Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday August 30, 2016
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo)

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads. 
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-27-2010, 04:07 PM   #976
bcjp11
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 249983
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Manhattan
Vehicle:
99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
Correct me me if I am wrong but if you have a v7 Spec-C/Limited motor, I believe it already comes with the same cams as the v8 (Spec-C or not) cams. Also, didn't the Spec-C/Limited v7 STI come with a VF34 turbo?
Spec C and S202 came with VF34
Limited came with VF30
Same engine codes and presumably same longblock internals.

Based upon my research, the cams in the V7 Spec C=V8 STI, V7 Spec C RA=V8 Spec C. Simply repeating what I have read on here and through various vendors. Would love to get confirmation so I can purchase the correct cams. Then again, will a cam upgrade to V8 Spec C make a significant difference in the powerband? Not looking to win track racer of the year.

However, I'd like to upgraded cams now if they will be a better fit for a GT30R next spring or farther down the road.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
bcjp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Old 08-27-2010, 04:11 PM   #977
gling
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122654
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Wayland, MA
Vehicle:
2002 v8 STI w/ GT30R
2013 GTR & M-Sport 335xi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjp11 View Post
Spec C and S202 came with VF34
Limited came with VF30

Based upon my research, the cams in the V7 Spec C=V8 STI, V7 Spec C RA=V8 Spec C. Simply repeating what I have read on here and through various vendors. Would love to get confirmation so I can purchase the correct cams. Then again, will a cam upgrade to V8 Spec C make a significant difference in the powerband? Not looking to win track racer of the year.

However, I'd like to upgraded cams now if they will be a better fit for a GT30R next spring or farther down the road.
Noted. Personally, I would get aftermarket 272 duration cams that support AVCS given the novelty costs of the above-mentioned OEM cams. But then again, it depends on how you want your car to behave.
gling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 04:12 PM   #978
bcjp11
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 249983
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Manhattan
Vehicle:
99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
Noted. Personally, I would get aftermarket 272 duration cams that support AVCS given the novelty costs of the above-mentioned OEM cams.
Definitely looking for the most cost effective upgrade, not into novelty upgrades so thanks for the recommendation.

It sounds like I have to go UTEC with 272 cams though and I don't know how I feel about that a UTEC without doing research to see if I will pass emissions in NJ.
bcjp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 04:29 PM   #979
gling
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122654
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Wayland, MA
Vehicle:
2002 v8 STI w/ GT30R
2013 GTR & M-Sport 335xi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjp11 View Post
Definitely looking for the most cost effective upgrade, not into novelty upgrades so thanks for the recommendation.

It sounds like I have to go UTEC with 272 cams though and I don't know how I feel about that a UTEC without doing research to see if I will pass emissions in NJ.
You make a good argument. I know Clark mentioned that you have to go the route of UTEC with 272 duration cams, but I wonder why this is. Clark, care to elaborate? Can Open ECU handle it instead? I'm not very savvy when it comes to engine management so I'd appreciate Clark's or anyone else's knowledgable input on this matter.

Gerald.
gling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 04:59 PM   #980
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
13.4 @ 103, '09 spec.B

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
You make a good argument. I know Clark mentioned that you have to go the route of UTEC with 272 duration cams, but I wonder why this is. Clark, care to elaborate? Can Open ECU handle it instead? I'm not very savvy when it comes to engine management so I'd appreciate Clark's or anyone else's knowledgable input on this matter.

Gerald.
I am running a UTEC with 272in/278ex cams. I see it being a great combination even with lower power in mind (GT30).

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 05:22 PM   #981
Paul
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 56203
Join Date: Feb 2004
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: south nj
Vehicle:
00 RSTI Coupe
Twin Scroll 2.5XTR EJ207

Default

I dont see why you would "need" a utec for a cams....can it even control the avcs?
Paul is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 05:39 PM   #982
bcjp11
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 249983
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Manhattan
Vehicle:
99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
You make a good argument. I know Clark mentioned that you have to go the route of UTEC with 272 duration cams, but I wonder why this is. Clark, care to elaborate? Can Open ECU handle it instead? I'm not very savvy when it comes to engine management so I'd appreciate Clark's or anyone else's knowledgable input on this matter.

Gerald.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I dont see why you would "need" a utec for a cams....can it even control the avcs?
Engine management novice so I am merely listening to an expert, Clark. However, I agree with you about the necessity for a UTEC. I just want to understand the reason and possible work arounds.
bcjp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 05:51 PM   #983
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
13.4 @ 103, '09 spec.B

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I dont see why you would "need" a utec for a cams....can it even control the avcs?
No it cannot control AVCS... but it allow its to work the way the ecu is programmed, ie- it passes the signal along unaltered.

