Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
Vancouver Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > Vancouver Impreza Club Forum -- VIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-08-2006, 04:31 AM   #1
Sp00lin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86314
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
WRB & Black Stockers

Default OT: Fiber optic audio cable help

Kay.. heres the situation.

I have 2 fiber optic cables to go into 1 hole. What to do?

1 from my home theature to my tv(or vise versa), and 1 from my xbox360 to my home theature receiver. Now is there such thing as an adapter to plug 2 fiber optic wires into 1 slot? Or some other way to get the sound from lets say if i hook up the xbox into the tv, and it'll play thru the home theature?

Anyone wana come over and help me setup my stuff? I'd like everything to work with home theature sound since thats what its meant for. Someone with good experiance would be nice!


Thanx, Ernie
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Sp00lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 05:01 AM   #2
polarpreza
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 71881
Join Date: Oct 2004
Default

talk to incontrol . he is the WIRE MAN
polarpreza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:04 AM   #3
Guerice
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51519
Join Date: Dec 2003
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: Moncton, NB
Vehicle:
2006 2.5i Wagon
AKA Drtywgn

Default

You can buy an Optical switcher
Guerice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 08:36 AM   #4
alexs001
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 8096
Join Date: Jul 2001
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Kelowna, BC, Canada
Vehicle:
1998 Impreza 2.5RSTi
Rally Blue Pearl

Default

twist and tape
alexs001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 09:51 AM   #5
incontrol
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104816
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Vehicle:
2004 D600

Default

Should be no reason to need one from the TV unless its got an HD tuner in it. Worry about the X-box. If you have an HD CAble box, use a Coaxial Digital to the surround receiver. What kind of TV?
incontrol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:59 AM   #6
Sp00lin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86314
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
WRB & Black Stockers

Default

Kay well here is my setup. 52'' LG DLP, HD cable box, Sony wireless home theature, and Xbox360. So its nothing too crazy, but i just have fiber optics from the home theature to the HD cable box i beleive(its been a while since i set it up). Then i got FO cable to go from the Xbox360 to the home theature for wicked sound!
Sp00lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:59 AM   #7
Sp00lin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86314
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
WRB & Black Stockers

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Guerice View Post
You can buy an Optical switcher
Where do i get one of these bad boys from? Looks pretty kool?

Thanx, Ernie
Sp00lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 12:01 PM   #8
Sp00lin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86314
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
WRB & Black Stockers

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by alexs001 View Post
twist and tape
haha, thats a good idea! Then i'll zip-tie it all together maybe? Kinda like my last car! Nice member number too! Now thats LOW!
Sp00lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 02:34 PM   #9
Ryeeno
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 117161
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Burnaby
Vehicle:
'02 WRB WRX
'10 Forester XT

Default

I also have an audio video switcher I can sell you that will allow you to switch a whole bunch of hi-def video/digital audio signals, as well as ethernet. $30 and it's yours. It's only available in the US and was around 150 new.
Ryeeno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 02:38 PM   #10
mooshoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19432
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

I think it would be a better idea for you to use a Digital Coax Cable instead of the Optical. I believe the data transfer rates are actually higher with the Coax. Most of my home theater is set up going this route.
mooshoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:00 PM   #11
Sp00lin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 86314
Join Date: May 2005
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: Richmond
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
WRB & Black Stockers

Default

Could u tell me a lil bit more about this Mooshoo?
Sp00lin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2006, 11:29 PM   #12
mooshoo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 19432
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default

It really depends on what kind of receiver you have. But basically, n the back of your HT receiver you should have several assignable Digital Coax inputs. I would decide which component is higher priority (ie, for me, I want the best sound for my DVD player to watch movies with). So, in your case, I would think the HDTV/cable terminal is your primary feature, so use the coax. All other components can output via standard composite r/l cables (PS2/Xbox/VCR).

But again, it really depends on your receiver, amount of inputs, and how you have your cables set up. I run all my cables directly to the receiver, and HDMI from reciever to Plasma. The guy selling the switcher seems like a pretty good deal. I would buy it in a heartbeat, if I needed it.

Actually, Ernie, I might be able to help you install your stuff, but it depends on where you live/and time!
mooshoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: 1000' 6 strand Plenum Fiber optic multimode cable Hallywood Non-Subaru Stuff 0 04-12-2007 11:25 AM
Optical audio question scoobysport Off-Topic 9 03-23-2007 04:54 PM
OT: Direct tv/options vs cable help D_Block Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 5 04-16-2005 09:42 PM
Brand New 1000' Spool of Black Box Multi Mode Fiber Optic Cable, on spool! wrk king Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 1 11-24-2003 10:34 AM
OT: Networking with a cable modem...need help Keith General Forum Archive 20 10-06-2000 11:40 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.