Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-16-2012, 05:22 PM   #2626
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WRick View Post
tell me about it. 3rd oil change in 100ft.
100ft? thats not even to the end of my driveway

Have you swapped or cleaned your MAF yet?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2012, 03:21 PM   #2627
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
100ft? thats not even to the end of my driveway

Have you swapped or cleaned your MAF yet?

swapped the maf

the car still runs like an ass.

dammit I can't figure this one out. And I'm tired of smelling like an old rag ( gas ).

I can hear in pinging at idle, and LOUD....

Last edited by WRick; 02-17-2012 at 03:44 PM.
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:33 PM   #2628
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

Got it up and running!
Turns out I probably had the avcs running the whole time when we played around with the wiring but never had the car in gear and at speed.

The avcs doesn't show up if you are parked, you have to be moving.

Im logging up to 40 degrees so it looks like its working just fine.

So if anyone else is having problems when everything else is working make sure you are logging at speed, otherwise the advance won't show up. That might be obvious to some, but might be overlooked by the less experienced.

I think it was working most of the time, that's why I never noticed any difference.

It really just wants to take off at over 4k.
Can't wait to get this tuned!

We had flashed a base map and we didn't log any knock so i went wot a few times and that 8k comes real quick!

I'll have the car tuned Wednesday so I should be good to go!

To get back to the original post....going ej207..
I can't understand why anyone would go hybrid over an ej207?

It will only end up costing me about $1500 by the time I sell all of my old parts....I've already sold $1500 worth of old parts. Another $1400 if I sell the vf37.
Seems like a no-brainer.
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:39 PM   #2629
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

Glad you got it working man. The 207 is a far better engine then the hybrid setup. Not even close.

C
Clark Turner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 02:51 PM   #2630
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

Yeah, it actually doesn't feel much, if any different than my 205 up to about 4k rpms nut after that you can really feel the smoothness of the ej207, it just seems like it wants to be up top.

Next question is if its worth it to ditch the vf34 and go vf37?

It'll cost me an extra $800.

Has anyone run those two turbos on a 207?
Spool time differences? Power up top?
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:02 PM   #2631
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

It is not worth the effort or money in my opinion. The VF37 setup does have a better sound (to me) and has a slightly wider power band but its minimal and if you already have the VF34, Leave it be for now.

C
Clark Turner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 03:30 PM   #2632
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

Thanks, that's the type of answer I was hoping for.
I ported the turbo and gasket matched it to the uppipe.
So far the spool is fantastic, it seems to spool as quick as my 19t td04 did on my 205.
Even pre-tune it feels amazing.
It spoils incredibly quick compared to the other turbos I have run on the 205.
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 07:59 PM   #2633
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

Has anyone noticed the "lip" on the end of the headers and uppipe?
I'm not sure if its the welds or what....?
It's a circular bump just inside each bump?
Can it be ported off? (To remove this bump?)
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:49 PM   #2634
LIQUIDSK8S
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22605
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2002 JDM STI/WRX
WRB

Default

What are the thoughts on using a new MAP sensor vs keeping the stock one? Just manipulate it in the ECU, or spend a little extra to get a proper sensor?
LIQUIDSK8S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:53 PM   #2635
jhenry1983
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 269361
Join Date: Jan 2011
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Vehicle:
2011 sti
03wrx Rallycar

Default

I've hear the 16bit ecu can't tune aRound an aftermarket MAP sensor well. The V8 ones are the same as the map sensors on a wrx. I pulled one from a bugeye and the part numbers were the same
jhenry1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:57 PM   #2636
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

hmmm never thought of that. i guess i will prob be close to maxing mine as well. going to shoot for 24psi and let it taper off..... ill have to read into that on romraider maybe... also anyone know were to find a good base map? romraider doesnt have much for base maps. wish there was a more concrete area as far as tuning aspects between the two websites.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2012, 10:57 PM   #2637
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

I can and have used different map sensors over the years on the JDM ecu. But there is really no advantage to doing this unless you try to use an SD rom and want to run over 24PSI.

C
Clark Turner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:25 AM   #2638
LIQUIDSK8S
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22605
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2002 JDM STI/WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner
I can and have used different map sensors over the years on the JDM ecu. But there is really no advantage to doing this unless you try to use an SD rom and want to run over 24PSI.

C
I'm interested in both, so I might need to get one. Any brand preference? I'm awaiting a few more parts for my build, hoping to be done by summer and get a tune from you. Running a 2.5 XTR-TS and tons of other supporting mods, running E85 etc. I'm guessing running SD would be preferable right?
LIQUIDSK8S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:28 AM   #2639
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

I dont care for any current SD for 16 Bit ecus. I dont think you need a new map sensor for your setup. I use the omni 3 bar when I do need one, It looks like the stock one and plugs in.

