime map. Some people say it takes a bit of time for the car to learn.... but I felt a difference right away going from stage 1 to stage 2.

Don

+1. Make stage 2 your base map. Dumb question, but you have at least a higher flow downpipe right? Cobb recommends TBE. For stock hardware you can only do stage 1.
PJC1909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 10:57 AM   #6
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PJC1909
+1. Make stage 2 your base map. Dumb question, but you have at least a higher flow downpipe right? Cobb recommends TBE. For stock hardware you can only do stage 1.

true true i have a DP and cat back. just changed the base map. heres a real dumb question. in the book to read live boost it says make sure key is in the on position but doesnt say anything about starting the car. this is ok right? i just dont want to muck anything up.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:01 AM   #7
markuswelby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82379
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Northridge, CA
Vehicle:
2005 KWIK WRX
WR BLUE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
true true i have a DP and cat back. just changed the base map. heres a real dumb question. in the book to read live boost it says make sure key is in the on position but doesnt say anything about starting the car. this is ok right? i just dont want to muck anything up.
HA HA, yes the car must be on to read live boost.
Do u have a boost gauge as well???

what map are u coming from??

u need to load base map Stage 2 93 & realtime map Stage 2 93 no matter what.
markuswelby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:04 AM   #8
PJC1909
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 50274
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Center City Philadelphia
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Wagon
invisible

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
in the book to read live boost it says make sure key is in the on position but doesnt say anything about starting the car. this is ok right? i just dont want to muck anything up.
What I've done, since I'm a belt and suspenders kind of guy, is start the car, then plug into the OBD port then scroll through the menus to get live boost. Make sure you unplug the little Cobb connector thingy and the test connectors before you do that.

Good luck
PJC1909 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:08 AM   #9
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

ok thanks...... yeah im coming from NO map (read <<<profile -.5 ) so target should be 15.8 +/- .5 ...... well i guess ill give her another go. do i need to re flash the stage 2 real time now that ive changed the base again?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:21 AM   #10
markuswelby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82379
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Northridge, CA
Vehicle:
2005 KWIK WRX
WR BLUE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
ok thanks...... yeah im coming from NO map (read <<<profile -.5 ) so target should be 15.8 +/- .5 ...... well i guess ill give her another go. do i need to re flash the stage 2 real time now that ive changed the base again?
Yea, i believe target is right around there.
Coming from no map to stage 2, u will definitely feel a big difference.
markuswelby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:42 AM   #11
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

just took it for a test drive.....its a little better but not what i was expecting i cant believe i paid 600 bucks for it. if i knew i would have paid 300 tops. i read live boost and its hitting 16.3psi. but alas butt dyno says im an idiot for spending that much....
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:44 AM   #12
Christian.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 87604
Join Date: May 2005
Default

wrxblubayou,

Most of our map notes contains the following:
"Features such as defeated CELs and Closed Loop tables are not changed with Realtime. This is why we highly recommend you running the Stage Base Map that best matches your car's modification. Running the Stock Mode Base Map with a Stage Realtime map over it will get you some of the improvements but no where NEAR what you would get if you were to run the proper Stage Base map.

Revised Electronic Throttle Mapping. We did this to improve the throttle response. We changed the delays in how the throttle actually reacted to your right foot in an effort to reduce some of the "drive by wire" feel.

Again, you should have no reason why you will want to run the Stock Base map, unless of course you're the type that doesn't like extracting the full potential of your vehicle."

We highly recommend that you use the base map that best matches your vehicles hardware because too many improvements are made in the base map to not use it.

Take care,
Christian.
Christian. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:46 AM   #13
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.
wrxblubayou,

Most of our map notes contains the following:
"Features such as defeated CELs and Closed Loop tables are not changed with Realtime. This is why we highly recommend you running the Stage Base Map that best matches your car's modification. Running the Stock Mode Base Map with a Stage Realtime map over it will get you some of the improvements but no where NEAR what you would get if you were to run the proper Stage Base map.

Revised Electronic Throttle Mapping. We did this to improve the throttle response. We changed the delays in how the throttle actually reacted to your right foot in an effort to reduce some of the "drive by wire" feel.

Again, you should have no reason why you will want to run the Stock Base map, unless of course you're the type that doesn't like extracting the full potential of your vehicle."

We highly recommend that you use the base map that best matches your vehicles hardware because too many improvements are made in the base map to not use it.