For cams... you need to do some kind of tuning. UTEC is probably the most cost effective and flexible way to go about it. From there just use openecu to flash a new AVCS map if you see fit. For the record, I have left my AVCS map alone... although I know clark has a map that works better than stock both down low and up top.

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:16 PM   #984
bcjp11
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 249983
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Manhattan
Vehicle:
99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
You make a good argument. I know Clark mentioned that you have to go the route of UTEC with 272 duration cams, but I wonder why this is. Clark, care to elaborate? Can Open ECU handle it instead? I'm not very savvy when it comes to engine management so I'd appreciate Clark's or anyone else's knowledgable input on this matter.

Gerald.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul View Post
I dont see why you would "need" a utec for a cams....can it even control the avcs?
Quote:
Originally Posted by dug-e-fresh View Post
No it cannot control AVCS... but it allow its to work the way the ecu is programmed, ie- it passes the signal along unaltered.

For cams... you need to do some kind of tuning. UTEC is probably the most cost effective and flexible way to go about it. From there just use openecu to flash a new AVCS map if you see fit. For the record, I have left my AVCS map alone... although I know clark has a map that works better than stock both down low and up top.

def
Couldn't an OpenSource tune accomplish the same results as a UTEC? I am just trying to understand why UTEC over OpenSource
bcjp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2010, 06:26 PM   #985
fastnoypi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
AVCS ON!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjp11 View Post
Couldn't an OpenSource tune accomplish the same results as a UTEC? I am just trying to understand why UTEC over OpenSource
A while back the problem was the stock MAF would be maxed out with a larger sized turbo. I'm not sure if that is still the case any more but I intend to run my UTEC with speed density. I also like the on the fly map switching and additional spare solenoid control ability of the UTEC.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 03:54 AM   #986
lil'redwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10854
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hunt Valley, MD.
Vehicle:
2002 Sedan V8 ej207
Dom 3 XT-R, 400WHP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
A while back the problem was the stock MAF would be maxed out with a larger sized turbo. I'm not sure if that is still the case any more but I intend to run my UTEC with speed density. I also like the on the fly map switching and additional spare solenoid control ability of the UTEC.
on my tune, i just did the 'half-rom' workaround. my ecu seems to be taking it alright.
lil'redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:07 AM   #987
bcjp11
*** Banned ***
 
Member#: 249983
Join Date: Jun 2010
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: Manhattan
Vehicle:
99

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lil'redwagon View Post
on my tune, i just did the 'half-rom' workaround. my ecu seems to be taking it alright.
Ah, so it seems that you have to use MAP when MAF is "maxed" out and the stock ECU can't handle MAP so a UTEC is necessary to handle MAP. Would like to hear more about your workaround. I could search for it, but I am curious about your experiences.
bcjp11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 09:36 AM   #988
666stars
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 221364
Join Date: Aug 2009
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore
Vehicle:
2002 Wrx EJ207 Ver 8
Wrb Dccd 5 speed now!

Default

Don't most people go to a big maf intake setup when maxed like kstech. Or a groupn rom uses speed density, and you can opensource tune that. Just saying my car was never as smooth as it is now on opensource when I had a utec tuned by Phil .
666stars is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 10:35 AM   #989
fastnoypi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
AVCS ON!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 666stars View Post
Don't most people go to a big maf intake setup when maxed like kstech. Or a groupn rom uses speed density, and you can opensource tune that. Just saying my car was never as smooth as it is now on opensource when I had a utec tuned by Phil .
big maf setups are an option, also blow through maf. I've heard the groupN rom works but supposedly can't past ODB2 inspection which is a concern for daily drivers.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2010, 02:17 PM   #990
dug-e-fresh
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 4568
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: 603 whp / EJ207
Vehicle:
10.7 @ 136, '02 WRX
13.4 @ 103, '09 spec.B

Default

Big MAFs are on the scary edge of any meaningful resolution... speed density is probably the best reason to UTEC it. anything over 30R and up is gonna push a big MAF too close to the edge.

def
dug-e-fresh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 12:31 AM   #991
lil'redwagon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 10854
Join Date: Oct 2001
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Hunt Valley, MD.
Vehicle:
2002 Sedan V8 ej207
Dom 3 XT-R, 400WHP

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcjp11 View Post
Ah, so it seems that you have to use MAP when MAF is "maxed" out and the stock ECU can't handle MAP so a UTEC is necessary to handle MAP. Would like to hear more about your workaround. I could search for it, but I am curious about your experiences.

here you go, i had the page bookmarked:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1363692

it runs just fine for me. it's true, i'm halving the resolution of my ecu, but i haven't seen any negative effects from it. i'm also running a custom big maf (83mm) intake.
lil'redwagon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-29-2010, 12:15 PM   #992
fastnoypi
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 6886
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Vehicle:
MY01 EJ207 HTA35r
AVCS ON!

