Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday September 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Water/Methanol Injection, Nitrous & Intercooler Cooling

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-07-2006, 09:26 PM   #1
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default Alky hookup?

I have two 05 STi's and I just bought coolingmists varicooler kits. My question is where is a good 12volt switched wire that can handle 15amp load.... Otherwise I am going to add a relay and just trigger the relay with the cigarette lighter (because it is a switched lead). Thanks.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:01 PM   #2
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

Why dont you just buy a switch instead of splicing to your cigarette lighter?
Coolingmist offers a switch, or you can buy one for a couple dollars at autozone ect.

Jay-R
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:19 PM   #3
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

Because If I forget to turn it on and since I will be tuned with a fpgreen and alky I will smoke the block.
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:20 PM   #4
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

Basicly I need the system to come on with the ignition switch, but it has to be on a system that can handle 15amps (system only needs 10amps but I want a saftey margin)
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:38 PM   #5
hippy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36528
Join Date: May 2003
Location: florida
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Silver

Default

Would it hurt anything to use a relay?

peace
hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2006, 10:58 PM   #6
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

There's the problem with a switch... " If I forget to turn it on". If you connect it as stated in the directions it will come on when you turn the key on without failure.
Depending on what cotroller you got you may have an LED(s) to indicate power.
SUGGESTION: When you get everything wired and connected, before connecting your fluid line to the injector, first rout it to the windshield and test drive the car to ensure fluid is flowing.
You also need to get tuned for it.
If you are the type that races every rice car you see for system / engine safety hook it uo as in the directions. If you are the type of person that knows there is a time and place for power then you should be able to connect a switch.

Jay-R

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinister redlines View Post
Because If I forget to turn it on and since I will be tuned with a fpgreen and alky I will smoke the block.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 12:34 AM   #7
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dibblejr View Post
There's the problem with a switch... " If I forget to turn it on". If you connect it as stated in the directions it will come on when you turn the key on without failure.
Depending on what cotroller you got you may have an LED(s) to indicate power.
SUGGESTION: When you get everything wired and connected, before connecting your fluid line to the injector, first rout it to the windshield and test drive the car to ensure fluid is flowing.
You also need to get tuned for it.
If you are the type that races every rice car you see for system / engine safety hook it uo as in the directions. If you are the type of person that knows there is a time and place for power then you should be able to connect a switch.

Jay-R

This thinking is fine if you are using a utec with map switch BUT I am using cobb ap so when I get tuned and have it setup and the alky isnt running BOOM. And NO I race at the track not the streets, this way my kids know I will make it home OK. In other words I am in my 30's and not a kid trying to prove that my car is faster than yours.

I want this setup to run all the time with the engine on so by the looks of it the relay is the way to go.
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 12:35 AM   #8
Sinister redlines
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 120641
Join Date: Jul 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Vehicle:
05 HTA3586,BB 2.5L
CGM

Default

I realize you are trying to help but I have run alky setups in cars before just not a STi. I am looking more for where is everyone else hooking theres to otherwize I will go with my above stated plan.
Sinister redlines is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 06:21 AM   #9
hippy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 36528
Join Date: May 2003
Location: florida
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza Wrx
Silver

Default

It would probably be wise to use a relay, get the power from the battery, and switch it on with an ignition source just cause it couldn't hurt anything. I don't run a coolingmist kit, but my kit is wired this way. Coolingmist has said in other threads that this is not necessary.

peace
hippy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2006, 08:44 AM   #10
dibblejr
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 94070
Join Date: Aug 2005
Chapter/Region: South East
Location: Dirty South
Vehicle:
05 LGT
PSM

Default

I also use the AP, at least as a map manager. At stage 4+ I rely on my tuner. I have been runny my setup for a long time without failure.
I am 40 so I also have nothing to prove to the kids.(lol)
If you use the boost to control the alky then the alky only runs during your set boost, it is not always pumping alky. However the power is always on.

Good luck
Jay-R
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinister redlines View Post
This thinking is fine if you are using a utec with map switch BUT I am using cobb ap so when I get tuned and have it setup and the alky isnt running BOOM. And NO I race at the track not the streets, this way my kids know I will make it home OK. In other words I am in my 30's and not a kid trying to prove that my car is faster than yours.

I want this setup to run all the time with the engine on so by the looks of it the relay is the way to go.
dibblejr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2006, 02:42 PM   #11
JMK508
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115420
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: Mountains
Vehicle:
Its like a STI.....
but it doesn't break

Default

I do know what you are talking about. I am tuned for the ALKY so we go full throttle and the ALKY does not spay, we will have a very large bucket of spare parts on our hand. I feel your pain
JMK508 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
If anyone is looking for GOOD vinyl stickers and etc... hookup bigbird Mid Atlantic Impreza Club -- MAIC 2 06-01-2001 11:40 AM
Anyone have a hookup for Oakleys? ColinL Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 13 05-25-2001 04:08 PM
Profec-B Hookup on T25 HELP- - - - GhostRide Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 4 03-30-2001 07:03 PM
anyone have hookup for mounting tires to rims??? Aspen Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 15 12-19-2000 09:22 AM
Amp hookup question Leg93 Legacy Forum 1 09-20-2000 07:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.