Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday September 2, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Electrical & Lighting

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-27-2006, 06:52 PM   #1
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default help wiring up gauges where the clock use to be

im about to install 3 gauges and a pod there where the clock was and as far as gettin power to them should i cut the harness off the clock and wire them in that? i here some people cut the clock plug and get air bag lights and the radio stops workin ,i have a 04 not sure if that is just with the 06's or all. any help would be great
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 07:35 PM   #2
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

No, dont cut any wires or harness off. Just buy some vampire clips and tap into the 12v line. As far as I know, the 06's you cant remove the clock. Im told you have to remove the clock from the plastic housing, and set it aside UNDER your new gauges. That way its out of the way and still works as designed. You just wont see it.

Not sure if 04 is same way. Regardless, just use vampire clips.
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 07:46 PM   #3
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default

so if i install my gauges and leave the plug harness just hangin under my gauges no connected think il have any trouble?
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:00 PM   #4
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

Does your show the ABS status next to your clock? IF YES, then remove clock from plastic housing and put it down in the hole WITH power wires connected to it.

If you dont have ABS light next to your clock, then you should be able to unplug it and tap into the plug you just removed from the clock.
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:11 PM   #5
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default

ive never seen a abs light so i take it i dont im just scared to tap in to it and open a can of worms so i might just run the wires to a diffrent source and keep the plug free in case i have trouble.
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:31 PM   #6
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

Dude, its easy. If you dont got an abs light up there (which is ALWAYS on) then your fine. Look at the back of the clock, you will see which wire does what. It should clearly show you that on the back of the clock. Tap into whatever wire you need.
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:53 PM   #7
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default

ok thanks
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 06:59 PM   #8
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

Did you figure it out?
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:01 PM   #9
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default

yea i did it a few min ago all good cept my old cheap boost gauge is alittle off like when the key is off its just barley on 0 so it reads alittle off so il need to get a newone other wise it all worked out thanks for the help.
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-28-2006, 08:52 PM   #10
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

My stock one was never in the same place when I turned my car off.
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 01:38 AM   #11
DinoGuan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42233
Join Date: Aug 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: San Diego
Vehicle:
04 WRX waGGon
WRB

Default

Hmm, I just cliped all the wires off the back of the connector to the clock, and solderd my gauges in, and taped off any stray wires. No problems,, yet. I have an 04, no airbag light.
DinoGuan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-29-2006, 01:58 AM   #12
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DinoGuan View Post
Hmm, I just cliped all the wires off the back of the connector to the clock, and solderd my gauges in, and taped off any stray wires. No problems,, yet. I have an 04, no airbag light.

You removed the harness?
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:29 PM   #13
civichunter2
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 70150
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Maryland
Vehicle:
2004 WRX
Black 4eat

Default

yea i just took a u shaped spade clip cut one side off the U and put it in the stock harness works very good and didnt have to cut the harness
civichunter2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2006, 05:32 PM   #14
ILSMKU2
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 77908
Join Date: Dec 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: OC
Vehicle:
2011 E92 ///M3
RIP 11, 09, 06, 03 STI's

Default

^^^ Right on!
ILSMKU2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Does the clock have to be hooked up for your radio to work? nrowensby Interior & Exterior Modification 16 10-20-2009 01:05 PM
How do you wire up gauges in a clock pod fastlanerex Electrical & Lighting 0 02-23-2008 04:25 PM
Gauges where the AC/heater knobs used to be oldhat Interior & Exterior Modification 3 11-08-2006 07:35 AM
Welding metallic cat where TXS cat used to be... gooder77 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 8 02-23-2006 01:59 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.