Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday March 4, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Normally Aspirated with bolt-on Forced Induction Powertrain

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2001, 02:39 PM   #1
Patrick L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 634
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Tulsa, OK
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Becasue ITS racecar

Default FJO Enterprises

Anyone heard of FJO Enterprises ? I was told that they were coming out with a engine management system that is everything the TEC-II system is and more. "I'll beleive it when I see" i told the guy that told me about it.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Patrick L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 02:42 PM   #2
Jewbaru
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1994
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: "Teh Hebro Town"
Vehicle:
2013 Impreza WRX
WRB

Default

hmm... These guys? Interesting...
http://fjoinc.com/automotive/

their site sucks!
Jewbaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 03:09 PM   #3
Patrick L
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 634
Join Date: Dec 1999
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Tulsa, OK
Vehicle:
2000 Impreza 2.5RS
Becasue ITS racecar

Default

Yeah, I posted the link to their site. Does anyone have any insite into the system.
Patrick L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 05:17 PM   #4
RageHardIntoTheBendies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1532
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wnnipeg, MB, Canada
Vehicle:
1999 RS, Silverthorn
www.zucru.com

Default

Looks like a nice system, there is a guy locally the it turbo charging his ford Probe Enfine (which lives in an MX3) and will be using this for his EMS.

Will have more info when he gets it.
RageHardIntoTheBendies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2001, 05:40 PM   #5
RyanC
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2634
Join Date: Oct 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: CT
Vehicle:
2011 135i
alpinweiss

Default

The specs look very impressive. I like the 16x16 table for adjusting timing etc. Better resolution there than in WinTEC. It's pretty expensive though, compared to a TEC-II with the goodies, but from a feature list it looks like you're getting a lot more bang for the buck.
RyanC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2002, 12:21 PM   #6
RageHardIntoTheBendies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1532
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wnnipeg, MB, Canada
Vehicle:
1999 RS, Silverthorn
www.zucru.com

Default

Been talking to these guys a little further as they are based here in Winnipeg. This system really does have some awsome features, it is a little more expensive than a TecII but it does have some advamtages over that system. The display unit can be used to display EGT etc but can be used to tune on the fly, all the connections in the engine bay are 100% weather proof which has been a problem with the TEC systems. According to a local tuner who has been using TEC and Haltec systems for teh last 10years, this system can be fine tuned to give better under the curve power and better emisions than the TECII.
Granted This system has not been installed on a subaru(Yet ) as far as I know.
RageHardIntoTheBendies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2002, 12:30 PM   #7
d00f
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 6000
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Vehicle:
2000 GC8 STi V4 swap
BRP

Default

The system has not been installed on Subaru. In fact there have only been a few systems ever installed. Last time I talked to the guy he was planning on really selling them publically. It does have some nice features but with no base map you'd better know your engine well and be prepared to spend a lot of time tuning.

-Michael
d00f is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2002, 12:37 PM   #8
RageHardIntoTheBendies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1532
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wnnipeg, MB, Canada
Vehicle:
1999 RS, Silverthorn
www.zucru.com

Default

Yup I have been talking to him with the intent of producing those base maps
Considering the $$ involved it would only be NA maps though.
RageHardIntoTheBendies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2002, 02:21 PM   #9
RallyNavvie
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 7113
Join Date: Jun 2001
Chapter/Region: TXIC
Location: Minnesotan in Texas
Vehicle:
2008 Spec B
DGM

Default

Looks interesting. Priced comparative to the Vishnu TEC-II kit if you buy some of the options when you get the kit. In fact for now the only thing I can find wrong with it is the price, which isn't all that bad really. Unfortunately you will have to be the first to tune one for a Subaru.

The options it has available are really impressive. The Haltech has more inputs/outputs than a TEC-II, but this FJO one has almost twice the inputs/outputs for optional devices. Sensors look like they're just GM sensors like every other kit uses. I wonder if that coolant temp sensor they have that's metric has the same type connector as the NPT one. That would solve one problem on my set-up. Did you see some of those options it could handle? GPS, wireless modem? WOW

Unfortunately it sounds too good to be true. Some of it is also a little over the top. What good would a GPS module do for engine management? A wireless modem to communicate with the ECU could be a security issue, as crazy as that sounds.

But to be honest, if I hadn't just put a Haltech in I would probably be looking forward to the results of this new ECU.

~Garrett
RallyNavvie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2002, 03:24 PM   #10
RageHardIntoTheBendies
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 1532
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Wnnipeg, MB, Canada
Vehicle:
1999 RS, Silverthorn
www.zucru.com

Default

From what I gather the Modem and GPS options are just for datalogging purposes, I can see the benefits in a track situation.
I'm going to talk to FJO's cheap engineer this weekend to see about getting a discount if I let them use my car as a testbed.
Anything anybody wants to know?
RageHardIntoTheBendies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GC8 parts FS, Exhuast UDP, fjo wideband Midwayman Private 'For Sale' Classifieds 4 09-01-2003 10:08 PM
To make a FJO data log cable.... Midwayman Mid West Subaru Owners Club Forum -- MWSOC 0 04-25-2003 03:47 AM
FJO Wide Band 02 Ryan23 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 13 08-28-2002 07:32 PM
FJO Enterprises Patrick L Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 0 11-07-2001 06:08 PM
Anyone familiar with FJO engine management? Rob K Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.0L Turbo) 5 04-23-2001 07:53 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.