Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday April 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-14-2006, 12:05 PM   #1
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Angry ap problem?

alright here it is so i just bought a new ap because i didnt like how utec was set up. i married the ap to my ecu and flashed the stg2 93 oct. map to it, i had a manual boost controller inside i didnt realize to later on in the night so i put the factory restrictor T back in place and hooked up the solonoid again. i did it because cobb uses the factory one to control boost so the mbc was useless. so i took it for a ride and the boost level was at 9 psi at peak. so i thought maybe i oput the restrictor in wrong so i flipped it then the boost just spiked. =/ i ended up just leaving the mbc in any idea why this happened?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:09 PM   #2
blindstuff
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100767
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Caracas, Venezuela
Vehicle:
2005 Impreza WRX CGM
Enginuity Tuned Stg 2

Default

Probably because you have to be careful when you install things and do it the right way...
blindstuff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:14 PM   #3
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

It would probably be a good idea to reset the ECU when you change stuff like that.

Also, are you sure the boost control was in the proper configuration?
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:23 PM   #4
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

yes it was all set up right, my frend said it might be that the ecu doesnt know what to boost because i had the controller in when it was flashed
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 12:48 PM   #5
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

This isnt an AP problem BTW, It's mechanical setup problem.

You need to get your car closer to what Cobb made the maps for.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 01:06 PM   #6
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

the only diffrence is the mbc or stock everything else is what the set up is for...

Tbe, stock bypass valve, stock airbox, uppipe. isnt that the setup?
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 02:00 PM   #7
Quack
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57264
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Aurora, OH
Vehicle:
2004 18g Wagon - WRB
PDX Tuned - 329whp/315wtq

Default

try resetting the ECU (dis-connect the battery)
check to see if there is any damage to the hoses.
reseat the electrical connection to the FBC
Quack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 02:11 PM   #8
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

alright ill give that a tri tonight and ill get back to it. thankx bro
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2006, 03:14 PM   #9
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

Sending a pm.
parker/slc/gc8fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 08:39 PM   #10
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

if i reset the ecu by just disconnecting the battery would i have to plug ap and reload the stg2 map?
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2006, 10:00 PM   #11
pclement
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92332
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Aspen White

Default

Plug in your AP and select the "Show Current Map" option. ;-)
pclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 11:53 AM   #12
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by twrx2002
if i reset the ecu by just disconnecting the battery would i have to plug ap and reload the stg2 map?
No, base maps flash to the ECU, realtime maps are lost when disconnecting the battery.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pclement
Plug in your AP and select the "Show Current Map" option. ;-)
Actually, the Show Current Map option, you could plug into your computer and hit that option and it'll show what you last flashed. It doesn't read what is actually flashed into the ecu, it keeps an internal memory of the last base map flash you did. If that makes sense...
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 01:05 PM   #13
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

alright so im still flashed to stg2 i think i have an idea what it may be.
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 04:39 PM   #14
pclement
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 92332
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chicago, IL
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Aspen White

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master2192
Actually, the Show Current Map option, you could plug into your computer and hit that option and it'll show what you last flashed. It doesn't read what is actually flashed into the ecu, it keeps an internal memory of the last base map flash you did. If that makes sense...
Yeah my bad. Says so right in the manual. Thanks for the clarification.
pclement is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2006, 09:29 PM   #15
loudaccord
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99489
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
The Black Pearl
Yarr!!

Default

did you get the problem fixed? I have the same dumb problem on my 06 sti. My stage 1 was fine, and just put in my downpipe today(still on stage 1) and was seeing 16psi. I got home and flashed to stg2 and can only get 10 psi now.
loudaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2006, 05:33 PM   #16
loudaccord
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99489
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Vehicle:
The Black Pearl
Yarr!!

Default

I reverted the AP back to stock and reset the ecu. Now I am hitting 14 psi now, so I know mine has something to do with the AP. Before reverting it back to stock, I tried the HWG stg 2 map and that didn't do anything, I was still at 10psi.
loudaccord is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2006, 12:02 PM   #17
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

i think my prob is a restrictor ball in line with the turbo housing line but didt get the hose yet so ill let you know
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:12 AM   #18
brokenarrow
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 119767
Join Date: Jul 2006
Vehicle:
2006 wrx
silver

Default

DID you ever fix your boosting problem..cuz i am haveing the same problem I am only hitting 9 pis ..
brokenarrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:23 PM   #19
twrx2002
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106880
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: LongIsland
Vehicle:
2002 WrX
BlAcK PeArL

Default

yea man mine was that there must be a lil restrictor copper ball inline with the turbo housing
twrx2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2006, 12:42 PM   #20
NoCalSubie
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94301
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: SFO
Default

Is that restrictor T clean? Make sure there nothing in there when stored away.
NoCalSubie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another AP problem 04AspenWhiteWRX Engine Management & Tuning 16 06-10-2005 05:09 PM
Cobb AP problem scooby_wooby Engine Management & Tuning 10 03-01-2005 11:02 AM
AP Problem Flexx999 Engine Management & Tuning 6 02-08-2005 06:02 PM
lets hear about your AP problems,,, mistaare Engine Management & Tuning 61 02-03-2005 10:41 PM
AP problem for FXT speedypete Engine Management & Tuning 3 08-19-2004 02:21 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.