Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 13, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-19-2006, 01:56 PM   #1
BigJonSTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113559
Join Date: Apr 2006
Default Cannot initialize Accessport.......HELP

I have an 06 sti. I hooked up the green test connectors and ran through the steps to the first stg 1 map marrying. The ap starts up.... lets me pick a map to flash.... the goes to initialize. IT stays on the initializing screen and doesnt move. The are no little progress dots traveling across.... and it doesnt revert to an error screen at all. It just stays on " initializing..." with a flashing cursor below it.

Its like it wont communicate with the car. I tried a freinds obd2 cable.... and it does the same thing. I tried resetting the ecu for the heck of it.....same problem. I tried starting the car the shutting off multiple times..... selecting base maps to flash....etc etc.......all have the same problem. It just stays on the initializing screen.

I even tried using the open ecu software to try reading the ecu. We could not get a logfile to show up. It wont show the stock map at all.

Im thinking that there is a problem with my ecu communication in the car somewhere. I havnt had any error codes...check engine lights....or anything else go wrong with the car. I only have 4000k miles on her too.

Im wondering how if there is anything I can try..... any other connectors that may be disconnected... etc,etc. I read something about a white INIT connector somewhere, but I dont know what that is or where to look.

Im wondering about maybe taking my car to the dealership about this problem. What should I tell them though.... Umm my ecu wont talk to my Cobb AP......lol. or... Hey, can you guys try reading my ecu to see if there are any error codes......I got a check engine light the other day. I dont know how I can bs them into checking for/ fix the issue.


Help me out...... Please!
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
BigJonSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2006, 02:16 PM   #2
BigJonSTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113559
Join Date: Apr 2006
Default

Havnt tried it on anyone elses car because I dont know anyone else with an 06 sti... And the Ap seems to work ok up till the point that it stays initializing.

I called Cobb and told them about the problem..... they said "Interesting, I dont know whats going on....." " As far as checking out the car is concerned.... youll just have to take care of that somewhere..." They ran me through all the usual... make sure cables are connected, make sure test connectors are plugged, check that the car is on and button is pressed before 10 seconds.....yadda...yadda!

Im thinking...Wow no kidding! They told me I could send the ap back if I wanted them to look at it, but thats it.....!

Im just not 100% sure if its the AP thats the problem though. There is something going on here with ecu communication. Maybe the AP just has an problem to where it wont talk to the car.... Its just that the openecu program didnt seem to do it either...

Im just surprised that Cobb wouldnt try to help me figure this out and come up some more ideas that that. Its like the guy I spoke with didnt seem at all interested in really trying to figure it out with me.

Last edited by BigJonSTi; 07-19-2006 at 02:23 PM.
BigJonSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 10:44 PM   #3
BigJonSTi
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113559
Join Date: Apr 2006
Default

Wow, thanks for all the responses.....lol. Thats the last time I post on this forum.... I should have listened to my friends that told me about the people at nabisco not helping others out....
BigJonSTi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2006, 11:01 PM   #4
EmsTrauma
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83223
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: www.ivanlockert.com
Vehicle:
03 Wrx
blue

Default

Make sure the Cable is plugged in to the Ap nice and tight. Make sure the battery is charged and make sure the key is in the on position. IF that dont work i know whit my car 03 wrx i had to connect the 2 green wires and i had a jumper pack that i had to put on another wire. Is your car going into test mode? I.e. fans turning on and off? If thats not working then im not to sure what could happen. Where did you buy the AP from maybe its been married to another car and you not know it? Sorry if that dont help any but i tried
EmsTrauma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 07:59 PM   #5
boundy3
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 54598
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Orlando
Vehicle:
2004 WRX Sedan
WR Blue Pearl #68 STX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigJonSTi
Im wondering how if there is anything I can try..... any other connectors that may be disconnected... etc,etc. I read something about a white INIT connector somewhere, but I dont know what that is or where to look.

You DEFINATELY need the initilization connector to marry the AP/Switch base maps. There should be a little white connector that you attach to a plug, it is near the green connectors.

Try that, I bet it will solve you problem.

Edit: Sorry, didn't realize the STi didn't need an initilization connector

Last edited by boundy3; 07-22-2006 at 05:25 PM.
boundy3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2006, 11:47 PM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

STis don't need the flash block. I would do as the other poster suggested and make sure your fans are cycling. That will verify you are actually in diagnostics mode. If they don't come on and cycle with the green connectors attached, then you may have an issue with the another set of diagnostics connector on the passenger side which are sometimes not connected by the dealership during the pre-delivery inspection.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2002 wrx keeps overheating. Dealer cannot find prob. Help? shaneconaway Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 14 06-21-2006 04:32 PM
P&P VF22 VS. P&P VF34 cannot decide need help evoh8ter Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 16 09-21-2005 03:50 AM
05 STi AccessPort, cannot initialize ECU! funsti Engine Management & Tuning 10 03-12-2005 03:18 AM
initial d, help me out MyScoobie28 Off-Topic 8 10-30-2004 06:11 PM
Cannot Search Forums...Help! links_courses Off-Topic 6 08-23-2003 10:59 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.