Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Monday July 14, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-10-2006, 01:07 PM   #1
Token-Negro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81659
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Sammamish
Vehicle:
2010 Fozzy XT
Ice Silver Metallic

Default edit my Ecutek reflash

Can i go into my ecu and turn off codes with open source software if i have a ecutek reflash? i need to turn off some CEL's What tools do i need?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Token-Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 01:38 PM   #2
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Technically yes, you can.

BUT, soon all Ecutek reflashes will be locked down. If you have an older one (who knows how old, ask Ecutek), there is nothing keeping you from modifying your ECU, retuning it fully with Openecu stuff, then flashing it back to the car. But next time you take it in for a tune you may get locked out. There is a sticky in this forum about this issue that you can read if you want more info.

If you haven't had your car tuned in 6+ months you are probably still ok.

In all reality, unless you know what you're doing, it is probably best to take your car into a pro and have them disable the CELs for you.

If you really want to get involved tuning your own car I suggest spending a few weeks or months reading the Openecu.org forums.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 01:40 PM   #3
Token-Negro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81659
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Sammamish
Vehicle:
2010 Fozzy XT
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

Just on the path of trying to disable some TGV's and at this point im about to just buy a access port.
Token-Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 01:40 PM   #4
Token-Negro
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 81659
Join Date: Feb 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Sammamish
Vehicle:
2010 Fozzy XT
Ice Silver Metallic

Default

04/05 Ecu
Token-Negro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2006, 01:51 PM   #5
colby
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 15918
Join Date: Mar 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
08 STI/02 PGT WRX
DGM / Orange

Default

Assuming the ECU is not locked, you can definitely do it with the OpenECU stuff, although it may not be simple and obvious (the CEL stuff is not integrated into EcuFlash yet, so you would need to edit the hex file to delete CELs). You're in the neighborhood, so just stop by or email me if you have any questions.

Colby
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTT MA: My 02 Ecutek Reflashed ECU for stock 02+ ECU NewGwrx NESIC Private Classifieds 5 11-20-2006 07:57 AM
Can you run a "blank" UTEC map over an EcuTek reflash, in which the reflash controls? scooterforever Engine Management & Tuning 42 05-04-2005 11:27 PM
Dealer Reflashing my Ecutek industrial Engine Management & Tuning 6 02-28-2004 05:04 AM
my Ecutek reflash dyno # dana New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 16 07-26-2003 11:45 AM
Yay! TurboXS/Ecutek reflash! silvercharged Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 12-20-2002 07:48 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.