Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Wednesday August 20, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2006, 12:37 PM   #1
red330I
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104950
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Vehicle:
2015 STI LTD
WRB

Default Another protune after CAI install?

I'm stage 2 and just had a protune done last weekend. I want to add either and APS CAI or the SPT intake. Will I need to have another tune done after I install the parts? Thanks for the help.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
red330I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:17 PM   #2
smeghead
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56649
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
03 Stage2 WRX
JP Black

Default

I have a similar question too. Im about to get a protune and am wondering whether to put my CAI in or not.
smeghead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:22 PM   #3
Call_me_Tom
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 60972
Join Date: May 2004
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Default

I would get the protune. If you run a search there are some interesting threads discussing this.
Call_me_Tom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 01:59 PM   #4
parker/slc/gc8fan
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 46241
Join Date: Oct 2003
Chapter/Region: RMIC
Location: Tinsel Towers. Apt. 29
Vehicle:
- RIP
SDF-1

Default

IIRC, the SPT intake was approved for use on the STI.

Not sure about the WRX.
parker/slc/gc8fan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 06:27 PM   #5
red330I
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 104950
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Cape Cod, MA
Vehicle:
2015 STI LTD
WRB

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by smeghead View Post
I have a similar question too. Im about to get a protune and am wondering whether to put my CAI in or not.
If you have the intake then you should install it before the tune. That way it can be tuned with the intake.

My problem is that my car was tuned with a TBE and I was wondering if I would need to get another tune after the intake is installed. Or if I could install the intake and have it run safely with the protune map from XX tuning.
red330I is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 06:28 PM   #6
smeghead
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 56649
Join Date: Mar 2004
Vehicle:
03 Stage2 WRX
JP Black

Default

I wouldnt put it in without the tune, that can influence that A/F quite alot
smeghead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2006, 08:02 PM   #7
djdimensions
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 95204
Join Date: Sep 2005
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: SCV
Vehicle:
2007 Toyota Prius
Black

Default

Put the intake on and get it tuned again
djdimensions is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
High intake temps after CAI install infowolfe Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain 24 07-20-2009 12:03 AM
Passenger headlight turns off after CAI install khizzle Newbies & FAQs 3 07-13-2008 05:15 PM
Help!! I can't get full throttle after CAI install. 112nick Normally Aspirated Powertrain 8 04-02-2005 01:15 PM
car no start after CAI install? help please Solomon Normally Aspirated Powertrain 12 07-30-2003 12:31 AM
Check engine light after CAI install MporTluvR General Community 10 01-16-2002 10:18 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.