Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday October 1, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2006, 12:29 AM   #1
electricpork
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 9498
Join Date: Aug 2001
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Detroit
Vehicle:
03 Bugeye
Junkyards are fun!

Default How to find my Ecutek license number?

Having gotten an Ecutek tune by what I presume to be a licensed vendor, I assume that I have purchased an Ecutek license. If so, how do I find out what my license number/ID is? Is it encoded into the ECU as part of the tune, and will I be able to see it if I have delta dash plugged in?

<---no delta dash (yet), only OpenECU.

TIA,

Ben
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
electricpork is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-10-2006, 11:31 AM   #2
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Not sure if DD actually reads a license number, but Ecutek changes a series of bytes near the end of the ROM that seems to be their license. I've noticed this when helping others tune their ecutek reflashes with the openecu stuff. Sometimes, the tuner also puts their name in that area when viewed as characters instead of hex. They also change one of the zeroes in the copyright year to the letter "o".

Why do you need to know you license? If you need a retune, the Ecutek software will verify your license. No need to have it written down, if there is even an actual "license number". And if you have a backup copy with openecu tools (before the lock-down), then your safe.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 12:56 PM   #3
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

I don't think you really get a license number. Your license is in your ECU stored in a proprietary format. Even if you knew the data values, it wouldn't do you any good. There is no reason to have to know it.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 08:24 PM   #4
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

The tuners/EcuTek really should provide everyone with paperwork to the fact. After all, what happens if you're out eating and something flattens the crap out of your car? Well, you say that you'd just go to your tuner and he'll understand the circumstances and just flash a new ECU for you to use with your old license. Well, what happens if the tuner absolutely refuses to be on our side... you have no proof that you bought a license. But then again, this is probably what EcuTek wants... so you're forced to pay for another license. Hey, as long as I have my keycode for my XP install I can use whatever CD (of the same software version) I want and install it back on my PC. Saying the license is in a non-tactile format is just asking for trouble. If I had to compare the license you get from EcuTek to the form of payment you'd be handing them I'd tell you to write IOU on a piece of paper and hand it to them.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
how to find a phone number? (not stalking) legacytuner671 Off-Topic 5 07-29-2008 09:51 PM
Switching from Cingular to Verizon... How to keep my number? brucelee Off-Topic 16 04-18-2007 11:33 PM
Is Delta Dash a stand-alone or an add-on option to the basic EcuTek license? chrisarella Commercial ECU Reflashes 11 08-04-2006 12:26 PM
How To Edit Out The License Plate Number in a Photo of the Car? gate9797 General Community 16 11-10-2005 07:28 PM
how to find the build # of my STi? Irishman General Community 0 02-29-2004 05:44 PM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.