Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Thursday December 18, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-24-2013, 07:03 PM   #6026
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Nor Cal
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Should work fine both the 05 sti tranny and v8 ecu are inverted, you can log avcs advance using romraider and a tactrix cable or your tuner should confirm it is working before tuning.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post
I have a quick question about the NPS and avcs.
Car: 02 wrx Transmission: 05 usdm sti 6 speed Engine: V8 ej207 w/ twinscroll Ecu: jdm v8 ecu with IAP wiring harness kit.

Question 1: Currently my NPS shows 1 in Neutral and 0 in other gears. Do I need to have this inverted for my avcs to work?

Question 2: Is there a way for me to log to be able to tell if avcs is functioning properly?

Thanks for any help. It is much appreciated.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:44 PM   #6027
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

Just run the carberry rom and SD. u can switch maps with the push of your defrost button or external switch! pretty sure it includes timing and fueling changes via the switch. Ecutek is horrible. No way to help u unless one of us has the program to look at it. they do make a 8cm hotside for the dom1.5xtr.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:46 PM   #6028
Psychoreo
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 79643
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cromwell
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Terminal black pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulianDelphiki View Post
For future reference as well as my peace of mind, this is the IAT plug on V8s that needs to be unplugged correct?
Correct.
Psychoreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 07:57 PM   #6029
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Nor Cal
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

But do they make the 8cm housing in twin scroll?

The single scroll is 8 or 10 cm



Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02 View Post
Just run the carberry rom and SD. u can switch maps with the push of your defrost button or external switch! pretty sure it includes timing and fueling changes via the switch. Ecutek is horrible. No way to help u unless one of us has the program to look at it. they do make a 8cm hotside for the dom1.5xtr.
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 09:35 PM   #6030
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychoreo View Post
Correct.
Why does it need to be unplugged? Mine seems to be running fine with it plugged in.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:35 PM   #6031
Psychoreo
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 79643
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cromwell
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Terminal black pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post

Why does it need to be unplugged? Mine seems to be running fine with it plugged in.
It throws a code when it's plugged in on the JDM ecu with WRX harness.
Psychoreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:39 PM   #6032
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

hmm... I will have to look into that. I havn't pulled the codes for my CEL light yet since I figured it was just o2 sensor.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:42 PM   #6033
Psychoreo
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 79643
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cromwell
Vehicle:
2015 WRX STI
Terminal black pearl

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post
hmm... I will have to look into that. I havn't pulled the codes for my CEL light yet since I figured it was just o2 sensor.
"Running fine" but has a CEL?
Psychoreo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:45 PM   #6034
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Psychoreo View Post
"Running fine" but has a CEL?
I guess a rear o2 sensor being unplugged would cause my car to run horribly wrong. I better run out and get that fixed immediately......

It seems like it'd be easy enough to shut off the CEL in ecuflash.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 10:56 PM   #6035
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

Plug the rear o2 back in. Don't clear the code.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:00 PM   #6036
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Nor Cal
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25rsti View Post
Plug the rear o2 back in. Don't clear the code.

You don't need the rear O2 sensor on the 16 bit cars, it is not involved in fueling at all, just emissions. The 32 bit cars use the rear sensor for some fueling corrections, and unplugging it causes issues.

I haven't had one on my car for 6 years, no problems. Just turn off the rear O2 codes
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:05 PM   #6037
25rsti
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 166324
Join Date: Dec 2007
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Haverhill, MA
Vehicle:
3 turbos &n NA
@DBlockSTi

Default

Ok, Just going by what I've read in multiple previous pages. No biggie. Duly noted.
25rsti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:10 PM   #6038
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 25rsti View Post
Plug the rear o2 back in. Don't clear the code.
I was talking about the code for the temp sensor being plugged in under the manifold.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:20 PM   #6039
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

if u pull LV the cel for the IAT sensor that is plugged in wont show up. its a fantom cel that appears but the ecu wont tell u what it is. I had this problem until someone on here posted 150 pages ago that it wont show up. so i unplugged it and bam. no more cel.

as far as the rear 02. ditch it. some guys use that bung for there wideband then.

Last edited by WhiteBgeye02; 03-24-2013 at 11:28 PM.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:26 PM   #6040
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02 View Post
if u pull LV the cel for the IAT sensor that is plugged in wont show up. its a fantom cel that appears but the ecu wont tell u what it is. I had this problem until someone on here posted 150 pages ago that it wont show up. so i unplugged it and bam. no more cel.
Thanks for the clear explanation. It seems like there should be a better place for EJ207 owners than just 1 thread that never ends.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:38 PM   #6041
stlnation
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 321805
Join Date: May 2012
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: St. Louis
Vehicle:
2002 Jdm v9 STI
Blue

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post

Thanks for the clear explanation. It seems like there should be a better place for EJ207 owners than just 1 thread that never ends.
No kidding. Its a joke to search a 500 page thread.
stlnation is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2013, 11:53 PM   #6042
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

well there is the ej207 info page but i use google.com/advanced_search to find stuff easier on any website. use nasioc.com as the domain and just type what u want in the search part on top.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 09:57 AM   #6043
Vlad
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 46135
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Sti V9 Spec C

Default

I have a different opinion about the rear O2 sensor.
I have done that research long time ago and did not keep records, so won't be able to go into many details at this point, but:
There are 3 categories of rear O2 sensor situations:
16bit WRX before '04, where it seems that it was confirmed that the rear '02 won't do much
16 bit '04-'07, where there was something about how not all the tables for that were available in Romraider and a conclusion about how it does nothing was rushed and shown to be not quite the case.
32 bit, where it has to do with fuel trims.

