Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday August 22, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-09-2006, 07:47 PM   #1
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Exclamation Need Help On Setting/Changing Idle Speed On '05

I put in cams and the idle is 'lumpy' but the car runs great. My ECM cannot be set for idle speed ('07 you can). It is 'fly by wire' so there is no cable to screw with. I need to lift the idle speed from the OEM position of 500-600 rpms. At this low of speed I can watch the 'misfire' cell go out for all 4 holes. At 800 rpm and above the cells are not thrown!

So, I thought the answer was to change the 'bump stop' height on the pedal assembly, easy right? NOT. I need help for another solution:

I pulled the gas pedal assembly and it was very simple to change the 'bump stop' to have the pedal remaining pushed down a bit to give a 'mechanical idle' that should of got by the ECM... Nylon hammer attached to the gas pedal is slammed shut with two springs. There is a nylon wafer in there acting as the 'off' position for the gas pedal. Should be a simple matter of adding some material to the nylon, right?

With the ECM dialed into the 500-600 RPM idle I added material to the stopper (nylon).

I started with a small sticky circle felt pad (used for under ash trays, lamps... that sort of thing). Used the smallest (thinnest) one. RPM's jumped to 3200. TOO much!

Then went to a small sticky circle of Velcro®... felt side 1st (2800 rpm)... the hook side (2000 rpm).

Then tried a very thin piece if plastic, again 2000 rpm.

Then a small circle Band Aid®, down to 1500 rpm.

Then one die-cut sticker (just happened to have a circle), again 1500 rpm!

Did it again with nothing. Back to 500-600 rpm.

So I bailed on that strategy. It was never lower then 1500 rpm with anything on the stop!


I decided to go back to the Velcro® route and see if I reset the ECM to the 'new stopper' that might be the way. Went to the 'hooks' side for this. The car when I started it back up was trying desperately to '0' out my stopper. It swung wildly from 300 rpm to 1200 rpm and NEVER settled down. Went for a drive anyways... where ever the peak RPM was at a shift (when I would leave the clutch depressed) it would hold open. Same if I blipped the throttle to 4500, when I got back to the stop, the rpms stayed right at 4500!

So, mechanical fix doesn't look like it can be done...?


But I did figure out how to make it idle @ 900 RPMs!!!

When the air compressor kicks on for the AC, it send a signal to the ECM and it kicks the idle up 300 RPMs. Now, I need someone who can tell me which sensor wire it is on the compressor that goes to report to the ECM and what ohm the signal is that is thrown to the ECM. It seems it can be solved just like the resistor fix for the rear 02 sensor when you are running catless (with a PEP/resistor telling the ECM what it wants to hear)!!!

Now to find someone smarter then me to help with this matter! Any electrical gurus that might be able to help with the AC fix, or...?
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 07:58 PM   #2
snwman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72680
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma/Spanaway/Graham
Vehicle:
2013 Subaru STi
Satin White Pearl

Default

which engine management do you have?
snwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2006, 09:07 PM   #3
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snwman View Post
which engine management do you have?
Stock OEM ECM ~ this is my problem. If I can't solve this any other way, then maybe I am going to have to look for a 'piggy back' for my '05 N/A so I can just set the friggin' idle speed!
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:10 AM   #4
snwman
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72680
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Tacoma/Spanaway/Graham
Vehicle:
2013 Subaru STi
Satin White Pearl

Default

ohhh hmmm yeah that would be a problem... You could just drive with the AC on all the time lol. Where in the NW are you?
snwman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:33 AM   #5
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
MHI-TF06-18K

Default

You could check over at enginuity.org. I think they have "definition" files to interpret the ECU image of the 2.5i.
Airboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:36 AM   #6
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboy View Post
You could check over at enginuity.org. I think they have "definition" files to interpret the ECU image of the 2.5i.
Wow! I am afraid I am not worthy... or am I insecure? Will hold up my hand and see if they can help me. Thanks.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 06:13 AM   #7
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Try the ecuexplorer. You used to be able to raise the idle with that, but it is tempory you will lose the setting when you reset the ECU.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 07:53 AM   #8
UpPweez
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 131712
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default

Dude. Stop hacking. Just buy the tactrix cable for $80 and have the ability to reflash your ecu for whatever you want ... including the idle. ECUFlash + Enginuity = Powerful and Cheap.
UpPweez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:10 PM   #9
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by UpPweez View Post
Dude. Stop hacking. Just buy the tactrix cable for $80 and have the ability to reflash your ecu for whatever you want ... including the idle. ECUFlash + Enginuity = Powerful and Cheap.
Tell me more! If there is a reflash option to be able to do this then I am all over it. But how does just a cable help me? Somewhat confused by that statement?

Just 'googled' tactrix and followed the links. ECUflash does no support the N/A motor, just WRX/STI, Forester XT and Legacy GT (at least according to their own Subaru chart.

Last edited by NW OBS; 11-10-2006 at 12:20 PM.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:19 PM   #10
TheMadScientist
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 23717
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Beverly, MA
Vehicle:
2005 Big red

Default

Here is the list of ECU's that you can tune with Enginuity:


Supported ECU Revision List

The list of all currently supported revisions follows.

