Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Friday July 11, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
NASIOC
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Technical > Engine Management & Tuning > AccessPort

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-19-2006, 09:55 PM   #1
jason2004STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43340
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Java Black Pearl

Question Accessport Maps, how often should I reflash the map?

Yes, I sux @ interweb.. I tried searching, but it turned up bubkiz... I am nOOb hear me fail @ interweb....

Anyway, I'm running a '04 STi, COBB full TBE & AP Stage II Map, K&N Typhoon my question is ...


With the ECU learning in our subi's, how often should or would I need to reload the AP map? every month, 3 months, 6 months? once a week? never?

Thanks for any info you can provide!

Peace
Jason
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
jason2004STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 09:58 PM   #2
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

unless cobb changes the map for the better, never.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 10:01 PM   #3
jason2004STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43340
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Java Black Pearl

Thumbs up

Oh really, that's cool... i figured the Learning ECU would "overwrite" or change some things after some time.. Good to know, thanks for the info!

Thanks!
Jason
jason2004STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 10:05 PM   #4
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

The ECU is always learning, every second it's running. it does this in stock format, as well as any 'stage' of cobb's tunes. Because the AP uses the OEM's learning capabilities...

only reason to get rid of learning is if you incur some 'bad' learning, and you have since fixed the issue that had caused said bad learning. At that point i would suggest you reset your ECU however, not relfash the base map.

Your ECU will not learn 'around' the accessport. Your ECU will always be trying to hit the parameters reset by your flash, unless some bad learning/experiences are telling it otherwise.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 10:07 PM   #5
jason2004STI
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 43340
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Richmond, VA
Vehicle:
2004 STI
Java Black Pearl

Talking

Oh, that so makes it make more sense.. and connected some very far apart dots for me.. Thanks again Hondaeater69

Jason
jason2004STI is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 10:51 PM   #6
scoobysnack69
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 40558
Join Date: Jul 2003
Chapter/Region: Tri-State
Location: NY
Vehicle:
2003 WRX
SRP

Default

I just re-set the ECU like once every other month to re-learn
And also re-set it when the temp changes so it learns around the temp...not sure if it helps, but it cant hurt
scoobysnack69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 11:18 PM   #7
rkramer
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 118209
Join Date: Jun 2006
Chapter/Region: MWSOC
Location: North Dakota
Vehicle:
2002 WRX Sedan

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobysnack69 View Post
I just re-set the ECU like once every other month to re-learn
And also re-set it when the temp changes so it learns around the temp...not sure if it helps, but it cant hurt
actually it can! the ecu isn't meant to reset, you can be fairly sure subaru designed it to accomodate temp changes just fine. after you reset it will run default parameters which might be leaner then your engine likes, so yes it can hurt.

unless you have a need, don't reset just for the fun of it.
rkramer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2006, 11:21 PM   #8
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobysnack69 View Post
I just re-set the ECU like once every other month to re-learn
And also re-set it when the temp changes so it learns around the temp...not sure if it helps, but it cant hurt

actually yes it can hurt. say your engine sees knock and retards timing as a result. if you keep resetting the ECU this could in turn be restoring the DAM to a higher value than your ECU likes and keep your engine detonating.

On the flip side, maybe your ECU has advanced timing past the base map's original DAM and you now seeing more timing advance and more power over time. if you keep resetting it the ECU will keep forgetting (for lack of a better term) this 'good' learning and thus revert back to the lower original timing map.

please understand i'm not saying your engine is doing this, the only way to know for sure what your engine is doing is datalog the ECU. However, resetting the ECU for no real reason 1 a month is NOT a good idea.

If your ECU is happy, let it be. if it is not, find out why and fix it. Either way, resetting your ECU or reflashing your ECU all the time is no solution to anything.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 12:52 AM   #9
Engmus
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 115645
Join Date: May 2006
Chapter/Region: MAIC
Location: South-East PA
Default

Heres another question.

Before changing anything with the basemap or anything should you reset the ECU to start with to give it a "clean slate"

And then go to stage x?
Engmus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 09:17 AM   #10
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Engmus View Post
Heres another question.

Before changing anything with the basemap or anything should you reset the ECU to start with to give it a "clean slate"

And then go to stage x?


when you flash a new base map, learning is reset so no need to clean the slate as it will already be clean. if you were to do a small mod (like say IC hoses) after the flash, then i would suggest an ECU reset so your ECU can now learn the new mod.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 12:47 PM   #11
05_STi_WRB
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 78126
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Lake Forest
Vehicle:
05 WRX STi
WR Blue

Default

qiuck question. if i reset the ecu do i need to reload the real time map? i know the answer is yes if you are running a different real time from the base, but what if you are using the same maps. example my base map is the stage 2 91 octane map, if i plan to run the real time to be the same as the base do i need to reload it after a re-set?

Thanks.
05_STi_WRB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2006, 01:05 PM   #12
hondaeater69
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 60324
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: a pillow.
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 05_STi_WRB View Post
qiuck question. if i reset the ecu do i need to reload the real time map? i know the answer is yes if you are running a different real time from the base, but what if you are using the same maps. example my base map is the stage 2 91 octane map, if i plan to run the real time to be the same as the base do i need to reload it after a re-set?

Thanks.
if you plan to run the same base as realtime, no need to flash the realtime. the realtime data is automatically loaded on the base map.
hondaeater69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2006, 07:02 AM   #13
Spenk
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 7164
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Arizona Bay
Vehicle:
2000 Miata LS
Evo Orange Mica (1/644)

Default

If you're concerned about getting the most out of your setup, just get a tune and be done until your next mod.
Spenk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2006, 11:35 AM   #14
Danny d
Scooby Newbie
 
Member#: 132903
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Rockland county ny
Vehicle:
2004 sti
silver

Default ingen map

anyone have a stg2 ingen map they can send me thks in advance im running a stg2 safetly put i have a ingen intake i would like to get full potential out of .....please help a protune would be nice but you know the holidays and all
Danny d is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How long should you let the map learn before adjusting and reflashing ? joe-6STi Commercial ECU Reflashes 9 11-17-2007 03:36 PM
How often should I change my boost fluid? Projekt Off-Topic 49 01-21-2003 02:39 PM
How often should you stop on a long trip? Valdar Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 16 08-16-2002 12:29 AM
How often should I replace differential fluids? WRXVII Warranty Issues & SOA Problems 1 03-17-2002 01:28 AM
how often should I change my manual tranny fluid? 96Lconversion New England Impreza Club Forum -- NESIC 6 05-30-2001 12:18 AM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:09 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.