One thing that I recall a bit more clearly is that the part numbers for the rear O2 sensor changed.

Then there was something about the readings from the rear O2 and what they should be, which I recall was answered (probably can be found in a 2002 WRX manual since the part number for the JDM is the same with that).
Vlad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:04 AM   #6044
WhiteBgeye02
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 224785
Join Date: Sep 2009
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: neenah
Vehicle:
2005 wrx-jdm207
i went black...

Default

i do have to agree about the 32 bit tables and fueling. I recently tuned a 2012 wrx and the cruising afrs started to go wacky into the 13's and then back up. then it threw a code for the rear o2 sensor slow response. he put a new sensor in it and fueling was spot on again for cruising. i trust my wideband before a stock sensor anyways so for now i think i will leave the rear o2 in 16bit ecus as useless.
WhiteBgeye02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 11:50 AM   #6045
Klear
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 312980
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Unfortunately I am already EKUTEK'd and near as I can tell the 16-bit ECU cannot be unECUTEK'd. So my biggest worry is that I am going to have to switch the turbo. Can anyone with ECUTEK tune my ECU or am I locked into only the person who did it originally? FWIW I had no idea that ECUTEK would brick my ECU and it was not disclosed when the conversation was happening.


Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteBgeye02 View Post
Just run the carberry rom and SD. u can switch maps with the push of your defrost button or external switch! pretty sure it includes timing and fueling changes via the switch. Ecutek is horrible. No way to help u unless one of us has the program to look at it. they do make a 8cm hotside for the dom1.5xtr.
Klear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 12:39 PM   #6046
Dirtyhobo010
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 144170
Join Date: Mar 2007
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: IN
Vehicle:
02 ej207|6 speed
PSM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klear View Post
Unfortunately I am already EKUTEK'd and near as I can tell the 16-bit ECU cannot be unECUTEK'd. So my biggest worry is that I am going to have to switch the turbo. Can anyone with ECUTEK tune my ECU or am I locked into only the person who did it originally? FWIW I had no idea that ECUTEK would brick my ECU and it was not disclosed when the conversation was happening.
Which ecu are you running? If its just a usdm ecu it should be easy to find a replacement for a pretty good price.
Dirtyhobo010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:04 PM   #6047
Paul
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 56203
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: south nj
Vehicle:
00 RSTI Coupe
Twin Scroll 2.5XTR EJ207

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post
I have a quick question about the NPS and avcs.
Car: 02 wrx Transmission: 05 usdm sti 6 speed Engine: V8 ej207 w/ twinscroll Ecu: jdm v8 ecu with IAP wiring harness kit.

Question 1: Currently my NPS shows 1 in Neutral and 0 in other gears. Do I need to have this inverted for my avcs to work?

Question 2: Is there a way for me to log to be able to tell if avcs is functioning properly?

Thanks for any help. It is much appreciated.
It should read 0 in gear and 1 in neutral. Posted that about a 100 pages back... This thread is such a mess.LOL



Quote:
Originally Posted by lil'redwagon View Post
i used to. i had to mess with the temp comp tables. i don't remember what the table was called, but it was a table that had coolant temp and an enrichment value.
Thanks Ill take a look. If you remember please post up



Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post
Mine has some hesitation on starting in the cold (around 30 degrees (E85)) and I idle around 900 when up to temp.
My dies...not a hesitation. Does it when its 50 out on pump gas.
Paul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 01:05 PM   #6048
Klear
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 312980
Join Date: Mar 2012
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Arizona
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
Blue

Default

Matching V7 JDM ECU

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dirtyhobo010 View Post
Which ecu are you running? If its just a usdm ecu it should be easy to find a replacement for a pretty good price.
Klear is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:29 PM   #6049
lukeskywrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 59837
Join Date: Apr 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Nor Cal
Vehicle:
2004 Spec-C Type RA
What MAF? -Speed Density!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Klear View Post
Matching V7 JDM ECU
The ecu can be reverted back to stock by an ECUtek dealer
lukeskywrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2013, 02:40 PM   #6050
fastnoypi
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
nothing to see, i'm stock

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lukeskywrx View Post
The ecu can be reverted back to stock by an ECUtek dealer
is this true now? last i read it was not possible with the early 16bits ecus.

Here is some correspondence from Ecutek in an older thread.

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show...5&postcount=20
fastnoypi is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-26-2011 08:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 06-03-2010 05:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 10:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 04:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 21 10-17-2005 02:56 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.