Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Sunday July 13, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-22-2006, 10:33 PM   #1
RichWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15544
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Orr,Minnesota
Vehicle:
STI hydra,2.65l
BW s374 turbo(twin scroll

Default hard wireing dual fuel pumps

does anyone know how you would hardwire dual walbro fuel pumps. I have a dual fuel pump setup and have the wires spliced into the factory harness,and after a long ride the wires get warm. what size wire would you use and should I use relays. pics would be great

Rich
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
RichWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 05:59 AM   #2
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

I have been thinking about using two fuelpump controlers, one for each pump. That way you should be able to run 2 sets of wires and not have to worry about the wires heating up. Haven't gotten very far still waiting on some tuning to see if the duals are needed.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 01:09 PM   #3
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

I'd use 10ga wire and relays.

use the factory wires to turn on the relays, which then get their hotside from the 10ga.

10ga should be able to take on at least 20A without breaking a sweat.


Being a Hydra user, talk to Phil from Element Tuning, as I swear he has worked on fuel systems like what you want.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 01:49 PM   #4
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teiva-boy
I'd use 10ga wire and relays.

use the factory wires to turn on the relays, which then get their hotside from the 10ga.

10ga should be able to take on at least 20A without breaking a sweat.


Being a Hydra user, talk to Phil from Element Tuning, as I swear he has worked on fuel systems like what you want.

The problem with the relay idea is that most "common" relays will die very quickly when pulsed. The stock system has 3 duty cycles that it uses.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:34 PM   #5
RichWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15544
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Orr,Minnesota
Vehicle:
STI hydra,2.65l
BW s374 turbo(twin scroll

Default

what relays would be the best choice?
RichWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 06:39 PM   #6
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

/\/\Like TMS was saying
If your car uses an electronic fuel pump controller, stock, just get another and wire it to the battery for source and run another 10 guage from its output to the second pump. The other small wires that control output on the second fuel pump controller could be wired to the first, I'm sure. Anyone else? Correct me if I'm wrong here. I would have also recommended a relay off the original output and a large wire for source power, but if you want to keep the variable speed properly, you'd need two controllers.
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 07:07 PM   #7
teiva-boy
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 22825
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Seattle, WA
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheMadScientist
The problem with the relay idea is that most "common" relays will die very quickly when pulsed. The stock system has 3 duty cycles that it uses.

TMS

Being that I see a Hydra mentioned in the profile of the OP, There has got to be a way around that.
teiva-boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-2006, 07:26 PM   #8
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Sure it is called a power transistor or if you can find one a solid state relay.
The frequency of the fuel pump controller can't be that high. The transistor is much better suited to a pulsed control voltage.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:17 AM   #9
2slofouru
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 90539
Join Date: Jul 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: somewhere east of CA
Vehicle:
95 L with ej257k
powa, Raven R6

Default

So are you suggesting some type of mosfet, darlington, or just regular silicon transistor?
2slofouru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 05:31 AM   #10
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Just use a second OEM controller.
The logic lines comming from the ECU should have no problem driving 2 of them.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:07 PM   #11
mick_the_ginge
Citizen Mick
 
Member#: 27646
Join Date: Oct 2002
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Portland, Oregon
Vehicle:
2003 Sleeved 2.5
Oil Dry Sump Goodness

Default

TMS - I spliced the FPC ecu line and connected it to both controllers, is this what you did? I did not connect the other line from the ecu, mainly as I had no idea what it was.

I also ran a positive hard line directly from the battery to power the second controller. i did not want any voltage drop.
mick_the_ginge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:10 PM   #12
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Why not skip all of this work and trouble and just buy a more powerful single Drop in pump?

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:16 PM   #13
InfamousDX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25413
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North NJ
Default

^ Sure! Please let us know which one and where to get it.
InfamousDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:31 PM   #14
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZScoobie
Why not skip all of this work and trouble and just buy a more powerful single Drop in pump?

Clark
Sugestions that aren't $$$$ please? Not being crass, really wondering what else is out there that is in tank.

