Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday April 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-26-2006, 06:43 PM   #1
chrisarella
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35584
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: www.chrisarella.com
Vehicle:
1965 FFR Roadster
Coyote + TR-6060

Default

Wirelessly posted (Treo 600: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 95; PalmSource; Blazer 3.0) 16;160x160)

As the title says:

Is Delta Dash a stand-alone or an add-on option to the basic EcuTek license?

The reason I ask: I currently don't have EM and I have an opportunity to buy a Delta Dash new from someone here for a good price. I'm not sure if I get it if I'll still need to get my ecu flashed or if I can just load the Delta Dash and go. I looked on their website but it didn't really answer my question. Will I still need to purchase a license above and beyond what comes with the new Delta Dash? If not, can I tune with it or will I still need to go to an EcuTek tuner and just use the Delta Dash for logging and real-time analyzing/diagnostics?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
chrisarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 06:50 PM   #2
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Get the new Ecutek system that comes with the Delta Dash license included in the package. /Thread


You can't really tune with it, it's primary purpose is for logging. Granted you can change a few values, but they are not saved once you turn off your car.
The Delta Dash is licensed by a USB or parallel dongle that plugs into your laptop (end-user supplied)

The Delta Dash is independent of an Ecutek tune.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 07:07 PM   #3
JRSCCivic98
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 67080
Join Date: Jul 2004
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teiva-boy
Get the new Ecutek system that comes with the Delta Dash license included in the package.
There's no package of such for non-DBW cars. Only available for 04+STI or 06+WRX as of right now.
JRSCCivic98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 07:21 PM   #4
chrisarella
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 35584
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: www.chrisarella.com
Vehicle:
1965 FFR Roadster
Coyote + TR-6060

Default

Wirelessly posted (Treo 600: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 6.0; Windows 95; PalmSource; Blazer 3.0) 16;160x160)

So how do I know what I am buying? Here is the FS thread:
http://wap.nasioc.com/GetThread.php?t=1054409&f=9&bat=&PHPSESSID=0da947a 44de6e16e95c02bdc12c99b87
chrisarella is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 07:37 PM   #5
nhluhr
John Wayne Toilet Paper
Moderator
 
Member#: 7327
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Vehicle:
2008 Mazdaspeed3
2006 Wrangler Sport

Default

DeltaDash is not specific to any particular car - the same software works on all cars it supports.

HOWEVER, you should know that it can only be used with three different ECU types. For instance, if it was already used on a 2002WRX, a 2003RS, and a 2005 STI, that means that you will forever have to use it with those three types of ECUs and nothing else, unless you pay ECUTek to reset your license.

I can't read the FS thread cause it's a WAP link and it doesn't seem to work in my browser, but make sure you have it cleared up what you're buying.
nhluhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 07:57 PM   #6
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

It's dangerous buying a DeltaDash like that. You never know whether or not it's license for three different calibration IDs has been consumed.

Personally, I'd go for the $80 Tactrix and the free ecuExplorer software from Tari. You get all the logging functionality minus the road dyno.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 08:46 PM   #7
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

I'd also recommend just getting a tactrix cable and ecuexplorer for basic logging. Maybe not as fancy as DD, but it works and only costs $80 for the cable.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 09:57 AM   #8
jkbrand
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 107118
Join Date: Feb 2006
Vehicle:
'02 STi Wagon
White

Default

After buying this cable, I gotta say: I should be looking at getting into the cable-making business. At best, about $10 worth of connectors; $5 of wire.
jkbrand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 10:50 AM   #9
chuckdez
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 120187
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Fort Walton Beach, FL
Vehicle:
2005 STI Stage2.5
Obsidian Black Pearl

Default

Check out the lastest version of ecuEdit. With nice logging features.. Works with Innovate Widebands.

Screenshots here.
http://www.epifansoft.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=3

Logger
- Innovate Wideband Lambdas support (Innovate ActiveX component)
- SSM (Subaru Select Monitor) support, DTC reader, Custom Memory Logger
- Custom graphs quantity (2 parameters on each graph)
- Custom dash item quantity (grid X by Y)
- Scheme saver/reader. Save/restore all selected log parameters
- Warnings (set Max,Min values for each Log parameter)
- All Logger parameter's description in XML

Log Viewer
- Functions
- Calculated Custom Parameters
- Graphs, Custom 2D,3D graphs
- RPM and Speed based road dyno
- Custom log table with graph (surface, bar plot)
- Logs overlay (shifting, hiding)
- Range selector, quickly select log data by range. Example: select full throttle range for custom 2d,3d graph analysis.
chuckdez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 11:56 AM   #10
Jon [in CT]
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 2992
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Connecticut, USA
Vehicle:
02 WRX Sedan
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbrand
After buying this cable, I gotta say: I should be looking at getting into the cable-making business.
Go for it.

Last edited by Jon [in CT]; 08-03-2006 at 12:02 PM.
Jon [in CT] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 03:34 PM   #11
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

And a shed load of R&D. Feel free to make your own cable and get the drivers and protocols working.

p.s. There is also electronics inside the connector ensuring proper baud rates and voltage.


Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbrand
After buying this cable, I gotta say: I should be looking at getting into the cable-making business. At best, about $10 worth of connectors; $5 of wire.
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 12:26 PM   #12
Jaxx
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 177
Join Date: Aug 1999
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Boise,Idaho,USA
Vehicle:
The 93 Imp W/EJ20K
flat black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jkbrand
After buying this cable, I gotta say: I should be looking at getting into the cable-making business. At best, about $10 worth of connectors; $5 of wire.
walk around compusa ... then a discount computer store .. you might say the same thing


+1 for taxtrix
Jaxx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
V4 stand alone or open source tune? Rei_Akira Pre-2002 Factory Turbo Powertrain 20 05-04-2009 03:10 PM
what is DELTA DASH??? 2002bugeye Car Audio, Video & Security 1 12-13-2005 07:49 PM
Management for a strange swap - stand alone or carbs? mranlet Engine Management & Tuning 7 10-08-2004 10:58 AM
2005 Sti. Radio standard or add-on option? Naka General Community 10 05-03-2004 03:46 PM
are you still using delta dash with stand alone utec ect? Turbo Tin Can Engine Management & Tuning 2 10-01-2002 05:10 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.