Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday April 17, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-18-2006, 04:03 PM   #1
St0k3d
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48603
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2008 STi

Default Open ECU Opinions

Ok i have the Tactrix cable and everything i need

im asking from guys with experience

im gonna be sitting down with a VERY experience tuner and a dyno(never tuned with an open ecu program though)... and wanna know what i should do to make this easiest on us

I have all the popular programs recommended.. i know how to datalog, i know how to pull my ROM file off my ecu (did that already)

basically what im looking for is what program for editing should we use... ecuflash? enginuity? etc

im also kinda confused about having to convert files to make it able to be edited...

anyone got any knowledge to make this go smoothly?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
St0k3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 04:21 PM   #2
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

What revision is your rom?

You can use Enginuity which already comes with definitions. Or, you can use a program called Xmlwrite which will generate definitions for Ecuflash or Ecuedit. Ecuedit is shareware so there will be a 60 second delay in saving, so I would let your tuner know that if you plan to use it.

Enginuity has two different def files, one for standard units (psi, F, etc) and one for metric (bar, C, etc.), while xmlwrite will generate only a metric definitions file. Xmlwrite is a hacked copy of Ecutek's definitions, so it includes a lot of tables (more than Enginuity), although it hasn't been updated in a while, so some newer 32bit revisions might not be supported. Although, Enginuity does have support for some tables not includes with Xmlwrite and also has check box cel disabling for the most common emission related CELs. If using xmlwrite defs, you'll need to use a hex editor to disable cels and method is different for 16bit vs. 32bit ecus.

Read this FAQ:
http://www.enginuity.org/about444.html

Last edited by Tea cups; 08-18-2006 at 07:19 PM.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 05:30 PM   #3
thejean
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17763
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, AB
Default

I prefer ecuedit myself. access to more tables and it automatically generates the xml def file for you.
thejean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-18-2006, 05:33 PM   #4
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Like with any software, you need to spend some time getting comfortable with it. I would expect anyone already familiar with AP or Ecutek tuning should recognize the maps. The maps all work the same no matter which solution you're running, besides the AP's ability to change a handful in realtime.

I wouldn't spend money on dyno time until you and the tuner have already played with the software quite a bit and make sure you can see all the maps you expect to need access to. You don't want to spend your $150/hr 2 hour tune just playing around with the software and not tuning. I wouldn't even bother until you have read out your ROM, modified it a bit, say like the CEL fixes, and successfully flashed it back on with results.

There is no "conversion" of the actual ROM file off your car. All the programs work in with the RAW file. No bull**** proprietary formats.

XMLs is going to be your biggest stumbling block. You need a good XML for YOUR exact ECU model. The 2004 has 2 or 3. AJ241, AJ242, and I think AJ243 (not sure if that is 2005 or not). As Tea cups posted, some editors come with some maps already defined to get you started. XMLwrite will dump you a working XML for almost all of the maps you'll ever need, but you have to figure out how to use it. Some knowledge of how to use a DOS command prompt helps.

I personally greatly prefer Ecuedit to the other solutions, though it is a semi-pay-for product now. I still use Ecuexplorer to log and Ecuedit to modify the ROMs, then flash with Ecuflash obviously. I have my laptop setup to do this as I've been playing with it for months.

Step #1 is to get a cable, connect it up, and read out the ROM file with Ecuflash. Do that and post it somewhere so people can see what you have and help you out better. There is really no point in going into this further until you've done that.

I highly recommend you just trot over to openecu.org and start reading a lot.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 01:44 AM   #5
St0k3d
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48603
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2008 STi

Default

alright cool guys... i have the ROM of my stock ecu dled... some dataloggs saved which scared me when looking at the injector duty cycle...

this XML stuff seems mad confusing...

enginuity seems like the only program i can just pull my rom up and have him go at it... save the file and upload it back up via ecuflash... according to enginuity the flash on my 04 sti ecu is outdated but they have a most recent definination for that... i figured just have him make a map with that, flash it up and give it a go... i dunno im gonna start reading more i guess, and even though im pretty computer literate... some of the stuff is confusing and theres not really so much of a "how to" on this stuff when it comes to xml etc

Adam
St0k3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-20-2006, 12:58 PM   #6
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Yes, you can download the latest revision available (uploaded by other users) and have your tuner tune from that. When starting from scratch, this is usually the best idea. Just be sure to only use an updated revision from the same model/model year.

http://www.scoobypedia.co.uk/index.p...patibilityList
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 05:22 PM   #7
ALaDDiN
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 98294
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Clarksburg, MD
Vehicle:
2004 Honda Civic
2006 Acura TL

Default

I am ditching the Cobb AP to go this route . . anyone have any "bad" experiences with this? Any word of advice?
ALaDDiN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2006, 10:44 PM   #8
The Deliverator
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42376
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Buffalo
Vehicle:
2006 92x Aero
Midnight Black Metallic

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ALaDDiN View Post
I am ditching the Cobb AP to go this route . . anyone have any "bad" experiences with this? Any word of advice?
I ditched my AP in favor of the open source tools a couple of weeks ago. I used the proceeds from selling the AP to procure a bunch of other gear, including the tactrix cable and a wideband O2 sensor.

Enginuity is a great tool for editing maps, and ecuflash works nicely for writing them to the ecu. I've had good luck using ecuExplorer for logging.

