Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday October 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-19-2012, 01:00 AM   #4651
ImNOrobo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 255716
Join Date: Aug 2010
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Where the simpsons live.
Vehicle:
A '04/'05/'01
RHD?!

Default

Hmm that sucks. I know they were a breeze to work with.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
ImNOrobo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 01:36 AM   #4652
stlnation
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321805
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
2002 Jdm v9 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ImNOrobo View Post
Hmm that sucks. I know they were a breeze to work with.
Tell me about it. EVERYBODY recommends them
stlnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 04:24 PM   #4653
navydub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242585
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Vehicle:
2005 Saabaru
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stlnation View Post
im pretty certain they dont have any ecu's to go with their motors at the moment.
True. They sent me an immo Ver9 ecu w/ my ver8 swap by mistake and don't have a ver8 to swap it with now
navydub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #4654
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
05 saabaru artc gr
02 wrx wag wrb ej207

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydub

True. They sent me an immo Ver9 ecu w/ my ver8 swap by mistake and don't have a ver8 to swap it with now
That would get me quite upset. Contact japandomesticmotors.com they may have a ecu for you.
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:20 PM   #4655
Computersare8ad
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 287080
Join Date: Jun 2011
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Katy
Vehicle:
2014 WRB WRX
Stock

Default

A little off topic, but has anyone seen what Blouch is selling now?

http://www.bptstore.com/Subaru-WRXST...ger_p_135.html

Glad I didn't buy a 1.5XT-r-TS... can't wait to see what people end up making with that.
Computersare8ad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 06:48 PM   #4656
stlnation
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321805
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
2002 Jdm v9 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Computersare8ad View Post
A little off topic, but has anyone seen what Blouch is selling now?

http://www.bptstore.com/Subaru-WRXST...ger_p_135.html

Glad I didn't buy a 1.5XT-r-TS... can't wait to see what people end up making with that.
would this be a decent fmic for the dominator? Greddy on sale

it may be an antique by todays standards i dunno
stlnation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 07:55 PM   #4657
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

tought i was going to get her fired up for the first time tonight.


find out the crawford aos is in the way of the bov line (ran grimmspeed aos before swap)





-.-



when i bought the kit it came flanged for a greddy bov. i could try putting that back on but all it did was surge alllllll day long.

seems like a new fmic kit is in order. ive been wanting to get a different kit for a while now and i finally have a good reason




oh and not only has there been a group buy for my atp 3071 thats $500 cheaper than what i bought it for now theres that blouch twinscroll dom3


today sucks lol







edit: actually i might be able to relocate the aos over a few inches by making a simple bracket. over reaction to a small setback much?

Last edited by todeswalzer; 10-19-2012 at 08:03 PM.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 10:33 PM   #4658
iNfEk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 21339
Join Date: Jul 2002
Chapter/Region: HIIC
Location: Kapolei, HI
Vehicle:
2002 LHD STI V7 6MT
12.9@103MPH EJ205 4EAT

Default

Just cap and weld another flange. I have a similar issue
iNfEk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2012, 11:00 PM   #4659
navydub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242585
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Vehicle:
2005 Saabaru
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D-Rodman View Post
That would get me quite upset. Contact japandomesticmotors.com they may have a ecu for you.
My car is more or less done, just can't drive it due to no ECU

Hopefully I can track one down. Thanks I'll give them a call
navydub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:01 AM   #4660
simon021
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 157532
Join Date: Aug 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: Iowa
Vehicle:
2002 MY03 EJ207 E85
Dom 1.5XTR Twinscroll!

Default

exactly what I was going to say. Just zip tie the damn aos over a few inches or make up another bracket.

Dont feel bad. I couldnt figure out why it was running like **** when I first started mine. I thought I was off a tooth on the timing belt, so I drained all my coolant and tore the radiator back out. Timing belt marks were perfect, so I started swapping my new plugs out for the old oem plugs thinking maybe I got a bad plug somewhere. I got to the last plug and as I pulled the coil pack off the sparkplug, the wire that connects to the coil pack fell off. I thought maybe I had hit the release tab so didnt think much of it. I pulled the plug out and it was totally shiny looking, smelled like raw e85. All the other plugs looked slightly used and did not smell of fuel at all. Turns out that loose coil pack wire was causing all the issues. Could have saved me a few hours work :P

Ah well, live and learn. It runs awesome now!




