Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday August 23, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC General > Car Audio, Video & Security

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2006, 06:14 AM   #1
zephyr451
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 2456
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Bellevue,WA USA
Vehicle:
2007 Outback XT
Blue

Default Subaru Factory Nav.

We just took delivery of our '07 Outback XT w/Nav. Has anyone figured out how to hack the system such that you can change/add destinations while moving. Currently Subaru disables the most of the Nav functions when the vehicle starts to move. While this is very clever, it's also completely annoying.

TIA,

-Michael
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
zephyr451 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:56 PM   #2
rallysquirrel
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7006
Join Date: May 2001
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Clifton Park, NY
Vehicle:
2007 SpecB

Default

I'm wondering the same thing.
I'd like to see the boost gauge and EGT instead of the fuel gauges.
rallysquirrel is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 11:56 PM   #3
thedaddyb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64374
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
07 WRX SWP *SOLD
03 2.5ts BRP long gone

Default

do you know the manufacturer of the unit?

pioneer, clarion, etc? that might help lead into more insights of how to bypass it.

we install the Ford factory navs and 6 disc units at work and they are all built by pioneer.

also does it block route entering only when out of park? or could you be stopped and have it in D and it still work?
thedaddyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 02:29 PM   #4
elduderino11
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 75464
Join Date: Nov 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Rancho Cucamonga
Vehicle:
'05 WRX sedan Stg 2
2.3L CGM, Harman Tuned

Default

Don't know if this will help, but my buddy recently got the pioneer unit installed in his duramax and had the issue with not being able to make changes whilst moving. His fix was to simply cut a wire going to the parking break. Not sure which wire it was and if it will even help you, but simple google search will bring up a number of nav hacking sites...good luck!
elduderino11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 04:25 PM   #5
elsanto
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34832
Join Date: Apr 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: was once a nut like me.
Vehicle:
1989 M3
White

Default

try pulling up the parking brake one click.. if this works then you can try that.. cut the sendor on the parking brake. or just run around with it pulled up.. id loosen the cable though first so you dont drag them till they are worn down.
elsanto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:59 PM   #6
thedaddyb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64374
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
07 WRX SWP *SOLD
03 2.5ts BRP long gone

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by elsanto View Post
try pulling up the parking brake one click.. if this works then you can try that.. cut the sendor on the parking brake. or just run around with it pulled up.. id loosen the cable though first so you dont drag them till they are worn down.
worst idea ever.

if the unit does actually intergrate through the parking brake lead, it will intergrate at somepoint throughout the car. find that point and disconnect it and ground it.
thedaddyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:05 PM   #7
2mprzya
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 34053
Join Date: Mar 2003
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Dover, NH
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
Black Bugeye

Default

is there a sequence you have to do (brake pedal, ebrake, pedal, brake) ? if so, simple grounding it will not work. you would have to get a switch to ground so you could flip it on/off. you could try ebay, as they have an interface for the dvd player units that work the same way.
2mprzya is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 06:19 PM   #8
AnnapolisSubaruSales
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 125091
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis, MD
Default

It is a Kenwood unit, if that helps at all...
AnnapolisSubaruSales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 07:14 PM   #9
thedaddyb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64374
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
07 WRX SWP *SOLD
03 2.5ts BRP long gone

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnapolisSubaruSales View Post
It is a Kenwood unit, if that helps at all...
that does help, how does the unit actually work though?

do you have to engage the parking brake to enter in a new route?
if so then it would be a simple grounding solution.

does the car have to be in park?
if so it probably ties into the transmission sensor switch (or neutral safety switch)

if you can enter it whenever the car is stopped and not moving it is either based on speed sense or an internal gyro. making it very difficult to bypass. pioneer units have many tricks to bypass those features, but a kenwood I'm not too sure on.
thedaddyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 10:08 PM   #10
4EVO2NV
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 51692
Join Date: Jan 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Chino Hills, CA
Vehicle:
04 STi JBP
Enginuity Tuned

Default

there will be a wire on the back of the radio that detects the parking brake is on. all you will have to do is remove this wire from its circuit and connect it to ground. This would work as long as the gps does not use any type of gyro sensors.
4EVO2NV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 01:26 PM   #11
AnnapolisSubaruSales
NASIOC Vendor
 
Member#: 125091
Join Date: Sep 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Annapolis, MD
Default

It doesn't care about the parking brake for entering a destination. If you're at a stop light, car is in drive, brake pedal is down, you can change/enter the destination. You can even do it coasting slightly to a stop.

So, that says to me speed sensor.

Again, hope it helps.
AnnapolisSubaruSales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 02:24 PM   #12
thedaddyb
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 64374
Join Date: Jun 2004
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Baltimore, MD
Vehicle:
07 WRX SWP *SOLD
03 2.5ts BRP long gone

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnapolisSubaruSales View Post
It doesn't care about the parking brake for entering a destination. If you're at a stop light, car is in drive, brake pedal is down, you can change/enter the destination. You can even do it coasting slightly to a stop.

So, that says to me speed sensor.

Again, hope it helps.
aggreed. sounds like the speed sense wire to me as well.
Not much you can do in this situation. If you disconnect it, the gps will loose it's accuracy. You could wire it up to a switch where if you flick it on it temporarily to cut the connection to the VSS. Then you could run into other issues if it grounds out and shorts the unit, your gauges, or even ecu.

better off looking for a software hack or maybe some other internal way to bypass it.
thedaddyb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2006, 03:43 PM   #13
LastResort
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 99289
Join Date: Oct 2005
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by thedaddyb View Post
aggreed. sounds like the speed sense wire to me as well.
Not much you can do in this situation. If you disconnect it, the gps will loose it's accuracy. You could wire it up to a switch where if you flick it on it temporarily to cut the connection to the VSS. Then you could run into other issues if it grounds out and shorts the unit, your gauges, or even ecu.

better off looking for a software hack or maybe some other internal way to bypass it.
Actually, it sounds like GPS to me. It would be able to know that you are not at exactly zero speed with VSS, but any calculations that use GPS location would have a time constant built in. That will be even tougher to break. Though this is ALL a guess.
LastResort is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can 09 G37s w/o factory nav be outfitted with factory nav?? SBPhilly Off-Topic 13 02-02-2010 02:59 AM
Factory Nav vs. Aftermarket - please help me decie sbkim Car Audio, Video & Security 8 12-30-2008 11:45 AM
factory nav AFTER the fact? zmw Car Audio, Video & Security 0 11-30-2008 12:09 PM
Is the factory Nav worth getting? ScoobyDaddy Newbies & FAQs 11 04-29-2008 11:39 AM
Factory Nav Question dvon1981 Car Audio, Video & Security 45 11-15-2007 09:49 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.