Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday November 28, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-04-2012, 04:41 PM   #4376
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Got er figured out. Trying to figure out how to make ac lines on the compressor work now.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:36 PM   #4377
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

Arm strength is your best bet. Be careful though, dont bend too much. They're brittle lines those suckers. I learned the hard way.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 05:56 PM   #4378
RealDealTarheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142447
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Best BBQ State In America
Vehicle:
**** Texas

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey View Post
^^ I had the EXACT same issue when I tried this right before my swap... and even made a whole thread about it :

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=2405875

... so lemme ask you as everyone on that thread asked me: "have you connected the jumper blocks, along with the green connectors?"...LOL even though the instructions don't call for it, for 'reading' purposes.

I personally never tried it with the jumper blocks while I still had the old setup, as I got impatient and started with the actual swap. My error was identical on romraider, but the fuel pump would prime just fine. The thought of a 'locked' ECU was bugging me the whole time... but once everything was said and done, we plugged the new one in along with AVCS wires AND the jumper blocks + green connectors ... and it read/ flashed like a champ. Mine is this particular model:
I have the same ECU as you but I can read just fine with the green connectors together but can't log. So there's two white connectors that need to be jumped together in order to read/log? Using Tactrix 2.0
RealDealTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:32 PM   #4379
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

so what do we do about the lack of an o2 on the up-pipe?
just leave that harness connector with nothing on it?
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:43 PM   #4380
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
so what do we do about the lack of an o2 on the up-pipe?
just leave that harness connector with nothing on it?
That's the factory EGT gauge i believe... just leave it unplugged. Doesn't cause any CEL on the JDM ECU.
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:45 PM   #4381
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by RealDealTarheel View Post
I have the same ECU as you but I can read just fine with the green connectors together but can't log. So there's two white connectors that need to be jumped together in order to read/log? Using Tactrix 2.0
In order to log with Romraider... you don't need any connectors. Just the tactrix plugged into the laptop, and point it to the correct COM port.
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 06:48 PM   #4382
RealDealTarheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142447
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Best BBQ State In America
Vehicle:
**** Texas

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey View Post
In order to log with Romraider... you don't need any connectors. Just the tactrix plugged into the laptop, and point it to the correct COM port.
Got it to work just now, no idea what was different. Now onto my boost and IAM problems.....
RealDealTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 07:25 PM   #4383
RealDealTarheel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 142447
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Best BBQ State In America
Vehicle:
**** Texas

Default

Anyone who can jump in here, my IAM reads at a 0, when I reset the ECU it climbs to an 8 and then immediately drops to a 0 when I start the car. Anyone have any ideas?

Last edited by RealDealTarheel; 10-04-2012 at 08:23 PM. Reason: Answer found
RealDealTarheel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:22 PM   #4384
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

been searching and trying **** but i still cant get pins out of the ecu.
does anyone have any tips?
after the engine and rent im too broke to buy a harness right now so im trying to use the tgv wires for the brown and black plugs and run the jdm wires outta that harness for the grey plug.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 08:45 PM   #4385
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

Search more. This was found in this thread. Once you figure it out, it's pretty easy.
Good luck. Take your time with it

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02 View Post
the ecu plugs have little plastic things on the top that pop up like a 1-2mm. its the lock. you just use a small flat head and get it to pop up. its got two small clips that hold it down but you can force it up basically and then push it down when your done. looking at the end of the plugs that go into the ecu...
for reference we will use the side with the pop up locking thing as the top.
-each pin will have an empty space below it. this is were you put the needle in.hold the plug in one hand and with the needle put it into the bottom hole below the pin you need to move and you will hit a small tab. pull the tab down. so away from the pin your removing then pull slightly on other plug. this should make it so the pin is pulled out far enough that the clip you just moved down wont lock back down. then go on the back side and pull the pin out. the pins only go in one direction. which is the small tabs on the pins face the top of the plug (pretty sure)
. the other plug is much easier but these have intercal clips of the same idea but smaller so you have to go by feel. the needle should not go in more than like 5mm or so.

just looking at a plug with the locking thing on the top the pins site in the very tiny slots and there corresponding unlocking slot were the needle goes is below each one. its about 3x size the hole of were the pin actually sits.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey View Post
I literally just figured this out... lol, but thanks so much for the detailed explanation. I'm glad i can now use the plug 'n play feature! Here are couple of pictures for illustration (the "test" connector was off the cut JDM harness that came with my swap) :






Last edited by JRsleeper; 10-04-2012 at 09:04 PM.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:07 PM   #4386
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRsleeper View Post
Search more. This was found in this thread. Once you figure it out, it's pretty easy.
Good luck. Take your time with it
i guess that wasnt what i was looking for cause im trying to move the harness side plugs.
thanks for the help though.

Edit: got it. im a dumbass.

