Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday April 19, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Canada Region Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Regional Areas > Canada Region Forum > Western Canada

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-29-2006, 03:02 PM   #1
Phong780
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 111709
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default Need A Protune!!

Hey guys...I know i just missed out on the PDX guys cause i had to work that weekend. Just wondering if theres anywhere else that does protuning in alberta? I need another protune..
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Phong780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 12:02 PM   #2
markus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 438
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: St. Albert, AB, Canada
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White on Gold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phong780
Hey guys...I know i just missed out on the PDX guys cause i had to work that weekend. Just wondering if theres anywhere else that does protuning in alberta? I need another protune..
What are you running form EM?
markus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 01:08 PM   #3
wrxfool
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98900
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Vehicle:
2006 STi
black on gold

Default

ecutek if I'm not mistaken
wrxfool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 02:58 PM   #4
markus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 438
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: St. Albert, AB, Canada
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White on Gold

Default

PDX does not do ECUTek because they don't believe in reflashes if memory serves me correctly.
markus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 05:32 PM   #5
Blaine B.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113050
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
93 TSi AWD
White/Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by markus
PDX does not do ECUTek because they don't believe in reflashes if memory serves me correctly.
If that is true, it strikes me as odd becaue Jarrad runs ECUTek with UTEC over top for the NLTS and Launch Control that the UTEC offers in his Legacy.
Blaine B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 05:33 PM   #6
Blaine B.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113050
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
93 TSi AWD
White/Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phong780
Hey guys...I know i just missed out on the PDX guys cause i had to work that weekend. Just wondering if theres anywhere else that does protuning in alberta? I need another protune..
We are currently pondering purchasing the Protuner Software from Cobb. Will keep everybody updated as things develop.
Blaine B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 05:59 PM   #7
Blaine B.
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113050
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton,Alberta,Canada
Vehicle:
93 TSi AWD
White/Black

Default

Thought that I should mention that we are fully capable of tuning the UTEC, it is what we WERE running on the shop's 05 STi before it got turned back to stock for trade in against the new 07 STi that is on it's way.
Blaine B. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 06:21 PM   #8
markus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 438
Join Date: Oct 1999
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: St. Albert, AB, Canada
Vehicle:
2004 STi
White on Gold

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine B.
If that is true, it strikes me as odd becaue Jarrad runs ECUTek with UTEC over top for the NLTS and Launch Control that the UTEC offers in his Legacy.
I did not know that. I stand corrected.
markus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-30-2006, 10:45 PM   #9
Phong780
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 111709
Join Date: Apr 2006
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
2004 STi
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Blaine B.
We are currently pondering purchasing the Protuner Software from Cobb. Will keep everybody updated as things develop.
Yes i have ecutek and if theres nobody in the area that does this i just might have to switch and get protuned
Phong780 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 02:02 PM   #10
Geoff
Warden of NASIOC Timeout
Super Moderator
 
Member#: 592
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: P-Ville, Texas
Vehicle:
'08 X3 3.0si 6MT
'09 135i 6MT & '08 STi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Phong780
Yes i have ecutek and if theres nobody in the area that does this i just might have to switch and get protuned
PDX does EcuTek tuning. If you've got a fairly standard setup, you can mail them your ECU with a mod list and they can reflash it to match your mods before sending it back. Downside is that you've down until you get your ECU back. One thing that makes the AccessPort nice.
Geoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 03:05 PM   #11
ryeguy
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70105
Join Date: Sep 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: E Town AB
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WR Blue

Default

Just to throw in, if you look at the PDX sti it says EcuTek right on it...
ryeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 03:44 PM   #12
Smoke Show
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 25129
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Fort Nelson
Vehicle:
2003 wrx stg4++
kills:4trny,mtr,trbo,clth

Default

i know i've talked about doing it to my car with them and they seemed more than willing.. i just wanted to make sure it was worth it before i spend all the money and put my car down for a bit.
Smoke Show is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2006, 04:52 PM   #13
02WHITEDUB
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 96793
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Edmonton
Vehicle:
02 ProTuned TD04
Now with more clunks!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoke Show
i know i've talked about doing it to my car with them and they seemed more than willing.. i just wanted to make sure it was worth it before i spend all the money and put my car down for a bit.
My ProTune was definitely worth it.
I'm making more power and holding boost better.
I'm also getting better fuel economy after my first 2 tanks...believe me, I flogged my car plenty in that time!

Here's the upside to being AP tuned. I'm peaking boost a bit high in gears 4-5 (17-18psi) so I'm having PDX just e-mail me a revision with lower boost targets. No mailing my ECU. That makes the AP worth it right there, IMO.
02WHITEDUB is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I Need A Protune kingstarlet General Community 1 11-29-2007 06:59 AM
do i really need a protune dethstar764 Newbies & FAQs 40 10-16-2007 10:18 PM
NEED A PROTUNE in SO CAL subysoldier Engine Management & Tuning 3 05-04-2007 12:24 PM
SPT Intake needs a protune? HAL1 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 04-29-2007 01:18 AM
Street tuner needed for ProTune?? ScoobySnacker AccessPort 7 09-20-2006 01:29 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.