Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday May 22, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2006, 11:34 AM   #1
Bbasso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66235
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Carolina !
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Impreza WRX hrmmm... Top speed with AP ?

I am wondering... What top speed my 05 WRX with stg2 will achive?

Iirc the speed limiter is removed when using the AP so it should theoretically stop at the end of the gearing... Correct? (lets not take into account the aero factors)

Oh- (Auto tranny)

Has anyone been able to test this on paper or in life?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 07-29-2006, 11:55 AM   #2
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

The Accessport only removes the speed limiter, the speed limiter on the WRX is the boost control turns off. I am not sure if the auto trannys have another speed limiter. In any case, you'll be able to do over 130 easy. You'll eventually be drag limited before you run out of revs.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 12:06 PM   #3
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

On the 4EAT speed is limmited by the TCU at 130 MPH . Cobbs Speed limmiter removed on all transmissions.. statement is wrong.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 12:11 PM   #4
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr
On the 4EAT speed is limmited by the TCU at 130 MPH . Cobbs Speed limmiter removed on all transmissions.. statement is wrong.

that's interesting. Not callling you a liar or anything, but do you have proof of this?

anyone with an auto can verify speeds over 130 with AP? (via GPS etc).
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 01:44 PM   #5
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Well... When I saw their change on the newer maps for eliminating the stock speed limmiting... being eliminated I upgraded my Base map.. and with a big smile I went out to try it out and, Just like stock the engine cut out at 131 or 132 MPH acording to the speedo.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2006, 02:24 PM   #6
Bbasso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66235
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Carolina !
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Default

130ish... Oh well.
Not that I have a need for more :P

Thanks for the replies.
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 12:46 AM   #7
Beebs99
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 73803
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Gamehenge
Vehicle:
2008 4 Door WRX
OBP

Default

Hope you guys don't get pulled over or worse, in a wreck. Just not the safest thing to do.
Beebs99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 12:56 AM   #8
rallymarty
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 17418
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Littleton, CO
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
2003 4Runner

Default

i've been to 135. car starts to hit the wall about there (stock) but, i would think the gearing would be good to about 155-160 if the hp is there.
rallymarty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 01:29 AM   #9
575rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112024
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bends epic singletrack
Vehicle:
03 hybrid 6spd wgn
Santa Cruz Carbon Bronson

Default

I've had mine up to 135 and still pulling but a corner was coming up on me REAL quick. I have PerfectPower Em, uppipe, and MBC. Actually, I didn't have the EM when I did this. I haven't done a top speed run since its been installed. I think it would go 140 or more....that's a huge ticket or death with a wreck.
Admittedly not a good thing to do on public roads.
575rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 10:23 AM   #10
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

So... are you guys saying your car made it past 135 MPH with a 4EAT transmission.?? Because my car's TCU/ECU cuts out the engine fuel at 130 MPH.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2006, 11:48 AM   #11
575rider
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 112024
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Bends epic singletrack
Vehicle:
03 hybrid 6spd wgn
Santa Cruz Carbon Bronson

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr
So... are you guys saying your car made it past 135 MPH with a 4EAT transmission.?? Because my car's TCU/ECU cuts out the engine fuel at 130 MPH.
No, its a 5 spd...think I may be off topic here!!
575rider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 01:11 AM   #12
SilverWRX500
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 106567
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Burlington VT
Vehicle:
04 EJ207 20g
Silver

Default

ive had my car well past the 140 mph with stage 2 cobb full hks exhaust FMIC
SilverWRX500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 08:25 AM   #13
BNastyer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 116897
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston, Medford, MA
Vehicle:
'07 328xi
Jet Black

Default

stage 1 got me to 145 ish.....but you have to wonder how accurate the speedo is at those speeds, i was really movin and the car was pretty strong up to that point but didn't seem to want to go faster than that. Then again, you need a lot of road to go form 145mph to 150mph so maybe if i had another 2 miles or so it could have gone quicker.....but then again it's just stage 1 so hopefully when stage 2 comes along 150mph will be just as acheivable as 145
BNastyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 10:43 AM   #14
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

Well that's great that your cars can go over 130 MPH... but the OP and I would like to know if an AUTOMATIC wrx can go over 130 MPH with a Cobb map.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-07-2006, 11:55 AM   #15
Bbasso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66235
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Carolina !
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wrxdrvr
Well that's great that your cars can go over 130 MPH... but the OP and I would like to know if an AUTOMATIC wrx can go over 130 MPH with a Cobb map.
Yup sort of at least .


