Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Tuesday July 29, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2006, 08:05 PM   #1
tokstad
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 113903
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Beaverton / Aloha
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
World Rally Blue

Default Noob question on flashing back to stock

I tried searching but didn't find much. I have a 2002 that I want to flash to stage 2, I was thinking of buying the tactrix cable and the XPT stage 2 map.

From what I've read it's possible to flash the OEM ECU ~100 times. So doing this and then going back to stock shouldn't be much of an issue in theory.

My concerns are:

1) If I go stage2 (but save my stock map) then flash back to the stock map before taking the car in for service, will this void my warantee? Will they be able to see the ECU has been comprimised?

2) Has anyone had any problems (performance or ECU wise) flashing their ECU to the stage2 map XPT
http://www.plasmatize.com/osecuroms/...asc&highlight=

3) Does this pose any long term risk to my ECU (permanent damage)?

Thanks...
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
tokstad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2006, 11:20 PM   #2
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

Here is a quote from the Enginuity Forums on the reflash limit:
Quote:
Originally Posted by ev8siv3
I'm pushing over 2500 flashes, I do about 5-10 a day when developing maps.
consensus is that the 100 reflash limit is a myth. going 25x that limit with no problems seems to prove that.

1. No they should not be able to tell that the ecu has been reflashed if you copy your stock map beforehand.
2. I haven't heard of any problems but I would check osecuroms.org for those.
3. There are some risks such as. If your computer crashes while reflashing, you could end up with a dead ecu but as long as you leave the car on and the computer connected you may be able to save it. If the battery voltage is too low, could have a reflashing problem. I check the battery voltage with ECUExplorer before I reflash any car to make sure it is above 12 volts.
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 09:02 AM   #3
rkramer
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118209
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: North Dakota
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Master2192 View Post
Here is a quote from the Enginuity Forums on the reflash limit:

consensus is that the 100 reflash limit is a myth. going 25x that limit with no problems seems to prove that.

It probably sold ALOT of AP's though!!!
rkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2006, 11:06 AM   #4
Master2192
RIP 10/12/83 to 02/10/08
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 83254
Join Date: Mar 2005
Chapter/Region: NWIC
Location: Roy, Washington
Vehicle:
98 2.5 RS
04 WRX

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rkramer
It probably sold ALOT of AP's though!!!
I am not so sure, I know a guy that sold his AP and went UTEC because of the reflash "limit"
Master2192 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems flashing back to stock... THEVERGE Open Source Reflashes 4 12-21-2007 12:20 AM
Flash back to stock question (gutted uppipe) Humboldt wagon Newbies & FAQs 12 10-26-2007 09:57 PM
need help on flash back to stop on ap wrxraaca Engine Management & Tuning 1 01-12-2006 03:05 PM
Can ecutek be flashed back to stock?? MachinesWRX Engine Management & Tuning 1 11-30-2005 08:20 AM
can eku-tek flashed ecus be flashed back to stock programming? dothespeedlimit Engine Management & Tuning 2 03-29-2004 01:22 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.