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lil'redwagon View Post
here you go, i had the page bookmarked:

http://forums.nasioc.com/forums/show....php?t=1363692

it runs just fine for me. it's true, i'm halving the resolution of my ecu, but i haven't seen any negative effects from it. i'm also running a custom big maf (83mm) intake.
i chose to do blowthrough maf because of this, some of the local shop customers ocaisionally have stumbling issues with their big maf setups on the larger turbos. When they stop at a light, the turbo keeps spinning, the ecu is tricked and dumps fuel from higher load sites because they see over a couple volts. The big maf setups that seem to do a little better,have placement further down near the wheel well away from the turbo.
fastnoypi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 05:13 AM   #993
bocaks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 171855
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: western canada
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue

Default

any advice for a aftermarket ecu to run a V7 207 with avacs? I didn't see much for standalone recomendations.
bocaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 07:59 AM   #994
Ryan23
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 15116
Join Date: Feb 2002
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Vehicle:
2000 Ver6 STi Type-R
EJ257/GT35R

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bocaks View Post
any advice for a aftermarket ecu to run a V7 207 with AVCS? I didn't see much for standalone recommendations.
Link G4 Xtreme.

http://www.linkecu.com/products/engi...ecus/g4-xtreme

I've been running mine for about a month now and have no complaints with it. The software is very intuitive and the box has plenty of I/O. Driveability is head and shoulders over what I had with my "Gen 1" (Version 6) EJ207 ECU.

I've run a number of standalones over the years, from beta testing the UTEC (Hi Def! :wave: ), to beta-ing the Gen 1 AEM EMS, FIC, MAP-ECU, Motec, Power FC all the way back to Accel's first DFI setup for domestics. The Link is my favorite thus far. It all really boils down to the interface. PC-Link can be downloaded for free if you'd like to play with it.

As for the price, I would suggest shopping around. I'm into mine for around $1500 delivered. That was with a 4 bar map and a MAC BCS. I already had an Innovate LC1 in the car and a spare GM IAT in the garage. The rest of the sensors are all OEM. I made my own jumper harness between the Link and my OEM harness as my application/needs were unique.

Tuning is a snap, we had the car 90% dialed in in one day, tuning on the street. I live in Japan, paying for dyno time out here is ridiculous. If I had (cheap) access to a set of Dynapaks, it would have cut down tuning time tremendously.

If you have any questions, feel free to ask.

Ryan
Ryan23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:34 PM   #995
Clark Turner
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 178047
Join Date: Apr 2008
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
02 WRX STI Spec C
Black

Default

The link G4 is nice.

Also you can call Phil at element and get a hydra that will plug in and run the AVCS.

C
Clark Turner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2010, 03:33 PM   #996
bocaks
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 171855
Join Date: Feb 2008
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: western canada
Vehicle:
02 WRX
Blue

Default

thanks ryan, I've got a legacy twin turbo 207 in my 02 wrx that was in it when I bought it and as far as I can tell it still has the stock ecu. and the avcs harness isn't there. so i've been dreaming about fixing that for a while now.
bocaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 11:36 AM   #997
LIQUIDSK8S
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22605
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2002 JDM STI/WRX
WRB

Default

Got my v8 Ej207 tuned last week. Now let me prepare you first...... I went into this tune with the goal being to have the car safe to drive/conservative and also to find out any problems/things that need to be addressed. It was also 90+ degrees and humid as hell.



The tuner said that he believes the problem to be the turbo, it was taking forever to spool with 20psi not coming until 5k+ rpms......... which destroyed the torque curve. The engine temps were also a big problem as the MAF was reading around 140+ degrees. The car doesn't have any heat shields on the turbo which is a big problem for under hood temps. So while the numbers were nothing to write home about....... we now have an idea of what needs to be addressed so that next time we can make more power.

It was nice to see how it pulled all the way to 7600rpms though. Here is the video of the dyno run.

