Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday September 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-12-2006, 12:21 PM   #1
ianliam
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 72632
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Rally Blue

Default Removing CAI and BOV ...Do I Reset?

I am stage two with a BOV and K&N Typhoon CAI. I'm removing both. I understand that these items will "work" with the AP, so my theory is that I will not have to reset the ECU and reload once the items are removed, as these are not significant modifications. Correct assumption?

Thanks
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ianliam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 05:01 PM   #2
rexworx
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 103232
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: EWG3071KelfordCams276/272
Vehicle:
MY05 GDA,MY04FXT6spd
2.5ltr,PPG,Front LSD,4.44

Default

Yes you need to reset the ecu.

You will have to reflash back to stage 2
rexworx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2006, 09:12 PM   #3
jmanrex
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15288
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: camp hill, pa
Vehicle:
2004 wrb sti

Default

a good rule of thumb is you should reset no matter what you do--it doesn't hurt
jmanrex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 02:41 PM   #4
02WHITEDUB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96793
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
02 ProTuned TD04
Now with more clunks!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rexworx
Yes you need to reset the ecu.

You will have to reflash back to stage 2
Why would you reflash the stage 2 map? It's not lost in a reset...

And to the OP, no, you shouldn't use a CAI or BOV with COBB maps, and I have no idea where you got the idea that it was OK.
02WHITEDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 03:41 PM   #5
ShawDizzle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 118902
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Vehicle:
08 WRX Premium Sdn
White

Default

Ya, reset because making changes and not resetting the ECU map will cause unseen long term damage. Too lean/ too rich.
ShawDizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 03:45 PM   #6
ShawDizzle
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 118902
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Jersey City, NJ
Vehicle:
08 WRX Premium Sdn
White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 02WHITEDUB
Why would you reflash the stage 2 map? It's not lost in a reset...

And to the OP, no, you shouldn't use a CAI or BOV with COBB maps, and I have no idea where you got the idea that it was OK.
True, the Cobb shelf maps off the site say use with a TBE and UP and specify what turbo. the old maps use to have a map for Injen. that was dropped and now it says to use only the stock intake. But you can use a CAI and BOV with the Cobb AP as long as you get a map made up from road or dyno tuning it.
ShawDizzle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 04:46 PM   #7
02WHITEDUB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96793
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
02 ProTuned TD04
Now with more clunks!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawDizzle
True, the Cobb shelf maps off the site say use with a TBE and UP and specify what turbo. the old maps use to have a map for Injen. that was dropped and now it says to use only the stock intake. But you can use a CAI and BOV with the Cobb AP as long as you get a map made up from road or dyno tuning it.
^^There you go^^

COBB also states that a full TBE is required, but they don't say that about an UP.
UP is HIGHLY recommended for any reflashed pre-06 WRX but not 'required' by COBB. Conversely, everyone here (that knows anything) knows it's less risky to run just a DP and stage 2 than to go full TBE and keep the UP cat.
02WHITEDUB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 05:37 PM   #8
-Kevlar-
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82378
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: SC
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShawDizzle
True, the Cobb shelf maps off the site say use with a TBE and UP and specify what turbo. the old maps use to have a map for Injen. that was dropped and now it says to use only the stock intake. But you can use a CAI and BOV with the Cobb AP as long as you get a map made up from road or dyno tuning it.


O RLY?
-Kevlar- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB APS CAI and BOV etirums Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 2 02-25-2007 03:26 PM
WTB: APS CAI and BOV wrxwhip Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 0 09-19-2006 11:04 AM
CAI and BOV ? HELP! wrxwhip Newbies & FAQs 61 03-01-2005 03:40 PM
Newb Question! Cai And Bov scooby-custer Newbies & FAQs 17 10-14-2004 08:38 PM
Removing MBC: Low boost. Do I reset ECU? Spool_up Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 03-27-2004 12:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.