Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday January 30, 2015
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > Commercial ECU Reflashes

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-27-2006, 08:26 PM   #1
JeffrWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48589
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Murrieta, CA + SAN DIEGO
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WAGON Stg2
FORTUNE/RPF1-17x9/2354017

Default How to check if I do indeed have ECUtek?

Just curious if theres a way to check the ECU to see if I do infact have the ecutek software?

Im am suppose to have it, but I want to make sure before I install my VF39 and go and try to get tuned.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
JeffrWRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2006, 08:39 PM   #2
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

i think a EcuTeK dealer would have to look at it with their SW to see if the license is thar.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2006, 08:14 PM   #3
JeffrWRX
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 48589
Join Date: Nov 2003
Chapter/Region: SCIC
Location: Murrieta, CA + SAN DIEGO
Vehicle:
2002 PSM WAGON Stg2
FORTUNE/RPF1-17x9/2354017

Default

ok thanx
JeffrWRX is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2006, 11:38 PM   #4
ronaldwrx
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 23570
Join Date: Aug 2002
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: ct
Vehicle:
2002 Impreza WRX
Sedona Red Pearl

Default

you could try changing between the high/low maps ..

try it like this - floor it, once you feel like you cant go faster push defrost button. did your boost jump up or down a bunch?? if yes - its ecutek, if no - its not.

from http://ecutek.com/products/mapswitch/


Switching Maps
EcuTek Map Switching allows dynamic selection of two sets of performance levels. To switch between these performance levels, the driver simply holds full throttle and toggles the rear heated window switch from off to on. This may be done with the engine off or on, so long as the ignition switch is on. The performance levels may also be switched from DeltaDash using the User Tuning feature.

How it Works
EcuTek have customised the function of the software in the ECU to allow dynamic switching between two sets of performance maps. Selection of the performance level via the car dashboard or DeltaDash determines a choice between two sets of boost control configurations within the ECU. One setting might be for a constant 0.5 bar (7 PSI) whilst the other might be 1.2 bar (17.5 PSI), tapering to 1 bar at the redline.

Applications
The two performance levels may be specified by you to your chosen EcuTek tuning partner. You may choose to have one performance level for road use and on for drag racing. Alternatively, you may choose to have a high performance and an economy mode.

How to get it
To use map switching on your WRX, your ECU must be reprogrammed with a special map switching ECU calibration. If you have already had your ECU reprogrammed by an EcuTek tuning partner, contact them for an upgrade. If you are a new customer, simply choose an EcuTek partner from the dealer list and specify that you would like the map switching feature when your ECU is tuned.
ronaldwrx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2006, 01:46 AM   #5
Gethin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 2998
Join Date: Nov 2000
Chapter/Region: VIC
Location: BC
Vehicle:
2002 WRX
WRB

Default

^^^ That's assuming his tuner flashed 2 different boost maps......
Gethin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 03:41 AM   #6
B16A2NR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88676
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: North of SCIC
Default

So your saying that every ecutek programmed ecu has the ability to switch between two maps using this technique? Or is that an upgraded ecutek tool?
B16A2NR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 04:47 PM   #7
B16A2NR
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 88676
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: BAIC
Location: North of SCIC
Default

Bump for a response to a question thats burning a hole in my soul.
B16A2NR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2006, 04:55 PM   #8
LateApex31
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 135686
Join Date: Dec 2006
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: six- one-seven
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B16A2NR
Bump for a response to a question thats burning a hole in my soul.
Read the responses pal.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ronaldwrx View Post
How to get it
To use map switching on your WRX, your ECU must be reprogrammed with a special map switching ECU calibration. If you have already had your ECU reprogrammed by an EcuTek tuning partner, contact them for an upgrade. If you are a new customer, simply choose an EcuTek partner from the dealer list and specify that you would like the map switching feature when your ECU is tuned.
LateApex31 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2006, 01:43 PM   #9
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B16A2NR View Post
So your saying that every ecutek programmed ecu has the ability to switch between two maps using this technique? Or is that an upgraded ecutek tool?
actually it's not every EcuTeK flashed ECU... IIRC it only works on certain MY's... and i don't think it works on STi's. I think the 02 wrx does have the ability to have two seperate boost maps though.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:08 PM   #10
Kosmic
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 99140
Join Date: Oct 2005
Chapter/Region: E. Canada
Location: YUL
Vehicle:
GD Racing chassis
Slowly in construction

Default

I believe the two boost option (EcuTeK maps) is available on the 2002 WRX ecu......maybe 2003 ecu also but not the 2004+ WRX ecu.

I have a 2005 WRX with a 2002 or 2003 (the seller told me 2002, the tuner said it's a 2003...whatever!) ecu and I asked for the two boost option maps.
Kosmic is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to Check if AVCS is on. Tirpitz56 Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 1 10-16-2007 01:47 AM
How to check if the bpv is leaking? albie1kanobi Factory 2.5L Turbo Powertrain (EJ Series Factory 2.5L Turbo) 4 05-24-2007 12:12 AM
How to check if the shocks are dead? bwco Brakes, Steering & Suspension 7 12-25-2003 04:44 PM
how to check if someone died Keith Off-Topic 16 11-21-2003 02:25 AM
How to check if my alternator is working ? NicEJ25 Electrical & Lighting 2 05-25-2003 02:54 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2015 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.