C
Clark Turner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:07 AM   #2640
langsbr
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 209630
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lexington, SC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX / V7 STI
3.9USM6 / PSM

Default

Clark, can you elaborate on what you don't like about the SD roms? I understand the lack of features in the GroupN rom, but Carberry's appears pretty full featured. I'm weighing the options of using it instead of the UTEC on top. Is there a con to running the full time SD rom instead, or a pro to the UTEC? The Carberry seems to have all the features the UTEC has, except for 5 maps.
langsbr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:37 AM   #2641
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

Clark- do u do etunes? i do most of my own tuning already but would like some help with this car with the added avcs and just the fact school is super busy right now and dont have a ton of time to spend hours on backroads tuning my car.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:47 AM   #2642
kayen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57287
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye STi
MY03 Fozzy XS

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
I dont care for any current SD for 16 Bit ecus. I dont think you need a new map sensor for your setup. I use the omni 3 bar when I do need one, It looks like the stock one and plugs in.

C
I thought the Omni SD's mess up the readings on a 16bit ECU and were designed to work with the 32bits only? I remember lots of people trying to use them, but weren't able to scale them properly.
kayen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:54 AM   #2643
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

I am not "alot of people"

C
Clark Turner is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 10:56 AM   #2644
kayen
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 57287
Join Date: Mar 2004
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Kalamazoo, MI
Vehicle:
2002 Bugeye STi
MY03 Fozzy XS

Default

Haha thats true! Well good to know it's possible to use them, if ever needed.
kayen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 12:18 PM   #2645
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Clark Turner View Post
I am not "alot of people"

C
then who are you???
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 02:05 PM   #2646
n2xlr8n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18960
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bama
Vehicle:
02 WRX MBP
It lives! ; )

Default

Hi. JDM v8 pickup is identical to the USDM EJ257....that is known to break. I have 3 of them in my shop. I replaced my v8 pickup last week, prior to the engine going in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by OppositeLock View Post
Bumping this question to see if anyone has info on this. I haven't really heard anything about the pickups, but want to be sure I shouldn't replace mine.
n2xlr8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 06:04 PM   #2647
azscooby
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115297
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Mesa, AZ
Vehicle:
2002 ej207 vf34
WRB

Default

I replaced my pickup as well $170 is cheap insurance for a $4K motor.

My original one looked to be in good condition, I even tried to get it to crack and it seemed like it was fine.
azscooby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:01 PM   #2648
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

I'm about to push ( I can't drive it ) the car ( wrb money pit ) in the middle of the freeway and set fire to it.

I've changed :

MAF
Cam sensor ( driver's side, front one )
re-soldered 20 + wires that were twisted together
changed plugs

here are the ones I took out : ( they were wet with fuel, all 4 )




Even with brand new plugs it still runs like a V8 with cams. Gives me poping sounds at idle... ( just like before )

Unplugged every sensor, to no avail.


Last edited by WRick; 02-20-2012 at 08:20 PM.
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:20 PM   #2649
n2xlr8n
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 18960
Join Date: May 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Bama
Vehicle:
02 WRX MBP
It lives! ; )

Default

Rick, did you replace the injectors w larger ones, or are you still on stock injectors? 'Did you have to rescale your MAF for the 70mm intake?

Give us an exact description of what is going on w your setup.
n2xlr8n is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-20-2012, 08:30 PM   #2650
WRick
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 86107
Join Date: Apr 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: 10% REAL FRUIT JUICE
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by n2xlr8n View Post
Rick, did you replace the injectors w larger ones, or are you still on stock injectors? 'Did you have to rescale your MAF for the 70mm intake?

Give us an exact description of what is going on w your setup.
injectors are stock ( pinks ) , MAF has been re-scaled. In previous tune.

I've run the car like this for a few miles before it started to go ape**** on me. I know something went bad, as I've managed to have it idle, and run, and drive around.

Could timing be off ? A/F gone ? I've tried to run it with the A/F disconnected, again, to no avail. Right now, the rear O2 is not connected. I don't think it's an issue tho. ( can't flash it out, need ecuedit on my computer and it crashed on me. Getting a license requires some russian language skills. Car has Ecutek. )

It reeks of fuel. Like, it's dumping fuel ALOT. And plugs are wet...

I'm no pro with understanding logs, but can do them if that can help. Just tell me what to look for I guess...
WRick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 02-26-2011 07:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 06-03-2010 04:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 09:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 03:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 21 10-17-2005 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.