I've been a very, very happy camper since going with the open source tuning tools.
The Deliverator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2006, 02:20 PM   #9
St0k3d
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48603
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island, NY
Vehicle:
2008 STi

Default

well my car was tuned using enginuity... runs like a champ i LOVE LOVE LOVE it
St0k3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 03:23 AM   #10
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

with the ecutek for an 04 wrx, is there any physical visual difference than the stock ecu? is it all internal difference?
arco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 12:34 PM   #11
arco
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57156
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: socal
Vehicle:
2007 V.8 207 STi
Mercedes Polar White

Default

bumpage! i need to help soon
arco is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 12:51 PM   #12
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

Ecutek is a reflash. No physical hardware is changed. The original purpose of the flash capability of our ecus is so Subaru can update the rom throughout the year as issues surface (The dealer could then flash the updated "fixed" rom to owner's cars). Tuners like Ecutek take advantage of this capability by flashing roms with changes to the boost, fuel, timing, etc. So, it's is still a Subaru rom, just with changes (they may also make small changes to the code, for example, the boost switching and "user-tune" capability).

About a year ago, Ecutek came up with a way to lock out Ecuflash from downloading the image. So, if you Ecutek tune was less than a year ago, you will not be able to read it with the openecu tools. Someone on the Evo side created an app to bypass this lockout, but as far as I know it doesn't work or hasn't been tried on Subarus.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 03:17 PM   #13
WRX-Blue-Mica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37938
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue Mica

Default

CAn I use Delta Dash OBD cable to datalog & reflash with Enginuity & ecuflash?

Thanks
WRX-Blue-Mica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2006, 03:49 PM   #14
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

You cannot use the deltadash cable to read/flash roms. It may work for logging, however.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 05:44 PM   #15
one wicked wrx
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 27017
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: YONKERS&YORKTOWN
Default

i was wondering if you can use ecuflash to reflash a 06 wrx?
one wicked wrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 06:23 PM   #16
Tea cups
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 103136
Join Date: Dec 2005
Default

yep, sure can.
Tea cups is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2006, 08:52 PM   #17
xWrx
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 116387
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Vehicle:
02 Straight pimpin
WRB

Default

OpenSource Tuning really rocks. I just got my XPT Stage2 map and it freaking rocks. 13.00 flat with short shifter, TBE, Intake, MBC. I really think everyone should get this. 16.5 psi. No BS. Get it!!
xWrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 12:29 AM   #18
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

So far I have reflashed 3 WRXs with Evasive's maps. All stage 2, and running 17.4 psi of boost. A 04 WRX, and 2 02 WRXs. All happy owners I am seriously digging this Open Source thing, can't wait to get a Wideband AFR and knock link so I can tune for a bigger turbo
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-05-2006, 12:13 PM   #19
testes1010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 47145
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Henderson, KY
Vehicle:
2012 Gas Saver

Default

I've tuned about 6-7 cars using OpenECU tools....mainly custom STG1 & STG2 2.0L & 2.5L WRXs & an STi...
testes1010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 04:47 AM   #20
b4437
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23162
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: sandiego,ca/columbus,ohio
Vehicle:
2006 300c,forester x
silver steel

Default

has anybody tuned their open ecu with the big boy turbos? 30r,35r and etc?
b4437 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 05:40 AM   #21
Freon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88322
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Indianapolis, IN
Vehicle:
2009 BMW 135i

Default

Yes I run my GT30 on an Openecu reflash. I use Ecuedit for logging and editing, with an LM-1. I prefer the reflash for fuel, timing, and boost control over my UTEC and it is disconnected.

As much as some of you seem to like the opensource thing, I think you're missing the point. The point isn't just that you can tune your car for a lot less money. The point is if you get motivated enough you can do more than you could even with a commercial product. It won't be pressing a button, but the ability is there.
Freon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 06:59 AM   #22
Fathead
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 91842
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: League City, TX
Vehicle:
2008 Titan Crew

Default

I'm running an XPT St2 map, and it's great. My MAFv is up over the AP St2 map. I'm running 30% ethanol in the tank, and the tune produces more power w/the ethanol.
Fathead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 08:51 AM   #23
WRX-Blue-Mica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37938
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue Mica

Default

I just bought tactrix cable and the jumper. My car is WRX aussie version.
After I connecting the green test connector, tactrix cable to the OBD port & the jumper flash block socket ... call the ecuflash and than click on open ECU .. pop up menu saying turn on the ignition and click OK right away. I did it ... the screen start reading until the line saying: get kernel version ... another pop up small screen saying error occur ..
Trying several time with the same result.

What should I do to fix it?
WRX-Blue-Mica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 10:19 AM   #24
thejean
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 17763
Join Date: Apr 2002
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, AB
Default

I had the same issue. Just before you hit "OK" when it prompts you to turn on the ignition... turn on the ignition and then quickly hit OK. works every time.
thejean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2006, 10:34 AM   #25
WRX-Blue-Mica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37938
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thejean View Post
I had the same issue. Just before you hit "OK" when it prompts you to turn on the ignition... turn on the ignition and then quickly hit OK. works every time.
Did exatly like that but no luck.
I just upgrade the Ecuflash v1.28 to 1.29 and tried again .. now even worst ... no connection to the ECU ...
WRX-Blue-Mica is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone using Open ECU for a 2004 USDM STi? Conecrusher Engine Management & Tuning 15 11-17-2006 12:36 PM
Open Ecu? brandonbeeb Commercial ECU Reflashes 3 07-16-2006 02:41 PM
Street tuner/Open ECU/Engenuity training P&L Motorsports Inc. Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 52 07-05-2006 11:56 PM
proposal: open ecu flashing project colby Engine Management & Tuning 106 09-26-2005 02:30 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.