Automatic f00ls
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 02:47 PM   #16
The Blue Pilot
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101880
Join Date: Dec 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: 2 Freeway
Vehicle:
2012 Mustang GT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Beebs99
Hope you guys don't get pulled over or worse, in a wreck. Just not the safest thing to do.
At that speed, getting pulled over would be worse
The Blue Pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2006, 11:21 PM   #17
sleestak6326
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100040
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Fort Worth,TX
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon sold
07 Ford F150 :(

Default

Just past 140mph @ 5500 rpm and ran out of room on a closed course
sleestak6326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 01:03 AM   #18
Bbasso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66235
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Carolina !
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Default

Closed course... AT NIGHT?

And for some reason I'm thinking you have a manual tranny.

Also your info says Stg3 PDX tuned, So you fail to read the question I posted.

Please tell me I'm wrong
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 08:29 AM   #19
BNastyer
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 116897
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Boston, Medford, MA
Vehicle:
'07 328xi
Jet Black

Default

bbasso you're being an @$$hole.....your post says "hrmmm... Top speed with AP ?" so we are all posting our top speed w/AP. so you have an automatic, big woop, i have a manual.....do we still both have a WRX.....YES, by everyone posting their times, whether it's with a manual or an automatic, you are able to see how those cars are geared and therefore able to see how the different stages and transmission set-ups will perform and take that data to estimate what yours will be.


oh btw, here's a novel idea, if you're so fed up with reading all of our posts (not too many people have an automatic WRX; they account for 15% of sales) why don't you stop mouthing off to everyone here and grow a sac and find out for yourself what the top speed is?
BNastyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 10:20 AM   #20
Bbasso
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 66235
Join Date: Jul 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: South Carolina !
Vehicle:
2005 WRX
Silver

Default

WHOA....

hahahaha.
Bbasso is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 11:12 AM   #21
sleestak6326
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 100040
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Fort Worth,TX
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Wagon sold
07 Ford F150 :(

Default

I was at Stage 2 when that pic was taken back in March. I do have a manual trans but I figured some people would be interested in what a 06 Stage 2 WRX is capable of.

Last edited by sleestak6326; 08-10-2006 at 11:20 AM.
sleestak6326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2006, 07:32 PM   #22
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

I think basicaly we (I) want, would like to know, if anybody has gone faster then 130-131 MPh in a Cobb stage 2 automatic wrx... as my car hasn't, because of the TCU signaling engine to cut out at 130 MPh. Speed limiter is still in effect even though Cobb say's the speed limmiter has been removed in all transmission types. Come on Cobb 4EAT guys try it out. ....It's only scarry the first time.
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2006, 07:59 AM   #23
criscross79
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12263
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
'02 WRX SRP 4EAT
XPT Stg II

Default

The 4EAT is limited to 128 mph (as shown on my GPS) by the TCU. The AP does not modify the TCU so even if you had 1000hp you would still be limited to 130mph. I heard that at one point Cobb was working on a device to edit the TCU but because of lack of interest the project was dropped. I don't know of anyone who makes something to reflash or replace the stock TCU.

I hope this was clear enough

Chris
criscross79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 03:25 AM   #24
criscross79
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 12263
Join Date: Nov 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: San Antonio, Tx
Vehicle:
'02 WRX SRP 4EAT
XPT Stg II

Default

Just an update:
It seems what I said in the post above this is wrong.
I reflashed to stage 2 the other day using openecu.org software/maps and tonight on a closed course I hit 150mph (GPS verified) .... I'm not sure what the difference is between the AP and the stage 2 map that I have now that eliminates the limiter, but somehow it's no longer there

Chris
criscross79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-10-2007, 11:34 AM   #25
wrxdrvr
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79222
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Canada BC
Vehicle:
'09 STi 297.5 WHP
Blue

Default

So, this new map is not a Cobb map that you went over the 130MPh with.? Did you load the openecu.org/map onto the AP and re-flashed as a new base map.?
wrxdrvr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top speed with a roof box? The Green Monkey Interior & Exterior Modification 25 11-29-2007 10:25 AM
Top Speed is Top Notch!!! burnin4 South East Region Forum 28 03-27-2005 12:00 PM
Top speed on 02WRX with only Aerodynamic mods? Davenow Proven Power Bragging 28 06-17-2003 07:02 AM
Hitting Top Speed with some problems ! 2kGT Legacy Forum 11 03-27-2001 10:44 AM
Top mph!. Drag Limited? Whats your top speed? imprezawd Technical Forum Archive 36 05-29-2000 11:58 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2015, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.