Take care,
Christian.


wow thanks.... thats exactly what i just did

base: stage 2 93
realtime: stage 2 93

what are you saying? dont do the realtime over the base????????????
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 11:54 AM   #14
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

anything else i could try? missing anything?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:06 PM   #15
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
wow thanks.... thats exactly what i just did

base: stage 2 93
realtime: stage 2 93

what are you saying? dont do the realtime over the base????????????

i wouldn't. . .i've seen some in the past have problems running the same RT over base. Only time you need to run a real time map is when it's DIFFERENT from your base.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:08 PM   #16
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
i wouldn't. . .i've seen some in the past have problems running the same RT over base. Only time you need to run a real time map is when it's DIFFERENT from your base.

so i guess a reset will fix it then right?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:09 PM   #17
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
just took it for a test drive.....its a little better but not what i was expecting i cant believe i paid 600 bucks for it. if i knew i would have paid 300 tops. i read live boost and its hitting 16.3psi. but alas butt dyno says im an idiot for spending that much....

16 is target for stage 2, i'm not sure what you are expecting

keep in mind these are very conservative base maps, in order to really get the power out of your map you'll need a custom tune.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:11 PM   #18
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
so i guess a reset will fix it then right?

yes..
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:13 PM   #19
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hondaeater69
16 is target for stage 2, i'm not sure what you are expecting

keep in mind these are very conservative base maps, in order to really get the power out of your map you'll need a custom tune.

well it just doesnt feel like it pulls any harder. 1-5 feel a LITTLE better but thats it. i guess i just expected too much maybe? from hearing everyone else "stg 2 iz da bomb fast3r"....... i will say its a lot smoother.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:18 PM   #20
markuswelby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 82379
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Northridge, CA
Vehicle:
2005 KWIK WRX
WR BLUE

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
well it just doesnt feel like it pulls any harder. 1-5 feel a LITTLE better but thats it. i guess i just expected too much maybe? from hearing everyone else "stg 2 iz da bomb fast3r"....... i will say its a lot smoother.
I think that my car with Stage 2 dyno's at roughly 210ish whp, but the boost comes on earlier, like u said smoother.
With a Pro Tune i went to 235ish..
to maximize ur car a Pro Tune is the way to go, just do all ur mods before because those tuners are expensive!!!!
markuswelby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:21 PM   #21
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

nothing else is needed for a pro tune? just AP and a tuner that does em? (TopSpeed)
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 12:24 PM   #22
mcowger
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77483
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2009 Audi A3 2.0T q
Lava Grey

Default

Yup. And the parts that you want tuned for .
mcowger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 01:18 PM   #23
Christian.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 87604
Join Date: May 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
wow thanks.... thats exactly what i just did
I was not being a smart ass. I just wanted to make sure you were aware of the recommendations we publish. Some people do not read any of the instructions and are not familiar with the AccessPORT and its purpose. I was doing what I could to assist, educate, and make you aware of something that you might have not known about. You always have the option of unmarrying the AccessPORT and return it if you are not satisfied. I believe we limit that to a 30-day trial. I will double check.

Take care,
Christian.
Christian. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 01:55 PM   #24
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Christian.
I was not being a smart ass. I just wanted to make sure you were aware of the recommendations we publish. Some people do not read any of the instructions and are not familiar with the AccessPORT and its purpose. I was doing what I could to assist, educate, and make you aware of something that you might have not known about. You always have the option of unmarrying the AccessPORT and return it if you are not satisfied. I believe we limit that to a 30-day trial. I will double check.

Take care,
Christian.

no problem but i stated that's what i did in the previous post and i was really pissed at the time. thanks for helping. AND now that ive drove around a bit it feels a lot better. seems the biggest gain is at 50 or 60% throttle though. at that throttle position im running almost stock boost (~11psi). any ideas why? normal? and i also notice that if im cruising in fourth or fifth at 2500 rpm or so and go WOT the boost doesnt shoot up like normal. good i guess since before the AP that was causing a boost spike up to .12 or so. all in all i guess a couple more days and ill be happy with it. just for broke ****s like me 600 is a lot to pay for something and like i said i guess i was expecting 800 hp.
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 02:01 PM   #25
Christian.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 87604
Join Date: May 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
at 50 or 60% throttle though. at that throttle position im running almost stock boost (~11psi). any ideas why? normal?
Normal, you are not at full TPS so the ECU is not going to target maximum boost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxblubayou
i guess i was expecting 800 hp.
Good luck with that on an a close-to-stock vehicle

Take care,
Christian.
Christian. is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cobb AP v1 issues (wrong ecu message) Grammar Police AccessPort 3 01-23-2009 03:57 PM
cobb ap v2 issue mxpunk409 Newbies & FAQs 1 09-25-2008 10:28 PM
cobb AP stage 2, DP to stock back issue! tk686 Newbies & FAQs 16 09-14-2005 10:58 AM
04 STi Cobb AP Initialization issues SubaruBen Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 6 12-10-2004 05:10 PM
04 STi Cobb AP Initialization issues SubaruBen Engine Management & Tuning 2 12-10-2004 01:43 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:52 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.