Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday November 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2012, 02:44 AM   #4326
dolosolow
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 279605
Join Date: Apr 2011
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: New Jersey
Vehicle:
04' WRX swap STi
v8 TwinScroll 6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25rsti View Post
Did you disconnect the battery before swapping?
Yes I did, any ideas on what it can be?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
dolosolow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:53 AM   #4327
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by amroof View Post
You can try an upgraded wastegate actuator! I hold 18psi to red after peak boost of 24psi!

this actuator works very well. I and a few other of my friends and even my tuner uses them.
they make different pressure actuators too.
ha not the only one peaking to high psi and then tapering down. so much low end torque.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 05:29 PM   #4328
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dolosolow View Post
Yes I did, any ideas on what it can be?
PM 'fastnoypi'... i believe he dealt with that code in his own car.
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 08:52 PM   #4329
pgrily
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 333354
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default

What should battery voltage be at during upper rpms under load during a pull? I'm still getting stuttering in the upper rpms (~5900+). Last log, the battery voltage was getting down as low as 12.16v around 6500 rpm. I've tried switching the coil packs and the spark plugs are all good and gapped at .026. Seems like the stuttering is related to my battery voltage dropping under load.

Any help?
pgrily is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 10:45 PM   #4330
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

I want to say my volt meter is up around 14 volts normally when the car is running.

Unfortunately I haven't driven it in a few months so I can't verify that for you.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:13 PM   #4331
mark342
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 284693
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Olathe, KS
Vehicle:
1999 Impreza 2.5 RS
STM

Default

Yeah, alternator will read 13.8-14 at idle, but it goes down under load
mark342 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:28 PM   #4332
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

doing my timing belt on my v8 and got a tomei guide. the gap is definitely bigger than 1mm. anyone have this issue? there is no wiggle room on it.

Last edited by PHruska; 09-29-2012 at 11:35 PM.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2012, 11:55 PM   #4333
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
doing my timing belt on my v8 and got a tomei guide. the gap is definitely bigger than 1mm. anyone have this issue? there is no wiggle room on it.
Mine was slightly more too.. but can't really remember it being an issue. Here's a pic I have after everything was put back together... low rez FTL

Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 12:07 AM   #4334
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Here's another suggestion made by WhiteBgeye02 that you could try out to even the gap...

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02 View Post
just so ppl do it right i take a piece of paper. fold it in half and put it between the timing belt guides and the belt. push the guide down and tighten the allens. pull the paper out and you have a close tolerance guide that wont let the belt jump. its pretty simple setup and doesnt really require a special aluminum guide. he is getting his harness from me. waiting on pins in the mail
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 12:57 PM   #4335
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

What are you guys doing for placement for the wide band bung since the o2 sensor bung is right there? Just welding in another bung on the opposite side or what?
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 02:52 PM   #4336
navydub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242585
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Vehicle:
2005 Saabaru
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
doing my timing belt on my v8 and got a tomei guide. the gap is definitely bigger than 1mm. anyone have this issue? there is no wiggle room on it.
Mine was actually a little close to the belt, I felt. But the same thing, it doesnt have slotted holes so there was no wiggle room to adjust it.
navydub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:28 PM   #4337
amroof
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 211224
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2005 Mystical
UniCorn FXTi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by simon021 View Post
What are you guys doing for placement for the wide band bung since the o2 sensor bung is right there? Just welding in another bung on the opposite side or what?
I Drilled a hole and welded it on the opposite side of the o2 bung. Works great and my wb matches my o2 at least on corn!
amroof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 09:47 PM   #4338
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

Sounds good. I picked up another ss bung so should have no problems
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:39 PM   #4339
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

put it a bit farther down. like 8-12 inches from the turbine. reduces any swirling turbulence leaving the turbine wheel and straight flow exh gas instead.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 10:42 PM   #4340
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

So put the factory 02 sensor where my wideband was and put the other bung farther down to relocate the wideband. Just want to be clear. This makes the most sense to me.
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-30-2012, 11:48 PM   #4341
ImNOrobo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255716
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Where the simpsons live.
Vehicle:
A '04/'05/'01
RHD?!

Default

Here is where I put mine. (Yes I know I could use more wrap) the downpipe was hanging way too low and was scraping on everything, it rubbed a lot of the wrap off. I fixed it and this is how it sits now. I haven't had any issues with the wideband in the bung you can see.

ImNOrobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 12:46 AM   #4342
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

went to drop my v8 into my bugeye tonight and the motor mounts are off by a few inches. do i need to use the usdm bugeye motor mounts? the tranny is sitting high and left too and i cant figure out why.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:30 AM   #4343
Nuke209
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 108089
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Minnesota
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
NF Performance

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska
went to drop my v8 into my bugeye tonight and the motor mounts are off by a few inches. do i need to use the usdm bugeye motor mounts? the tranny is sitting high and left too and i cant figure out why.
Should be direct drop in

Maybe chassis is issue?
Nuke209 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 03:04 AM   #4344
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

i know a bunch of other people have dropped v8s into bugeyes...
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 07:27 AM   #4345
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

I used my bugeye Group N mounts. But I used Sti mounts in my bugeye before. This is not the problem.
Are you trying to use the V8 front subframe? Even then, I don't think it should be a problem.
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 10:11 AM   #4346
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

should drop right in. your prob doing something wrong. Everything motor mount wise bolts right up!
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 11:05 AM   #4347
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska
went to drop my v8 into my bugeye tonight and the motor mounts are off by a few inches. do i need to use the usdm bugeye motor mounts? the tranny is sitting high and left too and i cant figure out why.
The mounts might be on backwards/reversed. They have to be on a certain way to line up properly.

I can take pics when I get home to show you what I mean

Are they stock or aftermarket?
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:11 PM   #4348
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by todeswalzer

The mounts might be on backwards/reversed. They have to be on a certain way to line up properly.

I can take pics when I get home to show you what I mean

Are they stock or aftermarket?
They're the stock Jdm mounts. I didn't move them since I was under the impression it would drop right in.

And no I'm using the bugeye subframe.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:33 PM   #4349
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

How are they off? Are the studs too wide apart?
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2012, 01:47 PM   #4350
ImNOrobo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255716
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Where the simpsons live.
Vehicle:
A '04/'05/'01
RHD?!

Default

My version nine dropped right in with the tigwerks mounts. Do you have the six speed hooked up still? I dropped mine with the trans still connected and the front drain plug was caught on the subframe, check that.
ImNOrobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-26-2011 08:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 06-03-2010 05:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 10:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 04:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 21 10-17-2005 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.