Last edited by PHruska; 10-04-2012 at 09:30 PM.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 09:30 PM   #4387
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

The above pics are of the correct ecu pin connector that needs to re-pinned. And how to get them out.

I understand that you want to re-pin your stock tgv's also.


What exactly are you looking for?

Move which harness side plugs?

-ecu harness
-drivers side engine harness
-pass side body harness.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 10:38 PM   #4388
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

i pulled the 4 wires that ran avcs off the jdm harness and one of them was cut. are any others in the harness shielded?

EDIT: none of the harness wires appear to be shielded. am i just looking over them? they all appear to be just regular wire.

Last edited by PHruska; 10-04-2012 at 11:08 PM.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:36 PM   #4389
Torquey
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 175334
Join Date: Mar 2008
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Dallas, TX
Vehicle:
2003 Impreza WRX
JDM v8 EJ207 WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PHruska View Post
i pulled the 4 wires that ran avcs off the jdm harness and one of them was cut. are any others in the harness shielded?

EDIT: none of the harness wires appear to be shielded. am i just looking over them? they all appear to be just regular wire.
If you have the JDM ECU wiring harness, then take a look at pin# 14 on the center most connector on the ECU end (which is also the smallest). The wire that is in there should be the 'shield common ground'. You need to integrate that to your chasis harness, along with the four other wires that go from the same ECU connector to get added to the passenger side grey plug. This is done for the AVCS sensor signals.

For the AVCS Solenoid signals... you don't add any wires, but just move four pins to different points on the same center ECU connectors as before. And in the engine bay move the same four wires one row above, on the driver side black connector. All this I did according to the DS1 motorsports wiring instructions... really hope you have a copy of it, as it explains how to read the pin numbers. I didn't reuse the JDM harness wires, but bought one made by Whitebgeye02.

If you are more of a visual person... check out the wiring pictures on this article that I found: http://www.importtuner.com/tech/0311it_sti_conversion/
Torquey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:38 PM   #4390
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

man the harness is just so much easier!
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2012, 11:46 PM   #4391
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

^ harness made it easy. Along with the wiring diagram. Completed the harness install and re-pinned what was needed in a hour.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:18 AM   #4392
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Rad. ill try that out. the placement and wiring and moving pins isnt an issue for me. i got that on lock. spent a good hour messin with them today.
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 12:32 AM   #4393
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Torquey View Post
If you have the JDM ECU wiring harness, then take a look at pin# 14 on the center most connector on the ECU end (which is also the smallest). The wire that is in there should be the 'shield common ground'. You need to integrate that to your chasis harness, along with the four other wires that go from the same ECU connector to get added to the passenger side grey plug. This is done for the AVCS sensor signals.

For the AVCS Solenoid signals... you don't add any wires, but just move four pins to different points on the same center ECU connectors as before. And in the engine bay move the same four wires one row above, on the driver side black connector. All this I did according to the DS1 motorsports wiring instructions... really hope you have a copy of it, as it explains how to read the pin numbers. I didn't reuse the JDM harness wires, but bought one made by Whitebgeye02.

If you are more of a visual person... check out the wiring pictures on this article that I found: http://www.importtuner.com/tech/0311it_sti_conversion/
so off of this harness?
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 01:41 PM   #4394
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

you sir look like you have a genuine cluster ****! lol
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:29 PM   #4395
PHruska
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 214589
Join Date: Jun 2009
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: Berkeley CA/bozeman MT
Vehicle:
2002 wrx wagon
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02
you sir look like you have a genuine cluster ****! lol
Everyone chill the **** out .... I got this. :/
PHruska is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 04:34 PM   #4396
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

I'm so fricking pissed. I've been trying to get my car started all week with no luck. Passed a couple hurdles and now I'm stumped. I try to start the car and it doesnt even crank. When I try, the clock and radio dims off. I tried swapping starter relays and swapped starters and no difference. grrrrr
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 05:54 PM   #4397
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

The clock and radio dim off when you try to start her up! How is your battery doing?
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 06:02 PM   #4398
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

It's brand new. I took the main relay out but don't know how to check it. Usually some of the relays have a diagram for each pin. This main relay doesn't.

When I first tried starting the car the fuel pump didn't prime and no click sound from relay. I traced down the relay and found original owner (Of used complete harness) spliced two of the wires and didn't connect them. So I soldered, heatshrinked and loomed them. Fuel pump works. Try to crank and get no "click" from main/starter so I thought maybe the main was bad and wanted to check it. I've gone over the complete cars harness several times now (again) and everything looks to be in order. All fuses are good too.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:16 PM   #4399
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

But did you test the battery. I can be D.O.A. Doesn't matter if its new. Rule out the simple stuff first.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-05-2012, 08:24 PM   #4400
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

It gets 12v.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-26-2011 08:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 06-03-2010 05:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 10:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 04:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 21 10-17-2005 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.