Quote:
Originally Posted by todeswalzer View Post
tought i was going to get her fired up for the first time tonight.


find out the crawford aos is in the way of the bov line (ran grimmspeed aos before swap)





-.-



when i bought the kit it came flanged for a greddy bov. i could try putting that back on but all it did was surge alllllll day long.

seems like a new fmic kit is in order. ive been wanting to get a different kit for a while now and i finally have a good reason




oh and not only has there been a group buy for my atp 3071 thats $500 cheaper than what i bought it for now theres that blouch twinscroll dom3


today sucks lol







edit: actually i might be able to relocate the aos over a few inches by making a simple bracket. over reaction to a small setback much?
simon021 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:02 AM   #4661
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by navydub View Post
My car is more or less done, just can't drive it due to no ECU

Hopefully I can track one down. Thanks I'll give them a call
Just drive it with the Wrx ecu
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 12:08 AM   #4662
kpluiten
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 120273
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
06 WRBWRXWGN
Now with 100% more Spec-C

Default

This sucks for me too. I sold my V9 Spec-C ECU for $250 a month ago. I could get $400 from one of you guys right now.
kpluiten is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 10:23 AM   #4663
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

I wish I coud've got that ecu from you. I bought a v9 engine and got a v7 tmic and v7 prodrive ecu
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:05 PM   #4664
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Got her started



She's on 3 cylinders


No time to trouble shoot as i got a wedding to go to....but its nice to hear my exhaust for the first time in 3 months
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:08 PM   #4665
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

Congrats!
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 02:35 PM   #4666
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Thanks man.


As soon as I can get her goin I'll come try to help you get yours up



Did you check the big 80a fusable link? I blew that once being an idiot iirc the car still lights up but doesn't start if that's blown
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 04:31 PM   #4667
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

I don't know about a 80a fuse. I've only seen the 50a ones.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:23 PM   #4668
todeswalzer
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 191495
Join Date: Oct 2008
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Lowell MA
Vehicle:
'05 WRB GTX3071R
JDM V8 EJ207 USDM 6MT

Default

Ah. My 05 has one in the engine bay. Its in the corner closest to the front and the fender. It bolts in place with 2x 8mm nuts so it'd be hard to miss.
todeswalzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 05:52 PM   #4669
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

They all look in tact and perfectly fine.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:18 PM   #4670
navydub
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 242585
Join Date: Mar 2010
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Chesapeake, VA
Vehicle:
2005 Saabaru
Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeskywrx View Post
Just drive it with the Wrx ecu
How well will that work? Didn't want to damage the engine. It starts and idles on the WRX ecu, but didn't try anything more than that....
navydub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:30 PM   #4671
JRsleeper
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 94791
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: North Branford, CT
Vehicle:
2002 WRX wagon WRB
Ver 8 EJ207 4.44's

Default

This thread is painful at times.

If your jdm ver 7,8,9 ECU is locked, bricked, inmobliezed or does not pass emissions.

You can use your stock usdm 02-05 ECU to drive the car (and pass emissions obd2).

All that is needed is for the injectors to be scaled, timing and fuel to be within a safe range, along with the uppipe and tgv sensors codes turned off. AVCS will not work but the car will be safe to drive.

-Have a tuner set you up with a safe base map for the stock ECU.
-Get your own cable and adjust yourself.
-Somebody can flash it for you.
JRsleeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 07:46 PM   #4672
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Painful is the perfect word, very few of the problems that seem to pop up on the 207s are specific to the 207. Most of the issues are with people trying to work on their cars without having any clue as to what they are really doing.

I would guess only a fraction of the content in this thread 100% specific to the 207, the rest is just "my car(with a 207) has this issue, what should I do?" With the average person having the reading comprehension skills of a 12 year old its no wonder the same stuff pops up constantly.
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:40 PM   #4673
amroof
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 211224
Join Date: May 2009
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Aurora, CO
Vehicle:
2005 Mystical
UniCorn FXTi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeskywrx View Post
Painful is the perfect word, very few of the problems that seem to pop up on the 207s are specific to the 207. Most of the issues are with people trying to work on their cars without having any clue as to what they are really doing.

I would guess only a fraction of the content in this thread 100% specific to the 207, the rest is just "my car(with a 207) has this issue, what should I do?" With the average person having the reading comprehension skills of a 12 year old its no wonder the same stuff pops up constantly.
This is why I come in to this thread! Luke Im back on corn and catless dp and Love it

And to anyone who hasnt tried or heard the spt exhaust on a 207 you need too. I put on an spt exhaust yesterday and I love it! not to loud and not to quiet. Some guy asked if I had swapped in an evo engine .
amroof is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:47 PM   #4674
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

For real? haha I put a RMo1A on my 207 and the SPT on my other subie. Get a sound clip, I'm interested now.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2012, 09:56 PM   #4675
D-Rodman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 110078
Join Date: Mar 2006
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Long Island N.Y.
Vehicle:
05 saabaru artc gr
02 wrx wag wrb ej207

Default

I put a brand new hush on mine, sounds like angry pack of bees, installing a catless tomei down pipe tomorrow, looking forward to hear it
D-Rodman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 2 02-26-2011 07:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 10 06-03-2010 04:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 09:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 03:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 21 10-17-2005 01:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.