I have been wondering if at the dual pump level if new fuel feed lines are needed to flow enough fuel.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 12:38 PM   #15
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Here ya go

https://secure.buschurracing.com/cat...roducts_id=851


I have tested. They work. I tuned Mikes GT35R setup with the single walbro. Fuel pressure fell off and went lean over 500whp on the mustang. He installed this pump and pressure held strong and over 500whp his IDC was only 82%. I had to pull ALOT of fuel out of the utec map. Like at least 2 full points.. 3 in the high end. I ran 36 psi for a handfull of 4th gear dyno pulls.



Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 01:29 PM   #16
SloRice
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 44351
Join Date: Sep 2003
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Vehicle:
2004 Mitsubishi Evo
701whp 9.91@146

Default

82% IDC's at 36psi with a 35R!?!?!

What injectors are you using? C16? AFR's?

I've heard a lot of good things about Buschur's wicked up Walbro. Might have to see if Dave can get me a good deal on one.
SloRice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 02:02 PM   #17
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

PE850CC injectors. I think Static Pressure is 45 or so. Mike can comment on it.

I tuned the car on:

91 octane
91 octane and SMC Meth injection
100 octane
100 octane and meth
C16
C16 and Meth

Car runs a Utec ontop of a JDM V7 ECU that I tuned with ECutek.

Its a Crawford 2.35 motor V7 STI heads ported with V limited cams. Kingpin GT35R kit, I ran it at 36 psi as logged on Dougs Dynopower Mustang 500. It made 507whp. From 30-36 psi it made more trq but barely anymore power up top. The turbo was finished. AFR was 12.5 to 1 flat across the board on the C16 fuel. Timing was near 25-30 range. Car refused to knock. Just would not make more power... Also Consider that it was 112-115 degrees INSIDE the Dyno room.. LOL.. A super HOT day. Intake temps where showing 140-160 F at the MAF sensor and pegging out on boost.

Trust me. That Buschur Pump is Plenty of pump for 600whp just Like Dave said it was. I am going to order one for my car when I decide to turn it up.

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 02:46 PM   #18
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Clark
Once again thanks.
I didn't even know that pump existed. That page is now book marked.
Looks like a much better option than a dual setup.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:13 PM   #19
InfamousDX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 25413
Join Date: Sep 2002
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: North NJ
Default

Me thinks I'll buy one of those if I go lean on c16. How hard would hte install be... as easy as a Walbro?
InfamousDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-24-2006, 03:32 PM   #20
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Drops in according to other owners. Its a little larger diam and a little shorter. I had no idea it existed either

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2006, 04:10 PM   #21
greysave
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 62395
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NJ
Vehicle:
2005 STI
Black

Default

On the website it list's this is for an evo. Does the evo and sti use the same fuel pump?
greysave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 02:51 PM   #22
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Yes they do..

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2006, 08:59 PM   #23
burnin4
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59764
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: South East
Vehicle:
10 sec STi
10 sec Z06

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RichWRX View Post
does anyone know how you would hardwire dual walbro fuel pumps. I have a dual fuel pump setup and have the wires spliced into the factory harness,and after a long ride the wires get warm. what size wire would you use and should I use relays. pics would be great

Rich
both pumps will need their own relay, power wire, and ground. recently went through all the same troubles. TopSpeed was able to make everything work perfectly on my setup, give them a call or send them a pm.
burnin4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:40 AM   #24
WRX-Blue-Mica
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 37938
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Indonesia
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue Mica

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AZScoobie View Post
Yes they do..

Clark
Which one has better flow, this buchur single fuel pump or twin walbro (+all the trouble)?

Thanks
WRX-Blue-Mica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2006, 12:46 PM   #25
AZScoobie
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 8785
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Vehicle:
02 c_turner@ix.
netcom.com

Default

Buscher pump is rated for 600whp. Twin walbros will have enough fuel for 800+. However, the lines filter ect will not.

Clark
AZScoobie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dual Fuel Pump set-up:Wired and mounted ready to go! Peeblesmx445 Engine/Power/Exhaust 8 01-11-2010 04:29 PM
Best methods to run dual fuel pumps? Token-Negro Engine Management & Tuning 0 09-27-2007 10:24 PM
Hard wiring dual Walbros. mikaust Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 7 06-01-2005 12:53 AM
FS: Impreza RS Wiring harness, Fuel Pump, PS pump, sway mounts. SubaruPreza Rocky Mountains Impreza Club Forum -- RMIC 0 06-22-2004 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.