Also, I was talking with the tuner in regards to speed density vs MAF and he told me that speed density is more of a pain because you have to recalibrate it every time the weather changes . He prefers MAF and said I should get a CAI to help with the MAF temp readings. If this is the case I was thinking of running the APS CAI with this shield I just bought (pic below), APS inlet, and a PW TMIC with the shroud, turbo blanket/heat shields etc etc.




I think I might just go back to a VF36/37 until a better TS option comes out.

EDIT: Here are my mods.

MRT TMIC
Hayward & Scott Downpipe
MRT catback, cat in midpipe (need to get rid of that)
I also notice the exhaust has a narrow section from when they did exhaust work..... looks like it drops down to a 1.5-2 inch pipe for a 2 inch section.
Turbo inlet hose
Blitz SUS intake
cobb pulley
VF37 converted to PE1825 by deadbolt with clipped fin/port polish/heat coating
Open source tune ( I have a Utec sitting in the garage)
Stock BCS

Last edited by LIQUIDSK8S; 09-18-2010 at 12:19 PM.
LIQUIDSK8S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 11:58 AM   #998
gling
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 122654
Join Date: Aug 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Wayland, MA
Vehicle:
2002 v8 STI w/ GT30R
2013 GTR & M-Sport 335xi

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by fastnoypi View Post
The big maf setups that seem to do a little better,have placement further down near the wheel well away from the turbo.
Very true. My big MAF setup used to cause the car to stall every time the car came to a stop when the MAF was placed about 1/2 - 3/4 a foot away from the turbo along with a short ram. Once I moved the MAF to the fender and used it in conjunction with a CAI, the car ran smoothly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LIQUIDSK8S View Post
Got my v8 Ej207 tuned last week. Now let me prepare you first...... I went into this tune with the goal being to have the car safe to drive/conservative and also to find out any problems/things that need to be addressed. It was also 90+ degrees and humid as hell.



The tuner said that he believes the problem to be the turbo, it was taking forever to spool with 20psi not coming until 5k+ rpms......... which destroyed the torque curve. The engine temps were also a big problem as the MAF was reading around 140+ degrees. The car doesn't have any heat shields on the turbo which is a big problem for under hood temps. So while the numbers were nothing to write home about....... we now have an idea of what needs to be addressed so that next time we can make more power.

It was nice to see how it pulled all the way to 7600rpms though. Here is the video of the dyno run.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHSdX2uq74U

Also, I was talking with the tuner in regards to speed density vs MAF and he told me that speed density is more of a pain because you have to recalibrate it every time the weather changes . He prefers MAF and said I should get a CAI to help with the MAF temp readings. If this is the case I was thinking of running the APS CAI with this shield I just bought (pic below), APS inlet, and a PW TMIC with the shroud, turbo blanket/heat shields etc etc.




I think I might just go back to a VF36/37 until a better TS option comes out.
What turbo are you running now?
gling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 12:11 PM   #999
LIQUIDSK8S
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 22605
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Boca Raton, FL
Vehicle:
2002 JDM STI/WRX
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gling View Post
Very true. My big MAF setup used to cause the car to stall every time the car came to a stop when the MAF was placed about 1/2 - 3/4 a foot away from the turbo along with a short ram. Once I moved the MAF to the fender and used it in conjunction with a CAI, the car ran smoothly.



What turbo are you running now?
Bah I'm an idiot, I copied that from my car journal..... forgot the turbo wasn't listed. I'll edit with the other mods too.

It's a VF37 converted by deabolt to PE1825 with a port/polish and clipped fin.
LIQUIDSK8S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2010, 12:42 PM   #1000
gingertooth
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 82242
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: west milford, NJ
Vehicle:
2005 wrx wagon
wooh wooh!!!!!

Default

are you sure your avcs is working???? If it's not your turbo will take forever to spool......
gingertooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ej207 owner wants opinions adbramsay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 2 02-26-2011 07:29 PM
Ej207 V6 AndrewFD3 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 10 06-03-2010 04:53 PM
JDM Sti EJ207 V9 crank 75mm or billet crank (K1, Manley) VENDORS ??? L'frise Private 'Wanted' Classifieds 7 06-03-2010 09:24 AM
08 ej207 JDM dual AVCS heads on a built v7 ej207 icev7 Built Motor Discussion 17 02-21-2010 03:21 PM
Ver 8 EJ207 Owners Check In spoolinsuby Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 21 10-17-2005 01:56 AM

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2016 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2016, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.