Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 27, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-01-2006, 04:46 AM   #1
ControlFreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99200
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Default Well I was close to being stage 3...

Well, I'm almost done installing the vf39 in my car and I'm learning one of lifes funny little lessons. I came inside and downloaded the new map from cobb's website and thought, hey I'm getting close. I pulled my AP out from under the bed and took a look at the connecters. Already I know I'm trouble because the PC sync cables are the old style "com" connecters. Just as I assumed I took a look behind the computer and there was one COM port, I hooked up the AP and launched the software, and of course the program cannot find the AP on any ports.

I guess I'm looking for some advice on another way to do this, I read through the manual and there was a lot of mumbo jumbo about going into the BIOS, I know I don't have the knowledge and I'm not even sure that I need to do this. Is there any other way to do this that anyone else has done before?

Or am I limited to finding someone with an old school computer with alot of COM ports that aren't already in use.

* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ControlFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 10:19 AM   #2
Hawke
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 25777
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Default

You have to set up the AP to sync with the computer. It's one of the menu selections. Did you do that? If not, it won't find the AP.
Hawke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 11:42 AM   #3
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

^^^ That and you may have to turn on the COM port in the bios as you mentioned. But if you never turned it off yourself, then it is probably already on.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 01:04 PM   #4
ControlFreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99200
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Default

^^^ That's exactly right, I'm not to computer savy but the book did mention that if I never screwed with it, it shoud be on.

I had the accesport in sync to computer mode as well when I tried this. I'm thinking about going to best buy and buying an adapter that will turn the Com port side into a USB.. Will this still work, I'm not sure if the AP program can be told to look on the the USB port for the AP...

Confusing...
ControlFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 03:33 PM   #5
06rexwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 114730
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Vehicle:
2006 WRX Limited Wag
9.9@142

Default

buy a usb to serial converter
06rexwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 04:55 PM   #6
MF-DIF
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62197
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Vehicle:
GTO /WRX/SV650

Default

Make sure you are running the newest cobb map mgr software as well. It corrects some of the detection errors.
MF-DIF is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 05:14 PM   #7
ControlFreak
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99200
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma, WA
Default

Thanks for the help guys, I went down to best buy, and one 40 $ adapter cable later I got everything up and running..

Thanks for the help..

PS 40 bucks for a cable sucks.
ControlFreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2006, 06:38 PM   #8
Spenk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7164
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Arizona Bay
Vehicle:
2000 Miata LS
Evo Orange Mica (1/644)

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ControlFreak
PS 40 bucks for a cable sucks.

Speed costs money.
Spenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2006, 11:19 AM   #9
tortuga
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 99173
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: TX
Vehicle:
2008 Legacy GT LTD
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ControlFreak
Thanks for the help guys, I went down to best buy, and one 40 $ adapter cable later I got everything up and running..

Thanks for the help..

PS 40 bucks for a cable sucks.
Huh, yea, there is a huge mark up on the cables. That is where they make all their money. When my wife worked for CompUSA I got a $50 cable for like 5 bucks.

Oh, and enjoy your Stage III. I'm loving mine. One word of advice though... start saving for that 20g and fuel system upgrades. You'll be wanting more in a few months.

Good luck.
tortuga is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The US was *this close* to being a country that drove on the wrong side of the road.. edkwon Off-Topic 15 05-17-2007 03:00 PM
Well I was close to being stage 3... ControlFreak Engine Management & Tuning 3 08-01-2006 06:19 PM
I thought there was going to be a 250HP 3.0 Legacy as well for 2005? HB_Dad News & Rumors 21 05-04-2004 12:51 PM
Well its getting close to being done! ImprezedRS Member's Car Gallery 30 04-20-2003 04:14 AM
Man! I was so close to being a Guru! Eric SS Off-Topic 30 10-13-2002 09:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.