32BIT REVISIONS SUPPORTED

USDM
STi
2004 - A2ZJ500J, A2ZJ700J, A2ZJ710J
2005 - A2ZJB10J, A2ZJB11J
2006 - A2ZJE11J
2007 - A2UG0007

WRX
2006 - A8DH200X, A8DH201X

2.5i/2.5RS
2006 - E2VH202C
2005 - E2ZJ101G

FORESTER XT
2004 - A2ZJ201D, A2ZJ500I
2005 - A2WC410I
2006 - A8DH100I

LEGACY GT
2005 A2WC500N, A2WC500C, A2WC510C, A2WC510N, A2WC521C, A2WC521N, A2WC522N
2006 A2WF200N, A2WF200C

BAJA TURBO
2005 - A2WC501L, A2WC500L

OUTBACK XT
2005 A2WC511R, A2WC521R
2006 A2WF200R

EDM
STI
2006 - A8DH200Z, A8DG300G

FORESTER XT
2003/2004 - A2ZJ500F
2005 - A2ZJA10P, A8DH100P

ADM/SA

STI
2006 - A8DH200V

FORESTER XT
2004 - A2ZJ500M
2005 - A2WC420M, A2ZJA00P

LIBERTY GT
2003 - A2ZJ800G
2004 - A2ZJD02G

JDM

LEGACY GT
2005 - A2WD002T
2004 - A2ZJD00B, A2WD012A, A2WD010B, A2WD010A, A2ZJ601A

16BIT REVISIONS SUPPORTED

USDM

WRX
2002 - A4SG900C, A4SGA00C, A4SGC00C, A4SGD10C, A4SGE01C
2003 - A4TC101L, A4TC300L, A4TC400L
2004 - A4TF300E, A4TF300F, A4TF400E, A4TF500F, A4TF510F, A4TF520F
2005 - A4TH7000, A4TF800F, A4TF800E

EDM

WRX
2001/2002 - A4SE700D, A4SE900D
2003 - A4TE001G, A4TE100G
2005 - A4TE300D

STI
2001/2002 - A4RG060Q, A4RG060P, A4RN1000
2003/2004 - A4RM100H, A4RN200H
2005 - A4RN300G

JDM

WRX
2001/2002 - A4SD900A
2003 - A4SDA00P, A4TE000A
2004 - A4TE200A

STI
2001/2002 - A4SD900B, A4SDA01B, A4RG052N
2003 - A4SDA00Q, A4SDA01Q, A4TE002B, A4TE002C
2005 - A4TJ111B
2006 - A4TJ121B, A4TJ121C

ADM/SA

WRX
2001/2002 - A4SE700I, A4SE900I
2003 - A4TE001I
2004 - ARTH000O, A4TH000N
2005 - A4TH100H, A4RM200K

STI
2003 - A4RM100G
2004 - A4RN300I

If you car is on that list you just need to buy the openport cable, download enginuity and ECUflash and you can tune the ECU in your car.

TMS
TheMadScientist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:34 PM   #11
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Default

Wow! I am on the list '05 RS'. w00t!!! Now I get the cable and Enginuity is the software I want to use with it? Will google that next ~ maybe the 'reflash corral' at Subyfest next week would be able to help as well.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:42 PM   #12
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

IIRC Ecu Flash can't reflash the 05RS, but you can do it with ECU Explorer. Ecu Explorer can adjust the idle until the next ecu reset though, so you may not need to change your maps. But since you've got cams, changing your maps would most likely benefit you anyway.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 12:48 PM   #13
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master2192 View Post
IIRC Ecu Flash can't reflash the 05RS, but you can do it with ECU Explorer. Ecu Explorer can adjust the idle until the next ecu reset though, so you may not need to change your maps. But since you've got cams, changing your maps would most likely benefit you anyway.
So ECUflash is out for my '05RS, but Enginuity and ECU Explorer can work with my car. Off to 'Google' ECU Explorer! Thanks.

Enginuity + Tactrix cable = $79.00
ECU Explorer + Tactrix cable = $358

Sort looks obvious which way to go eh?

Last edited by NW OBS; 11-10-2006 at 12:56 PM.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 02:06 PM   #14
Airboy
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72829
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: W. Canada
Location: Calgary, Canada
Vehicle:
2006 WRX
MHI-TF06-18K

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NW OBS View Post
So ECUflash is out for my '05RS, but Enginuity and ECU Explorer can work with my car. Off to 'Google' ECU Explorer! Thanks.

Enginuity + Tactrix cable = $79.00
ECU Explorer + Tactrix cable = $358

Sort looks obvious which way to go eh?
The ECUexploer that is referred to in this thread is FREE and comes from here:
http://www.tari.co.za/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl

It is not the one from APR that cost $279
Airboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 02:29 PM   #15
NW OBS
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 101361
Join Date: Nov 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Baja Oregon
Vehicle:
05 OBS
Obsidian Pearl Black

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airboy View Post
The ECUexploer that is referred to in this thread is FREE and comes from here:
http://www.tari.co.za/cgi-bin/yabb2/YaBB.pl

It is not the one from APR that cost $279
Thank you! So, it's either ECUexplorer + Tactrax cable or, Enginuity + Tactrax cable.

Since I use Mac/Apple I have downloaded Enginuity... now I need to upgrade my operataing system ($129) because it's a 'Jav'a based program that doesn't seem to like my 10.3 OX. Then i need to buy the Tactrax cable ($79), ALL just so I can bump my idle a few 100 RPMs ~ silly.

Last edited by NW OBS; 11-10-2006 at 07:42 PM.
NW OBS is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with setting the backlash on the 6mt 1/500yellowwrx Transmission (AT/MT) & Driveline 6 03-11-2007 07:12 AM
Need Some Help On Setting/Changing Idle Speed on '05 NW OBS Normally Aspirated Powertrain 2 10-25-2006 11:41 AM
Need help for setting up tire pressure on Kumho V710 Modifying Motorsports 15 07-29-2006 02:36 PM
need help with wiring up a sub to '05 Leg stock HU phillywrx Car Audio, Video & Security 4 07-20-2004 09:27 AM
need a little help on setting boost vs speed on unichip HM3SC Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 0 11-22-2001 08:05 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.