Welcome to the North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club Saturday July 26, 2014
Home Forums WikiNASIOC Products Store Modifications Upgrade Garage
South West Impreza Club
Here you can view your subscribed threads, work with private messages and edit your profile and preferences Home Registration is free! Visit the NASIOC Store NASIOC Rules Search Find other members Frequently Asked Questions Calendar Archive NASIOC Upgrade Garage Logout
Go Back   NASIOC > NASIOC Chapters > South West Impreza Club Forum -- SWIC

Welcome to NASIOC - The world's largest online community for Subaru enthusiasts!
Welcome to the NASIOC.com Subaru forum.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, free of charge, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, so please join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact us.
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-29-2006, 02:21 AM   #1
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default uppipe wont line up

my cobb uppipe still isnt wanting to cooperate. it is starting to leak at the top of the gasket again. it doesnt seem that it lines up correctly. i put the crucial racing gasket between the uppipe and exhaust manifold but it keeps springing a leak at the top. i am thinking about de-catting my stock uppipe and putting it back on. are there any downsides to using a gutted uppipe? is there anything that could have been done to make the uppipe not line up? (i.e. downpipe crooked, etc.)
* Registered users of the site do not see these ads.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:43 AM   #2
boosted20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79576
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default

I had good luck mounting my uppipe with the turbo loose. also, if you gut the cat just make sure you get all the metal out and clean it good so all that crap doesn't go through your turbow. air tools work well for that kind of thing. it really is not worth it though
boosted20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 02:48 AM   #3
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default

i dont really want to, im just tired of wasting money on gaskets. it is all connected and looks fine, even works fine for about a week, but i keep springing a leak at the top of the up to manifold gasket.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 03:01 AM   #4
Black-Falcon
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 106318
Join Date: Jan 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: AZ
Vehicle:
14 Cadirrack
ATS

Default

Tell cobb to send you a new up pipe.
Black-Falcon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 03:21 AM   #5
boosted20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79576
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default

are you using a torque wrench? Idk what else it could be. maybe a design flaw
boosted20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:14 AM   #6
bobturismo
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 42145
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: cruizin' down the street in my
Vehicle:
6-4 jockin da bish-
es and slappin the hoes.

Default

is there any indication of oil in your exhaust? I would take it out and compare it the stock one, sometimes exhaust flanges (in general) can bend from being tightened too much or from poor design.

If it's not a good fit, tightening the bolts will pull teh ears of the flange in where they are connected to it, making a gap inbetween where the bolts are.

Also, if you have blow by of some sort and traces of oil get on the gasket, it will cause the exhuast to blwo the material out where it's contaminated.
bobturismo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 10:42 AM   #7
MrMcCrackin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89202
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: McCrackin Plumbing
Vehicle:
I'm # 1 when it
comes to # 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bobturismo View Post
is there any indication of oil in your exhaust? I would take it out and compare it the stock one, sometimes exhaust flanges (in general) can bend from being tightened too much or from poor design.

If it's not a good fit, tightening the bolts will pull teh ears of the flange in where they are connected to it, making a gap inbetween where the bolts are.

Also, if you have blow by of some sort and traces of oil get on the gasket, it will cause the exhuast to blwo the material out where it's contaminated.
+1

turboXS had this issue for a long time "in the begining" since they have changed their design completely - i still have an old "leaky" version



also - is that cobb unit a "flexi" one? if not, may consider changing to one.

the stocker had a little flex in it - i noticed that after i busted a motor mount that the egine torque actually cracked flanges and bends in my aftermarket header

with the amount of heat in this particular exhaust system - something has to give!
MrMcCrackin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:14 AM   #8
LegacyGt05
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 80074
Join Date: Jan 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: Peoria, AZ
Vehicle:
2007 BMW 335i
Sapphire Black Metallic

Default

Helix UP FTW!
LegacyGt05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 11:48 AM   #9
v8eaterWRX
Scooby Guru
 
Member#: 108547
Join Date: Feb 2006
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: boondock camping
Vehicle:
2013 RAM 2500 4x4
6.7l Cummins

Default

it does not have a flex pipe in it, just a regular pipe.as far as oil, i didint see anything the last time that i had it off. it seems that it just keeps tightening on one side, and pulls the other side loose. no torque wrench, just tighten till it stops.
v8eaterWRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 12:10 PM   #10
MrMcCrackin
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 89202
Join Date: Jun 2005
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: McCrackin Plumbing
Vehicle:
I'm # 1 when it
comes to # 2

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8eaterWRX View Post
it does not have a flex pipe in it, just a regular pipe.as far as oil, i didint see anything the last time that i had it off. it seems that it just keeps tightening on one side, and pulls the other side loose. no torque wrench, just tighten till it stops.
call cobb

if i remember correctly this will be the 3rd set of gaskets - no?

tell them - see what they say

the last time you and jeff did the job absolutely correctly - with everything loose and tightening everything from the header/manifold up to the turbo


also - it might not be a bad idea to take a peak at your lower motormounts - see if the torque side is crushed or not.
MrMcCrackin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:14 PM   #11
intercoolerontop
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 72148
Join Date: Oct 2004
Chapter/Region: SWIC
Location: PHX, AZ
Vehicle:
2010 Ford Raptor
RAWR

Default

i hate ur car, let me try and work on it to fix it. Seems like u just need to get a built motor already
intercoolerontop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 04:55 PM   #12
boosted20
Scooby Specialist
 
Member#: 79576
Join Date: Jan 2005
Default

torquing all the nutz equally can get rid of the gap. I had the same problem even with a flex pipe. if the flange is not torqued flat against the manifold then it can leak on the side that is less tight.
boosted20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2006, 05:14 PM   #13
Snowphun
NASIOC Supporter
 
Member#: 1800
Join Date: Jul 2000
Chapter/Region: NESIC
Location: Way South Shore MA
Vehicle:
WRX /Cooper S/Miata
awd/fwd/rwd

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by v8eaterWRX View Post
it does not have a flex pipe in it, just a regular pipe.as far as oil, i didint see anything the last time that i had it off. it seems that it just keeps tightening on one side, and pulls the other side loose. no torque wrench, just tighten till it stops.
Is the turbo bracket loose when you're doing this? As in, you have enough slop in the turbo for it to mate up properly with the up pipe? I had the best luck when the dp was off and the turbo was very loose. No leaks since.
Snowphun is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
02 wrx lefthand cams wont line up wrxiting Service & Maintenance 3 04-17-2009 09:34 AM
motor mounts wont line up B00ST_Creep03 Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 8 03-30-2009 10:38 AM
Up Pipe installll helpppp!!! engine mount wont line back up?! WTFJayJay Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 29 02-24-2009 05:25 PM
1995 impreza, 99 Rs front seats wont line up? 98legdriver Subaru Conversions 3 07-17-2007 08:04 PM
uppipe wont line up v8eaterWRX Factory 2.0L Turbo Powertrain 5 12-29-2006 12:42 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.7.0
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Powered by Searchlight © 2014 Axivo Inc.
Copyright ©1999 - 2014, North American Subaru Impreza Owners Club, Inc.